We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ferretti

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Ferretti to your Saves list
Hotel Ferretti
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via delle Belle Donne 17 | Via delle Belle Donne 17, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #293 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The location is good, 10 min walking to the Train Station and nice restaurant. Good for travelers who is on a budget travelling.

It only provides basic accommodation. The building itself is kinda old. It was little bit noisy, keeping on hearing the trucks/cars midnight.

One more thing is they don't provide hot drinking water, not even vending machines/water for sale.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    88
    56
    37
    48
See reviews for
31
131
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This hotel is ideally located nice and close to the main train station as well as close to all the main monuments and there are plenty of delicious restaurants nearby. The hotel itself is basic but comfortable and very good for the budget traveller who doesnt want to share a room with 6 strangers. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was clean and did the trick. The staff were also very welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa, Itay
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Very good location. Very average. Slept well, hot shower, no bugs, low noise. If you are looking on a tourist map, it will look as though you take a main street from the SMN train station. You don't.. you take the smaller street that runs directly alongside the SMN church. After that it is easypeasy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

For about twice the price of a hostel, I got a private room and private bathroom at Pensione Ferretti for two nights. I stayed in mid May, so keep that in mind for crowd and climate reasons.

That being said, I got two comfortable nights of sleep in a quiet room with a private bathroom. Wifi speed and quality was on-par with other places I have been in Tuscany. The decor and furniture are very dated, but that's okay. It was like staying at grandma's. Everything was clean, the shower was hot and powerful, and the desk staff were accommodating of the one request I made.

N.B. This is a one star hotel, as regulated by the Italian government (stars are related to available services, not luxury). That being said, reception was available for 24 hours (I can confirm 21 hours), my bed was made, and the bathroom cleaned during my stay.

Location (but not view) was spectacular, steps from SMN station and ~4 blocks from the Piazza del Duomo.

A great for budgeters like me not looking to hostel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I stayed there twice and always stayed in the economic room with shared bathroom. Prices was always VERY interesting! A bit cold at night but enough blankets to make us feel warmer. Perfect location in the centre of Florence, with easy access to all the main monuments and to the train station Santa Maria Novella where we could take the bus going to Piazzale Michelangelo (where we had parked our car for free).
The shared bathroom is cleaned regularly so no problem on that side. The walls are a bit thin but it wasn't too much of a trouble.
Again; it is a lovely location and the prices are unbeatable, so definitely worth it. Basic but that was all we needed for 2 nights in Florence.
The young lady who welcomed us was very helpful and smily.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Location excellent, staff nice...Room, quaint, quiet and clean. Overall, great value for the $, I would stay here again. Breakfast was basic, sweet breads and coffee, but was always prepared on time. PS our trip was June 2011...I'm just a little late in completing my review.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The owners of this hotel are completely crazy! In the event that you have a complaint you will hear a series of unsatisfactory / contradictory responses and will be talked over / screamed at / locked in! Yes we got locked in!

I just read all their responses to the bad reviews and it all sounds exactly the same as what we experienced.

Here are the facts of the this hotel:

The hotel is badly laid out, the rooms are either next to reception or surrounding the kitchen area upstairs, so either way you can hear people chatting. It's not something that is easy or cheap to change but it is a fact!

It also needs updating. The shared bathrooms are terrible. If you offer rooms with shared bathrooms, you need enough space to get dressed unless you want unclothed individuals waltzing around the breakfast room at breakfast time! You also need a shower in the bathroom.

You don't need to treat us like kids! We borrowed a plate (from the stack of over 100) when we first arrived from the kitchen area outside our room for about 5 minutes which we instantly washed up and returned to then be told off. The girl came running upstairs to ask what I was doing as she obviously saw me on the camera. That was creepy.

The main event was that we complained about the room being cold in the evening when we returned from exploring, it was arctic! It has 3 outside walls and should not be used in winter. One if us is from the Mid West and so understands cold! We were told by the night guy, Filippo, who is really great - helpful & friendly, that he called the owner and had been told that we couldn't change room until the next day because we'd entered our room for a couple of hours or so (to unpack and check emails), therefore it was 'used'. We actually sat in the kitchen area for most of the time (due to the freezing room) as the camera will show, using the forbidden plate. We were then offered a room the next day for more money. They wanted €50, which as I explained to Sandra is $65. She kept screaming at me 'it's Euros in Italy, we are in Italy!' The point I was trying to make is that for $65 I expect A LOT more than a noisy room in a 1 star hotel! She then shouted 'you don't have money, that's the problem!' Oh and told us to go back to Rome! We're not short on money Sandra, just aware of what is a good deal and what isn't. This place isn't worth €10 a night. If you run your own business you should do the right thing. The last thing to do is scream in your customer's face and demand more money if someone has a genuine complaint. It was a genuine complaint and we never complain.

When we tried to check out after the first night of sleeping under 5 layers which felt like the roof had fallen in, her and her husband told us we had to pay for the night we weren't using. That's in the terms and conditions obviously when booking ahead and would be fair enough in any other hotel where people are reasonable and kind but not here! These people are stupid, unreasonable and rude. We tried to offer half the money knowing that someone could then take our room. Sandra quickly locked us in and put the key in her pocket. She knew we'd booked a train as there was a strike the next day and so we had to leave early. We then had to pay everything before she'd let us out.

To Sandra; If you had offered us another room immediately at the same price with apologies for the inconvenience like every single other hotel on earth would have done, then you wouldn't leave everyone with a bad feeling! It's common sense! Don't make people feel bad if they aren't comfortable.

It seems that a lot of hotels in Italy really mind about the rates that they get from booking.com etc and then hold it against you. They think you are being cheap because you don't want to pay
more for something that is less on the Internet. Get off the websites if you don't like it. You can't object to people trying to get a good deal.

I would suggest never stepping foot inside this hotel. There are tons of other places run by normal, hardworking, reasonable human beings who understand simple business practice.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelferretti, Owner at Hotel Ferretti, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
You have booked:
- The one economic room in our hotel (with external private bathroom)
- You never used your own external private bathroom but you have used the bathroom that is usually for service to get a shower which is small size, just because it's a service bathroom!!!); I still have to figure out why you not use your bath
- You have asked to change your room after 3 hours form your arrival.
- We offered a different room with ensuite bathroom only for € 10,00 more.
- You said "Ok it does not matter I can stay in the booked room"
- You took the dishes from the breakfast room, without any authorization, at least you could ask at the reception, you know that the items are used ONLY for breakfast (which you did not purchased).
- The day after you checked out in advance at 18:00 thinking of not paying the night and saying that the room was in order and that we could sell it to other guests (with your sheets USED !!!)
But where do you think have booked, this is a professional hotel, not an hotel for DAY USE !!!
Anyone can write opinions tarnish the reputation of the hotel, hoteliers have only the opportunity to respond with a few lines, this the power of these reviews ........
Anyway, thanks for the insane, but certainly we are not ..........
The Banti Family (Owners)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Ferretti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ferretti

Address: Via delle Belle Donne 17 | Via delle Belle Donne 17, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #293 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Ferretti 1*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and cozy home in the historical centre of Florence...Hotel Pensione Ferretti is a charming family run hotel, 1 star located just steps from piazza Santa Maria Novella, the central railway station and via de Tornabuoni, the trendy city living. Warm and enveloping, ordered and essential spaces will welcome you during your stay in Florence.Roberto, his wife Sandra and daughter Nadia, will be your family and help you to appreciate the beauty and uniqueness of Florence and the Florentine spirit! Hotel Pensione Ferretti ... "your home" for your holiday in Florence! Enjoy this wonderful dream, stay at the Hotel Pensione Ferretti! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ferretti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Ferretti Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Ferretti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.