We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem of a hotel that I would recommednd to anyone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta to your Saves list
Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Guicciardini 13, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #49 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little gem of a hotel that I would recommednd to anyone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

I have stayed at La Scaletta often, both for business and pleasure, and a stay there is never less than a pleasure. I first visited this hotel on the recommendation of a friend who spent his honeymoon there, and I never got a better piece of advice.
This charming hotel is perfectly situated, south of the river Arno, in the quiet district of Oltrarno. It is only short walk to the famous Ponte Vecchio (less than 150 yards), so the entire centre of Florence is within easy walking distance. However, in the evenings there is no reason to stray far, as there are plenty of good restaurants and bars just a few minutes’ walk away, and Oltrarno is much quieter than the city centre at night.
The best feature of the hotel itself is the lovely split-level roof terrace, which commands panoramic views of Florence, with the Duomo and the Palazzo Vecchio on one hand, and the Boboli gardens and the Palazzo Pitti on the other. The recently-installed roof bar is a welcome addition, and the height of the terrace ensures you are not disturbed by traffic noise during the day.
Disabled access: travellers with mobility problems should be aware that Hotel La Scaletta is on the upper floors of an old palazzo, and is reached from street-level only by a small elevator, or a great number of stairs, and the hotel itself is spread across several different floors, separated by staircases, some narrow. This is unavoidable in an historic building which is subject to preservation orders, and cannot be structurally altered for modern convenience.
Lastly, it is worth mentioning that the staff at La Scaletta are friendly, professional, and very helpful. When making a booking, e-mail confirmation arrives promptly, and their system sends you reminders about your booking on the run-up to your stay.
I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    275
    52
    25
    15
See reviews for
169
368
25
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2010

convenient, comfortable and cheap. tiled floor in rooms but had excellent heating. window looked out on street but was relatively quiet at night. breakfast was reasonable, rooms were secure, staff were at desk 24hrs.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

The only positive thing about this hotel is that it is in a very nice location right off the Ponte Vecchio . Otherwise a very negative experience. It is ranked a 3 star but should really be 2 stars. It is situated in a very old charming building but the hotel itself is run down and not charming. The family size room we were given may have ben an exception (not seeing any of the other rooms). It was 2 levels below the hotel lobby (which is on level 3) with no lift. The room was not up to 3 star standards. The amenities were at best average and the room was dingy. The bathroom was very basic - not even a towel bar or place for the soap in the shower. We stayed in all 3 star hotels on out trip through Italy. The rest of them were surprisingly nice - either modern or "renovated" old world charm but with very high standards. This was neither.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2009

Noise. Noise. Noise ... and more noise. Either from the TV at 3a.m. from the next room (the guest in this room 'couldn't sleep', apparently) or from the corridor outside: other people's voices, their keys, doors slamming ... blah blah. Room 36 is like a dungeon, with a window so high it's like a skylight! Stay fewer nights in Florence and book into a BETTER hotel, and you will enjoy the city all the more.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

Room was at front of hotel and although large it was so noisy I never slept a wink. Sounded like a drag race going on the street below. Miserable experience. The roof top terrace was great but I couldn't sleep there!! To many stairs and I found the hotel very dark and dingy. I was moved across the street to their sister hotel and it was not any better. It was quiet bu there was no hair dryer and no CNN....Again stairs and 3 keys to access the location and my room. Would never stay in Florence again. Would stay out of town and take a day trip or 2

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

Really delighted with the hotel - we paid 69 euro per night. Because Florence is expensive and we'd got a bit of a deal we had braced ourselves for a bit of a kip but were more than surprised when the hotel was clean, spacious, well run and in an ideal location. The roof top terrace was lovely - as others have stated - we enjoyed a sunny, pre-dinner afternoon with a bottle up there - just lovely. Didn't eat at the hotel (have to say breakie wasn't great but again for that price we didn't care) so can't comment on the roof terrace buffet they offer, of an evening. Only other thing I would say is that I would not recommend this hotel to anyone with mobility difficulties, as others have stated, there's a lot of steps.
Great budget hotel, oozing with charm.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2009

Hotel Pro’s:
Staff – I can’t praise the staff there enough. The wonderful woman at the front was a godsend after our car was towed (parked in a no parking zone). She called towing companies and the local police for us. I couldn’t have asked for more.
Cleanliness – spotless!
Location – couldn’t have asked for a better spot! 20 minute walk will take you to most of Florence’s best everything’s! right down the road from THE bridge. Must try Mama Gina’s restaurant.
Hotel Con’s:
Safety – access to the bar is also access to the entire hotel. With only dead bolts keeping bar patrons out of my hotel room – I wouldn’t leave anything valuable there. No safe in rooms.
Room Access – every time you enter/leave the hotel you need to check with the front desk to pick up/drop off your room key. It’s nothing major – but it is annoying. If you come back at 2 am, you’ll have to wait for a bit for someone to return to the front desk. This hotel is not wheelchair accessible. There are many single steps up/down to enter bathrooms/halls/rooms; old building converted to hotel – what do you think is going to happen.
Other info:
Room – we were well warned that the only room available was one with high window (about 10’ off the floor). It didn’t matter to us; we enjoyed an amazing view from the roof top every morning with breakfast. The room had great AC (and if you crank it up – you’ll freeze!). Color TV. Tiny is cozy, not a lot of extra space, but I’m only there to sleep. Beds were firm. Décor, a little like grandma’s place (quality antique-ish furniture, crisp linens, lacy bedspread).

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta

Address: Via Guicciardini 13, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming Hotel with character, where paying attention to your every need, and the desire to make you happy, is not just our work, but our very real pleasure. For us, clients are never just 'numbers', but real people who we want to feel special, because your satisfaction is the greatest gift we could receive. There are many reasons to travel, but that which makes every trip truly special are the emotions that it evokes, which become the souvenir that you carry forever in your heart, not just of the fantastic places you have visited, but also of the people, who in their own small way have contributed to making every moment perfect and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.