We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little gem in Florence” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta

Save Saved
You added Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Guicciardini 13, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 461 hotels in Florence
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great little gem in Florence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Located near Ponte Vecchio in Florence, this hotel is in a great location away from the busy city. Florence has a lot of tourists which can be overwhelming, so it was good to have a hotel which wasn't in the heart of the city. Staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are a good size and clean. Breakfast is ok, but could be improved. BAthroom is a decent size. Rooftop is small, but worth a visit for the view. The hotel is about a 20min walk from the train station, so if you have bags, you'll need to get a taxi which will cost 15 euros. Staff will arrange all tours for you and book restaurants. For authentic Italian pizza, try Gusto Pizza (ask the staff for details).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabrizio f, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Mr./Mrs. E.,

Thanks for your review. It’s true our Hotel is in the city center but it’s quiet and walking distance from all the main sights. We’ll improve breakfast but the roof top size will be the same =)
Hope to welcome you again.
All the best
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    270
    217
    40
    22
    14
See reviews for
127
245
20
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Excellent base, friendly& helpful staff, terrace views to die for, superb breakfast. Wonderful al fresco dining though menu choice slightly limited. Lift experience is fun but necessary ( there are 97 stairs to Reception). Our bathroom was so zen we were challenged as to where to put our toothbrushes but overall a terrific place to stay

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Mrs. E.,

Thank you for the kind review. We ordered the shelves and they will arrive in about 10-15 days so if you’ll be back next time you’ll have a place to put your toothbrushes.
For the lift you’ll find the same one because our Palace is to old to have a bigger one but we’ll improve our services to make easier the check-in in our Hotel.
Happy that you enjoyed your stay. See you next time.
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

La Scaletta is a wonderful hotel perfectly located near the Ponte Vecchio and many other sights. The staff are friendly, gracious, and helpful. Our room was recently renovated and was large, well lit, nicely furnished, and very quiet. Everything at the hotel is impeccably clean. The star attraction of the hotel is the upstairs patio and bar where you can eat breakfast, have a drink, or just sit and enjoy the view. The rooftop patio above that provides a spectacular 360 degree panoramic view of Florence. We had dinner there one nite and the view, the food, and the service were all fabulous. We stayed for seven nights and were sad to leave such a special place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Mrs. C.,

Thanks! customer satisfaction is the best gift for us and we hope to welcome you back in the future and drink a glass of wine together on the terraces.
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed in room 38. Great wifi connection, great location, very friendly bartender, comfortable big room. Minus are the stairs and super tiny elevator that only fits two people with no suitcases. Free drink and free breakfast helpful. Would recommend to a friend,just don't leave the windows open at night, you will be eaten alive by the mosquitos.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Mr./Mrs. B.,

Thanks so much for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
We’ll buy something to plug in the rooms for mosquitos that are a lot when outside it very humid.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Haan, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

If you look for an authentic place with a spectacular view, friendly staff, in the centre of Firenze, la Scaletta is the place! Especially May to September, when you can have dinner and breakfast on the terrace, high above Florence... When you arrive, you may think to be in the wrong place, when a small corridor leads to a very small elevator... But when you arrive at the friendly reception, and then step on the terrace: you have Florence at your feet...

Room Tip: We had a beautiful renovated room with a lot of light (2 windows), high ceilings, and a zen bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabrizio f, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Mr./Mrs. D.H.,

thank you! It has been a pleasure welcome you in our Hotel we hope to see you soon to enjoy again Florence and our Hotel with terraces.
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a wonderful stay in this historic B&B. Yes, if you don't want to stay in a work of art go stay in an American Hotel where you will have a big elevator and won't even know you left the US. Especially if you overpack.

The lift will hold two plus luggage. If you read the sign up to 240 kilos. A kilo is 2.2 pounds. We easily fit into it with our two suitcases and two handcarry bags. And for those who don't know what room you booked....?

We splurged on a lovely spacious room beautifully designed. These buildings are from the 14 - 15th century with completely modern interiors. The shower was double with overhead and side jets. Our whirlpool tub was heavenly after walking all over Florence.

Christina was there with all the advice and information we needed - and gave us wonderful recommendations for dinner.

You have a two minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio, just a bit further up for the Uffitzi and probably 10 minute walk altogether to the Academie. The Medici Palace just a few minutes in the other direction.

Dinner is a must on the roof - there are only four tables so you have to reserve in advance. The view is magnificent!

Lovely stay overall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fabrizio f, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Dear Mrs. C.,

thanks so much! You perfectly understand the soul of our Hotel! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and dinner and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Cristina send you a big hug and we confirm you that if she’ll come to US will contact you.
All the best!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinatot
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have been to Florence a few times and were happy to be back. Since we were going to have a car (and a baby) we needed somewhere with parking but still walking distance to the sites. The hotel is right next to the Palace. A block from the Ponte Vecchio and there is a supermarket on the corner. Easy to find. Parking was easy as they call the garage and the man comes and picks it for you and returns it when you are ready. I think we paid 30 EUR per night for parking, which was good for us. The roof top patio has the best view, well worth it! The breakfast is simple and standard for Europe. The room however was an issue for us. It was newly done and way too modern (for us) bigger issue is it had ZERO function. The bathroom had no shelves and no where to store anything. Worse still was it had this giant shower but no where to put your stuff, literally not even the soap. You have to put your stuff on the shower floor. Not for me. The room was depressingly dark with a high (beautiful) ceiling with terrible lighting. The bed was good. Nice new giant TV. The girls at the front desk were very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fabrizio F, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Mrs. T.,

Thanks for your review, it’s a pity that the superior room that you had was not as you imagine it, we understand that modern style is not as warm as Classic Style and sometimes is so functional as the Classic one but we’ll try to improve these rooms to make them perfect.
Anyway we are happy that our staff, our location and services have been good and we hope to see you again in the future to show you also our improvements.
All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta

Address: Via Guicciardini 13, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 461 hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a charming Hotel with character, where paying attention to your every need, and the desire to make you happy, is not just our work, but our very real pleasure. For us, clients are never just 'numbers', but real people who we want to feel special, because your satisfaction is the greatest gift we could receive. There are many reasons to travel, but that which makes every trip truly special are the emotions that it evokes, which become the souvenir that you carry forever in your heart, not just of the fantastic places you have visited, but also of the people, who in their own small way have contributed to making every moment perfect and unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Restaurant La Scaletta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.