We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would stay here again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porta Faenza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Porta Faenza to your Saves list
Porta Faenza
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Faenza 77n, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #79 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Cheltenham
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“We would stay here again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stepping off the Via Faenza into the porch and then right into reception, the seven years since we last stayed here just dissolved. The greeting was as cheerfully friendly as ever and the room even better than before. It was large with somewhere to sit and spotlessly clean. The bathroom too was pristine. Although we looked onto the street it was very quiet as there were two sets of double glazed windows. The bed was comfortable and storage very adequate. There was free wi-fi.

The buffet breakfast seemed designed to give choices that would suit all tastes. Even in December fresh fruit was available.

The position of the hotel is ideal. It is within easy suitcase dragging distance of the Santa Maria Novella station and most convenient for going out on foot to visit the attractions of the city and its restaurants.

The only criticism we had was that it appeared not to be possible to adjust the temperature of the air conditioning and at night the room became somewhat stuffy.

Generally, we very much liked the hotel and would stay here again. The staff were unfailingly friendly, polite and helpful and the facilities tastefully presented.

One thing we discovered this trip was that if you are travelling by bus from Pisa airport or arriving by train at Santa Maria Novella station, it is better not to take the Via Nazionale with its busy pavements. If you go round to the east of the station there is a pedestrian crossing to the Piazza Aqua. Go east, straight ahead, into Via Bernardo Cennini, continue to the T-junction with the Via Faenza. Turn right and the hotel is a short distance on your right. This way you avoid any crowds.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Viaggiatoreinglese,

Thank you so much for your kind review!
We look forward to welcome you once again to our hotel!

With Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    321
    52
    10
    5
See reviews for
126
356
27
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Quite scaled-down hotel within walking distance of the train station--which was a plus as we were pretty tried from traveling. Truth in advertising, we were here 2 years ago in April but I can't imagine much has changed and I am just getting around to reviewing this trip. As other reviewers have noted, the rooms are unexpectedly large, certainly clean, and the staff is good. We were accustomed to being put up by our local sponsors--so in some cities this meant luxury, and in other cities it meant something else. This was good enough.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear sally b,

Thank you so much for your review. Your comment and your feedback about our services is very important for us.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel in the future.

Best Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is in a fantastic location, close walking distance to the train station and to the town centre. There are restaurants and cafes all along the walk to the town centre so there is no shortage of places to eat or drink!

We stayed here for 2 nights, and with 3 of us sharing a room I thought it would be a tight aqueeze but our room was clean and very spacious for 3 people. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was very clean.

Breakfast on offer each morning was standard European breakfast and was very nice. The staff were lovely and accommodating.

Highly recommend this hotel for it's location, price and cleanliness.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Jess B,

We’re so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us!

We hope to have you back soon as our welcome guest.

With regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

I definitely would stay in Porta Faenza again: the rooms are spacious and clean, the staff is friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is good. Another plus of this hotel is that not only is close to the main major historic monuments, but it is two blocks of the Santa Maria Novella Train Station!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this review, November 17, 2014
Dear Javier012013,

thank you for your kind words. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel! We really hope to see you again in Florence!

With Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2014

When my son (who joined me in Florence for a week) and I decided on this hotel I didn't realize it was about two doors down from the hotel I stayed in 4 years ago, so that was a pleasant surprise to have that feeling of familiarity. This was a step or two up from the other hotel since I was sharing expenses with my son. The other place was on one floor in a multi-storied building and you walked up to that floor. This is fairly common in the more budget hotels in Florence. But the Porta Faenza occupies the whole building.

It was a very nice hotel. Our room was fine, the bathroom was bigger than mine at home and the breakfasts were really bountiful. It is within easy walking distance of many of the major sites - in fact about a 3-block walk and turn the corner and there is the magnificent Duomo.

The staff was courteous and helpful and there was free wi-fi.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Dear 12gotoperu,

Thank you for your kind words. We are all very happy that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel!!
We really hope to see you again in Florence!!

Best Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Just a wonderful place to stop, in the old part of Florence and along cobbled streets with lots happening. Breakfast was superb, catering for all cultures with Bacon and eggs, sweet pastries , fruits , cereals , juices, cold meats and lovely breads, the best thing about breakfast was the lovely smile and greeting we always received from Franca who managed breakfast with such ease. We stayed 8 days and our room 102 was large with an excellent sized bathroom . The place was spotlessly clean. Reception and service were outstanding, just such lovely people. Highly recommend this place if you want to enjoy the real Florence.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this review, November 8, 2014
Dear Susanmaski,

Thank you so much for your review. Your feedback about our services is very important for us.
Your reviews help us to improve our services for a better customer satisfaction, which is the aim of our daily work.

A special thank you is sent by the staff!

Best Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

We stayed 6 nights here, and I have no complaints to make at all. The hotel was affordable, clean, comfortable and an easy walk from the train station, and just a slightly longer walk to the Duomo / center of town. My mom was with me on this part of the trip, and she'd stayed in another hotel in the same street, 4 years earlier, so she was delighted to be back in "familiar territory."
Our room was comfortably large (the largest of our trip) with 2 small closets as part of an in-room wardrobe-type piece of furniture that included a small desk, safe, small refrigerator. The room (#303) had great A/C -- Florence was warmer than we had anticipated, so we often came back from a day of walking/climbing, very warm and even sweaty -- the A/C was a welcome relief! There was a lovely, large private rooftop terrace off our room -- it didn't have any impressive views (being about 1 floor too low to clear the neighboring buildings) but was charming and quiet and a neat, unexpected feature. The bathroom was quite large -- larger than my bathroom at home. A tub (with shower head on hose) was available -- plus a separate walk-in shower stall, easily large enough for 2 people to stand in (not, blissfully, one of the more ubiquitous shower "cubicles" found in the older Italian hotels.)
The room requires that you insert your room keycard into a slot in the wall, to activate all the power in the room. (I think I discovered too, that the in-room electronic combination safe, was somehow tied into this system -- sometimes I couldn't get the safe to accept my locking code, other times I could. The staff suggested it was a dying battery, but when they came to look, it worked fine, of course -- later I started to think maybe I'd been trying it at different times, with or without the room key in the wall slot... I never did figure out why it was finicky this way -- half the time I left it closed but unlockable -- nothing was taken from the safe during the stay, of course!)
The front desk staff (particularly the morning/midday shift) were very friendly and helpful, and spoke enough English to help us non-Italian speakers. There is a small elevator serving the building, which was a relief upon arrival, laden down with heavy luggage.
The breakfast was quite ample I thought - a fairly typical type, including pastries, sliced breads, yogurt, fruit, juices, tomato salad, hardboiled eggs, a toaster oven, dry cereal, granola and milk, cold-cut meats and cheeses... and drip-brewed coffee (which was a rare find in Italy.)
The street itself was fairly quite, with very little car traffic. It is (currently) an older, stone-paved street, with laughably narrow "sidewalks" also of uneven stone pavers. As a result, it is not terribly friendly to rolling luggage -- luggage with 4-way wheels won't really help you here! (The next block over, the same street was recently re-done by the city, and is beautifully paved in tight-fitting blocks of stone, creating a very even, bump-free surface that handles luggage well.) There are cafes/restaurants all around in this neighborhood, and we frequented a few of them more than once. It is approximately 6 blocks to reach the Duomo (even less, to San Lorenzo and Santa Maria Novella), and you can't see the Duomo until you turn the final corner -- it made for a wonderful "gasp!" moment, when I turned that corner the first time and got my first-ever glimpse of the famous church.
All in all, I would easily stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 303 was a delight; large bathroom, private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelPortaFaenza, Responsabile reception at Porta Faenza, responded to this review, October 27, 2014
Dear cbudny,

we are writing you to thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Florence. We were very happy to accommodate you and it was a pleasure to make your acquaintance. We are happy to know that everything went on according to your expectations and that the services we offered have been to your liking.

For your next stay do not hesitate to contact us or visit our website to do not miss all the special offers!

With Regards
Hotel Porta Faenza *** - Florence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Porta Faenza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porta Faenza

Address: Via Faenza 77n, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#76 Business Hotel in Florence
#79 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#82 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Porta Faenza 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Porta Faenza is situated in Via Faenza - one of the earliest medieval streets in Florence - near Porta Faenza, a gate in the fifteenth-century city walls. It was created in 1997 through the restoration and conversion of Palazzo Pegna, the old residence of a family of merchants, whose original structure has been kept intact. Porta Faenza was part of the city walls and was situated at the end of what is up till now called Via Faenza. It has been so called not for being placed towards the town in Emilia, but from the name of the Nuns from Faenza, who had their convent in the neighbourhood once. Between 1534 and 1537 Porta Faenza was joined to the Fortezza da Basso without being demolished: by watching attentively you can still distinguish its squared profile in the central bastion towards the city or its arch from the inside of the fortress. The Hotel will make you savour the warm atmosphere of the old-time Florentine houses: the tile floor, the exposed beams, the old tools scattered everywhere, together with all the comforts will make it your ideal home in the old Florence. The Hotel Porta Faenza is centrally located, very close to the main railway station (Santa Maria Novella), to Palazzo dei Congressi (the Conference Centre) and to the Fortezza da Basso. The most interesting monuments and museums in Florence are within easy walking distance. For being situated in a pedestrian precinct, the Hotel is a quiet and pleasant place, the ideal point of departure for you to discover Florence and its artistic and cultural life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Porta Faenza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porta Faenza Florence
Porta Faenza Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porta Faenza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.