We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a wonderful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torre Guelfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Torre Guelfa Hotel to your Saves list
Torre Guelfa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo SS Apostoli 8, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Limerick
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel in a wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights recently - very helpful staff at arrival letting us check in early. Had a lovely clean room, loads of space and great air con. Breakfast wasn't amazing but it was fine - enough to get you fuelled up in the morning to go out and enjoy the wonderful food florence has to offer. In fact the hotel is flanked by a lovely wine bar that does food, and a restaurant that has a wood burning oven with amazing steaks and pizzas. Both well worth a visit.
The tower in the hotel is also very nice, lovely place to spend the evening having an aperitif.
Overall very happy with our stay, and will certainly consider if we return to Florence some day.
*Special mention for the staff here, all were extremely pleasant and helpful from check in to check out.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    164
    41
    16
    12
See reviews for
107
221
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wooster, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We picked this hotel, in hopes of steering away from a big hotel chain feel - and we got exactly what we were looking for! From the moment we walked in the door, we felt 'at home'. The rooms are a good size with comfortable beds. I understand not all the rooms are the same, but the room I had was very comfortable. We enjoyed the rooftop tower, where you can enjoy a 360° view of the beautiful city while also enjoying a glass of wine. The location is excellent and is within walking distance of most of the city's attractions and several local restaurants. My only complaint is it can be somewhat noisy late at night and early in the morning which was not ideal after a long flight. All in all, I would recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a great place to stay in Florence!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TorreGuelfaHotel, Responsabile reception at Torre Guelfa Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Dear SSTITZ85,
Thank you for your kind review ! It’s really nice to understand you enjoyed the feeling of a small, family run hotel, as well as the feeling of staying in a medieval Palazzo. That’s exactly our aim: not just to sell rooms, but emotions and experiences.
We hope to see you back soon in Florence here at Torre Guelfa!
Kind regards
Niccolò T.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halethorpe, Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This Medieval Hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to just about everything. You DO NOT need a car in Florence. The rooms are spacious, with very comfortable beds, large private bathrooms and nicely decorated. There is an elevator up to the 3rd floor. The BEST part of this Hotel is the TOWER. The climb to the top is only 80+ steps vs. 400+ steps up the Duomo or the Bell Tower. Just before you reach the top, there is a convenient bar with many choices of beverages and food. If you want to see a panoramic view of Florence with the most beautiful sun-sets, this is THE PLACE. The service was excellent and the breakfasts there were hardy and delicious. Of course, the coffee was great, but that's true everywhere in Italy.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 101 and it was very spacious. No view from the room, but as I said, the Tower view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I picked this hotel after looking through the reviews from the fellow trip advisors. Being that it's historic, located in the heart of florence, and has a rooftop tower that offers 360 degree view sold it for me. My husband and I stayed here for two nights and we loved it.

Location:
The location is just perfect, it's tucked in a side street yet in the middle of everything. It's only a few minutes walk to the lots of shops and restaurants, Ponte Vecchio, Uffizi Gallery, and Piazza Signoria.
It is about 10 minutes walk from the S.M Novella train station, so it's very convenient if you are coming in or going out of Florence by train.

Room:
We were assigned room 304. The door to the room opened up to reveal a staircase leading up to the room which meant we had to carry our luggages up the narrow staircase, but that was not a problem. The room was small, but very unique, clean, and has Victorian flair. The bed was a full size bed so we just had to get cozy =)
A big plus was the strong A/C which we definitely needed.

Bathroom:
Small, but very clean and equipped with modern amenities. Loved the big heavy towels!

Wifi:
Free wifi for guests, but it can be spotty at times in the guest room.

Breakfast:
Breakfast comes with the room. It has good selection of European continental breakfast, e.g. hard boil eggs, cheese/ham platter, pastries, dessert, cereal/milk, and fruits. Coffee felt a little bit watered down but not bad at all.

Rooftop tower bar:
The 360 degree view of Florence from this rooftop bar is to-die-for. You get the close up view from the top of the gorgeous Duomo and Palazzo Vecchio as well as the view of the entire city. The bar service from 6:30pm to 9:30pm certainly adds to the wonderful "blue hour" view of the city. You get to relax, get a drink and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Had a nice stay at this hotel. Had a room with huge ceilings and a huge walk in bathroom! What a unique hotel in a great location. The rooftop terrace has wonderful views of Florence. Would recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: With windows open I could hear activity on the street but at night I just closed them and put on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. We were excited to stay in a property that has been in the family since renaissance times and yet is up to date for tourists. The accommodation was nicely decorated and clean. The complimentary breakfast and the happy hour up in the tower were nice to take advantage of. The view of Florence from the tower is a picture postcard. Hotel staff was very helpful arranging for car parking in garage, calling taxis and other assistance as needed. The hotel is well situated as other reviewers have said easy to get to sites of interest including the Uffizi, Rialto bridge, shops, etc

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel for 3 nights as a part of a tour group booking (May 2014). I was a single person assigned this room.

I stayed in room 203 and I was very, very happy. The room was clean. The room was charming. The room was up to date.

Another big plus mentioned by other travelers is that it also has a 12 century tower, open on two levels to its guests. There is a bar service between 5 - 9 pm, a wonderful way to treat yourself. Following that you may just go up and 'hang out' or bring your own bottle of wine. The views from both levels was amazing.

The breakfast was good although our group (not huge) swamped it. Not a problem for us, but individual travels might want to check when a good time is to attend the breakfast if a group is in. Luckily for most travelers, groups tend to need to eat really early, first thing, so it shouldn't be a problem.

The location of the hotel couldn't be better either - a minute or two only from the Ponte Vecchio and right in the heart of Florence. I experienced great WiFi from this room. Overall experience - fantastic.

Room Tip: The pictures I uploaded are from room 203. I loved the tub especially! Was also thankful for a real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Torre Guelfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Guelfa Hotel

Address: Borgo SS Apostoli 8, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#70 Family Hotel in Florence
#70 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Torre Guelfa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safety box Minibar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Torre Guelfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Guelfa Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torre Guelfa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.