We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Torre Guelfa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Torre Guelfa Hotel to your Saves list
Torre Guelfa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo SS Apostoli 8, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“Very interesting hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I really like historic hotels and this is one that has an exceptional location and was comfortable and at a great price.

I had been to Florence before so dedicated only two nights and one full day but I had to make good use of that day so my family could see the highlights of Florence. This hotel fit the need as it was very, very close to the Uffizi and all that surrounds (maybe five minutes or less). I believe the hotel was a minor palace at one time and is located on a medieval looking street just down from the Uffizi and the Arno river. It is also walking distance from the train station (which we did going to the hotel but used a taxi going back as cobble stones and lots of pedestrian traffic make lugging bags difficult no matter how short the walk).

The hotel staff are very profession and helpful. The room was very spacious, TV, AC, bath was fine, beds were comfortable and canopy style. Furnished in antique (or antique looking). No view except for another building. Room, however, was a bit dark but I had not intentions of spending my time in the room except to sleep.

Roof was very interesting. There are stairs leading up to sort of bar area and above that a small observation area with a commanding view of Florence. Night photos of the Duomo were great from here.

The hotel is not luxurious but is very comfortable. I have no hesitations recommending this hotel as a first choice to someone that wants a clean hotel very close to the main sites of this Rennaisance city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    175
    43
    16
    12
See reviews for
112
235
19
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Mississippi, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here 4 nights during a recent trip to Italy. The location was excellent and close to all the major sights. The breakfast was the best in all our hotels in Italy (14 day trip). The staff were professional and very helpful with all questions. English was not a problem. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The only drawback was spotty Internet service. The hotel had a tower with a bar that offered some of the best views in Florence.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. We had a nice two bedroom apartment. The pros were it was a great location, nice to have two separate rooms(4 adults traveling), very nice reception staff and a great view from the roof top "bar". Cons-when we arrived we had no hot water which took them about 24 hours to get fixed so we had to take evening and a morning shower with ice cold water. The server at the bar never walked up the stairs to take our drink order even though he said hello to us a we walked by him to go to the top. In fact the first night he was talking with what looked like another staff member who was drinking a glass of wine and talking with him. We had to walk down the stairs to order.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Ga
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I liked the Torre Guelfa. It is actually a 13th century palace, which is pretty cool. Our room was fairly spacious and we had nice tall windows and tall ceilings. We were on the third floor, which is where the breakfast room was, so that was quite convenient. There is also a really nice lounge on the third floor. I imagine if you were spending an extended amount of time at the Torre Guelfa that would be really nice as a way to sort of spread out from your room whilst still relaxing from your day. I only hung out in there once, the day we left, and I only ever saw one other person in there; however, it is a really nice space with a good energy.

Breakfast is good. The waitstaff will bring you coffee, hot chocolate, whatever your morning drink may be. I enjoyed their juices as well. The food was very typical--cold meats and cheese, a few pastries and toast, fruit, yogurt, and muesli. You can definitely get a good start to your day there, though, and then later eat an adventurous meal elsewhere!

The rooftop terrace is definitely the big selling point for this hotel. We sat up there every night watching the sun go down while starlings swam through the skies around us. It was incredibly peaceful and beautiful. The bartender up there is very sweet and knowledgeable about the city--she speaks several languages.

Florence in general took me a little while to warm up to. At first it seemed really overcrowded and strange. Like an Italian Disney or something. I can tell you, though, that the Pitti Palace is awesome, and there weren't a ton of people there. The ponti at night--I especially like the Santa Trinita--that is just down from the hotel--are lovely. Musicians and lovers and bike riders. We saw a sort of informal roller derby and listened to student violinists. Very romantic.

My two favorite restaurants in all of Italy were in Florence--Trattoria Marione which is on Via Spada, just around the corner, and Osteria Coccotrippone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here last weekend and it was amazing. Staff are very helpful, reception very knowledgeable and happy to recommend and book restaurants for you.

The room we stayed in had a really high ceiling so remained nice and cool, humoungous bed and one of the best showers we've had when going away.

The room and staff are amazing, but what really pushes this hotel above the rest is the tower. This is open 24hrs but only has bar service in the evening. The views are amazing from up here and one of the best parts of our break was coming up here after dinner, buying a bottle of wine and and looking out iver florence lit up. The lady that serves up here is again very knowledgeable and happy to talk to you about florence.

When we go back, we will definately be staying here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed there for two nights during the first week of June. The service and the hotel itself are simply wonderful. Excellent breakfast, nice large rooms with modern bathrooms and the view from the roof terrace is simply stunning. It's perfectly placed for wondering around this romantic city as you're minutes from everywhere.

Reception will point you in the direction of most things and make reservations. Prior booking is a must for both the Acadamie and the Uffizi, as the queues will be lengthy at this time of year. The only minor gripe would be the lack of a view from our room, we looked out onto an alleyway which made the room rather gloomy, but it was fully booked so it's probably pot luck.

A nice touch is the roof top bar in good weather. What could be better, a stunning view with a glass of Chianti!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona, CA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here for three nights in June, 2013. Be aware!!! Due to construction, it is impossible to get there, though they did have someone come out and meet us and the car was parked a few minutes away. This is an older hotel in a PERFECT location with great sitting room areas. There is a cool tower with a bar where you can see all of Florence.

Downside: It was difficult to sleep, as for some reason the locals like to walk down the street yelling in the wee hours. The food served at breakfast was not that fresh. We had a room that slept four - we all got bit from mosquitoes too. Within the first few minutes one of the floor tiles broke, the hook in the bathroom broke each time we put something on it and the shower is really small.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms that back up to the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Torre Guelfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torre Guelfa Hotel

Address: Borgo SS Apostoli 8, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in Florence
#69 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#89 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Torre Guelfa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safety box Minibar ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Torre Guelfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torre Guelfa Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Torre Guelfa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.