We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars for location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Firenze

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Albergo Firenze to your Saves list
Albergo Firenze
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza dei Donati 4 | Via del Corso, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #228 of 461 Hotels in Florence
xxx
Top Contributor
394 reviews 394 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 143 cities Reviews in 143 cities
842 helpful votes 842 helpful votes
“5 stars for location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Positives:
- Location, location: it is in the middle of downtown Florence. In fact the whole tourist attraction area is walkable. But this place is ideal. If you want to go to Duomo, just go to a small road (del studio) in front of the hotel. Uffizi, Ponto Vecchio, no problem, 5 minutes walk south from here. Moreover, many restaurants both big and small, casual are just outside the hotel. Excellent leather jacket shops nearby and you can even do grocery shopping. The whole area is festive in nature, super safe and everything is there.
- Since, it is December, roads near the hotel are with decorative lights.
- Breakfast, free wifi included.
- Good value for Italian 3 stars standard. Bathrooms are updated. In fact, rooms are a bit better than other places we stayed. But avoid, single room, much smaller.

Neutral, things could improve:
- Can not control temperature in your room, could be a chronic problem there and unfortunately, my room is worse than others. When I ended up opening window for cool air, famous mosquitoes of Florence invaded. Yes, it is in December.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    95
    37
    9
    8
See reviews for
33
92
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If location and safety are MOST important to you, then this is your hotel. I have stayed here numerous times over the past 15 years and it always delivers. They have never 'lost' my reservation (I bring large groups here and rent multiple rooms) and have always been accommodating and helpful. It is my no-frills home base in a safe and beautiful part of old Florence. The rooms are always clean and tidy; the staff is appropriate; the breakfast is nice.
If you prefer fancy and fluffy, this is not a place that you would enjoy. I liken it to an American college dorm environment. It has everything that you need, but nothing extra. You hear everything that goes on in neighboring rooms, until your fellow guests become aware of how thin the walls are...then they become far more quiet!
The location is excellent. You can walk everywhere. There are restaurants all around and a grocery store on the block behind. My favorite rooms are on the second floor along the front of the hotel, facing the church across the street with its beautiful stained glass window. There is a church organ concert in the evenings and it is nice to listen from your room. There is a lot of street noise because the streets of Florence are busy and full of not only tourists, but of shop keepers and restaurant suppliers. It has never bothered me, for I love the activity. Keep in mind that the people of Florence live in this environment as well, the noise isn't reserved for tourists! The answer for those who complain about noise: bring ear plugs.
I look forward to staying here again in 2016.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is a quaint little hotel right in the heart of Florence and if one wants to explore the city there is hardly a better place to to it from. Our stay there was in the run-up to the Christmas period and the city was very busy, which obviously made it a bit noisy till late in the night. This however did not detract from really enjoying being so central. The hotel is neat and clean but it is true that the walls in our room was very thin and although we did not spend a lot of time in the room, it was a little disconcerting - especially having kids with us. The bathroom was very cramped but sufficient to have a proper shower in and served us as a four member family well. The size of the family room was sufficient. But this hotel is all about location and as such it is a real gem.

Room Tip: Away from the courtyard if you don't want late night/early morning noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our stay here was pleasant, the staff friendly and helpful, our room clean tidy and spacious for our needs. we had a room facing the courtyard so early mornings and late nights proved to be noisy a little as there is a restaurant operating below and rears onto courtyard. Not a big deal as we spent very little time in our room, when in Florence as they say.
The location was perfect, easy access to all major tourist traps, shopping, cafe's and museums.
Great value for money.
For a first timer to Florence a little place like this all you'd need as you will mostly be out on the town from dawn to dawn.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IreneTortoli, Responsabile reception at Albergo Firenze, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion and we are glad that you choose to stay with us during your recent stays in Florence.

We are happy to see that you were able to take advantage of what Albergo Firenze has to offer.

We thank you so much for all your kind comments about the room, clean and staff which are all very important aspects for us.

Hoping that you had the chance to enjoy our city too, we would like to thank you for your comment and look forward to welcome you again in Florence.

Irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The location of the hotel is excellent & the room is very clean. Good value for money. Roberto at the reception was very helpful providing us local information. Breakfast was quite generous with plenty of fresh pastries,

Our first room was rather dull & plain with red tile floor although it was clean & spacious. Our second room on the 4th floor was a lot nicer altough it was smaller than the first one.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IreneTortoli, Responsabile reception at Albergo Firenze, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion and we are glad that you chose to stay with us during your recent stays in Florence.

We are happy to see that you were able to take advantage of what Albergo Firenze has to offer.

We thank you so much for all your kind comments about the room, clean and staff which are all very important aspects for us.

Hoping that you had the chance to enjoy our city too, we would like to thank you for your comment and look forward to welcome you again in Florence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Being right next to the Duomo was perfect. No matter where I was in Florence (and you will get lost in the narrow winding streets) so long as I could see the top of the cathedral I could make my way back.

The staff were very friendly, the receptionist explained everything very clearly in English about the room and as we were leaving even let us know about the bag storage room without us having to ask.

The room was nice. We were room 218. Clean and tidy. The bathroom was also clean looked nice. I don't understand what some reviews are talking about when they say that the bathroom is tiny. Ours was big. Bigger than my own one in my house!

There is noise from the halls through the door and noise from the streets through the window. be warned the church bells and I mean all of them in Florence start going off at 7am! So it doesn't matter if it had the best soundproofing in the world your going to get woken up by them.

Although a thick room door and some double glazing might help block out the other noises. Our room wasn't so bad as we were facing away from the streets. I would recommend this room.

All in all a good hotel. Clean room, friendly staff, a wee t.v showing bbc news for background info while your getting ready. To be honest your in Florence and shouldn't be spending an awful lot of time in your hotel room anyway so this hotel is perfect for that.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IreneTortoli, Responsabile reception at Albergo Firenze, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion and we are glad that you chose to stay with us during your recent stays in Florence.

We are happy to see that you were able to take advantage of what Albergo Firenze has to offer.

We thank you so much for all your kind comments about the room, clean and staff which are all very important aspects for us.

Hoping that you had the chance to enjoy our city too, we would like to thank you for your comment and look forward to welcome you again in Florence.

Irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First just want to say I have lived in big cities and noise...normal city noise does not bother me. Also, I grade low because quality of REST is my top priority.

With that being said, its not the hotels fault of the street noise. The hotel itself was good. Clean, nice staff and great location but you have to trade that off for the noise level. Maybe because we stayed on the weekend and Via Del Corso is a main Street. From 12 to 4 AM we experienced a parade of people yelling, screming - yes - screaming, singing, fighting and drunk. At one point my wife and I just started laughing. Once the people continued their course and we were able to fall asleep around 5AM, the garbage truck decided to come by and the church bells started ringing 7AM. We just decided to get up and get some strong coffee.

I would ask for a room facing the inside but will suggest to go elsewhere if thats not provided.

Maybe soundproof windows are a good investment?

All else was good, no complaints (Not being sarcastic).

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IreneTortoli, Responsabile reception at Albergo Firenze, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your opinion and we are glad that you chose to stay with us during your recent stays in Florence.

We are happy to see that you were able to take advantage of what Albergo Firenze has to offer.

We agree with you about noise: it's very controversial for us, since our good location seems to correspond always to noise complaints and we agree when you say you cannot sleep.

We can scold our inside guests for it, but outside the only way is to call police.

Your suggestion will be forwarded to our management who will take care of all improvements we could do to fight this sore, one of them insonorization.

Anyway, hoping that you had the chance to enjoy our city too, we would like to thank you for your comment and look forward to welcome you again in Florence.

Irene
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Firenze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Firenze

Address: Piazza dei Donati 4 | Via del Corso, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #228 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Firenze 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A precious black pearl tucked away in the heart of the historical center, Albergo Firenze is located in Piazza Donati just steps off of the main Via del Corso where one can easily reach important monuments like the Florence Dome, Piazza della Signoria, the Uffizi, and Ponte Vecchio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Albergo Firenze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Firenze Florence
Albergo Firenze Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Firenze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.