We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food coma” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Salumeria Verdi

Salumeria Verdi
Via Giuseppe Verdi, 36/r, 50122 Florence, Italy
+39 055 244517
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #22 of 1,866 restaurants in Florence
Price range: $4 - $11
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Late Night
2 reviews
“Food coma”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Best Panino in Florence. Not exaggerating whatsoever. I ordered the fantasy which means I create my own panino and I can have up to 5 ingredients! The panino starts off with freshly baked focaccia bread (if you don't know what that is, look it up. It's amazing). I added salami picante, mozzarella, freshly cut tomatoes, pesto sauce for a spread, and balsamic, with a dash of salt! After all the ingredients are on the panino they put it on the grill and toast the bread so it has a little crunch to the bread and the meat warms up. AND to top it all off, it's only 3.50 euro!!! I will be going here daily for the next couple weeks!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    95
    17
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
“BEST PANINO ever.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I studied abroad in Florence this past summer. This sandwich shop was right around the corner from my school. It was my favorite meal to eat every week (and very cheap!). Pino stands behind the counter and makes every single sandwich with love! You can not go wrong here! This might just be what i miss most about Florence! Also, the meatballs are SO GOOD!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
1 review
“BEST LUNCH PLACE IN FLORENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I've spent almost a quarter of my life in Italy, both as a child and now 20-something. Pino's is my all time favorite sandwich place there. The clientele speaks to the quality of everything in the place: local Florentines drop in en masse to enjoy the prime piatti or his more traditional panini while young exchange students of all nationalities drop in to enjoy his loaded-up, novelty sandwiches that depart from the Italian norm if only for using heftier portions and more varied mixes of the same fresh ingredients inside toasted focaccia (think fresh mozzarella, salami, prosciutto, mortadella, roast peppers and eggplant, potatoes, spinach, tomatoes, sundried tomatoes, olives, pesto, and more).

As delicious as everything his, Pino, his lovely wife Antonella, and the rest of his employees are all lovely people who take the time to get to know their customers and are very passionate about the work that they do. Pino is just as committed to giving you a smile as he his to filling your stomach with utter deliciousness.

Oh and his prices are INSANELY reasonable...don't tell him though ;)

GO THERE EVERY DAY YOU ARE IN FLORENCE FOR LUNCH. Explore the rest of the dining scene at dinner.

PS ask about the private wine tastings Pino offers in his nearby Enoteca "Pozzo Divino"

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Thank you Pino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My son ate here every few days while studying in Florence. He took us with him when we visited, and we had a delicious fresh pannini. We were welcomed like family. e Pino opened a new wonderful bottle of chianti for me. The sandwiches are a great value at 3.50 Euro, and the wine about 1.60 euro! We had the caprese and another similar sandwich with eggplant. The pesto is wonderful, too. Pino is friendly and the service is fast. My son is going to miss you!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
“Great service and food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Salueria Verdi was recommended to me by a family member as a must go-to location while in Florence. Pino creates a great atmosphere and is a pleasure to interact with, and the Paninis were exceptional. I fully endorse the establishment and received the same feedback from my group of friend when I brought them to the shop. Well done, Pino, thanks very much!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salumeria Verdi also viewed

Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 
Florence, Province of Florence
Florence, Province of Florence
 

Been to Salumeria Verdi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Salumeria Verdi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.