We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with great location ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Betania

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Betania to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Betania
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Viale Del Poggio Imperiale 23, 50125 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #84 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with great location ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed here with my family recently.

The hotel was a bit tricky to find by car and can easily be missed being slightly hidden, tucked in the corner of a junction but it is well worth the effort.

The exterior of the hotel is lovely and in front of the hotel there is a lovely garden. It really makes you feel like you are in the countryside rather than a big bustling city.

The rooms were pleasant enough. Was quite happy with room and facilities.

The only thing I would say that was a bit disappointing was the breakfast. It costs 8 euros but is quite basic and I felt that there should have been more to eat and a larger variety of things to eat. I didn't really go away feeling I had eaten much for breakfast.

Apart from this, I thought the hotel was quite delightful and the location excellent, especially if you want to be near the centre but not so close that you will be stressed by all the traffic, people and hassle (and smell of sewage which was extremely pungent in the centre of Florence during our visit).
This hotel will make you feel more relaxed.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    124
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
42
179
1
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellevue, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Hotel Villa Betania. The hotel was great. It is a converted Villa with beautiful grounds. We walked to the sights of Florence. It is about 1/2 mile downhill along a beautiful street to the southern gate and roughly 1 mile to the center of town. The rooms are clean. Breakfast great. Angelo, the owner, and the rest of the staff were very helpful. A wonderful place to stay while visiting Florence!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel was booked after careful planning and it did not let us down. We wanted somewhere that was in walking distance to the sights of Florence, but far enough away to not feel like it was in the middle of a major city.

We drove here from Barga and it was a little tricky to find (you only see the entrance just before you pass it) - but it's well worth the effort. Its a lovely period building with well kept grounds and a very well maintained building. We had a room up on the third floor and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Parking is free, but they do charge for breakfast which is always disappointing. Breakfast offering was the standard European style.

The room was a good size and the bathroom was also good. We didn't have a fridge in our room but other rooms do.

It takes about 25 mins to walk to the river and on to the main sights of Florence (slightly more coming back as it's uphill!)

We were checked in by a lovely helpful chap who made us all feel so welcome. Unfortunately the member of staff on duty from the evening to the following morning was incredibly rude and lacked many of the skills and manners needed to work in good quality hotels. I won't dwell on it here, but his excuse for his rudeness was that he was American and he misjudged the etiquette ... Putting your hand up to someone as they are talking to you is as rude in the US as it is here in Europe I'm sure. Anyway, we didn't let this silly little man ruin our experience. I hope he quickly learns some proper manners.

Please book at this hotel if you want a city hotel that feels like it's in the countryside.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Right from the first minute we were made welcome and with an unbelievable service. They even booked our restaurant for us. Rooms are perfect for the time we spend in them, very clean, very quiet, away from the noise.
A real diamond in the backyard!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014 via mobile

For the price that was paid this hotel far exceeded expectations and I would struggle to find a hotel that is better value for money in Florence.
It's grounds are very well kept and the hotel is located in a secluded part of the city and so is always peaceful.
The room itself (double deluxe) was more than big enough, with ample storage space for those staying for a while and fantastic shower facilities. There is outdoor seating facilities to enjoy breakfast in the morning which is definitely a joy in the spring/summer season and also in the evenings with a little drink.
The only downside to some is that the hotel is not in the city centre so do not book in advance thinking that you are on the doorstep of the cities attractions. We knew this in advance and were happy to accept the 15/20 minute walk into town, which on a nice day are very pleasant. There are also taxi and bus facilities that are regularly on hand if needed.
I would definitely recommend this to others looking for an out-of-city-centre hotel. The pictures are good but you must see it for yourself!!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This hotel is a bit outside the city center, but we were still able to walk to it from the train station (Firenze SMN, the Campo Marte station is quite a long walk) with our heavy backpacks on. Our room (105) was quite spacious with ample storage, safe, modern bathroom, free wifi, and toiletries. The hotel grounds are peaceful and beautiful with a couple of great sitting areas. I can't say enough about the guy who checked us in and out. He gave us a map of the city, helped us with figuring out the right buses to take to the station, and even gave us a card for a taxi just in case the bus didn't work out. I would definitely book this hotel again! This area (just outside the Boboli Gardens and Pitti Palace) is definitely worth taking the extra 5 minute walk outside the city center across Ponte Vecchio.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We went to Florence May 2014 two couples and i couldn't found any hotel in historic center so i find this hotel about 30 minutes from center (5-10 minutes by taxi, cost 11-15€). The price of the room plus the the taxi twice a day (+25€/couple) was good.The room was very clean, there is a very beautiful garden, spacious room and very good wi-fi. We didn't try the breakfast just coffees and were nice. The little girl in reception was a little bit impolite.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Betania? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Betania

Address: Viale Del Poggio Imperiale 23, 50125 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Betania 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is nestled in its own lush park, removed from the noise and confusion.It's an ideal location for those who wish to find peace and relaxation in an elegant atmosphere.Hotel Villa Betania is a small hotel with 20 rooms under family management, with an international touch.Completely renovated in 2006, among other amenities, it features free parking and free Wireless Internet Access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Betania reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Betania, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.