We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence La Repubblica

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Residence La Repubblica to your Saves list
Residence La Repubblica
Piazza Repubblica 4, 50122 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #233 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, good room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and thought it was great. It took us a while to find the place (we didn't read about the check in at alternate venue) but once that was done all was good. We were over the moon about AC, the room was good, functional and so central to everything in Florence! We were a little surprised to find only single beds in the room but pushed two together and all was ok.

The kitchen seemed functional (stove, sink, cutlery, utensils etc) but we didn't use it as we were not able to find a supermarket near by.

Great value for money, would happily stay here again

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    36
    17
    4
    10
See reviews for
30
46
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We picked Residence La Repubblica for 1 night in Florence prior to getting on our Mediterranean cruise. We wanted to cover more of Florence by doing a transfer tour from FCO airport to Florence with stops in Tuscany along the way with Joe Banana Limos. However a few of us in the group had the misfortune of having pur flight cancelled due to a mechanical issue on TAP Portugal. In trying to contact La Repubblica, there was no direct number registered on their website nor anywhere on the web that could connect me with them to inform them of the cancellation. I sent 2 emails and called the msn hotel chain number lusted which is in Milan with no success. I even had our tour company try to get a hold of them with Italy and yhe number would ring with no answer. This is a little concerning if you find yoursrlf in this situation. The 3 others in our party were already in Rome and were able to do the transfer tour as planned and really enjoyed the location, view, and size of the rooms. However the guest services were not accommodating and did not try to work with us and still proceeded to charge my card. We are coming vack to Florence but may opt to stay elsewhere where there is better customer service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rotterdam
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Ideally situated and charming studio with lovely renaissance ceilings and direct view of the lively Piazza della Reppublica. Close to everything. However, the location comes with a price, hotel reception and parking facilities are far away and the square can be noisy. Also the elevator in this old building makes the whole room shake when used (luckily not too often per night depending on who else stays there).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

This was by far our favorite place to stay during our 2 week Italian vacation. Forget all the "confusing reception desk" reviews. If you do your homework and are prepared for the 2 locations, which are not very far from each other, it really is no big deal. Before leaving for Italy I Mapquested the "walk" from the train station to the Residence La Repubblica and then Mapquested the "walk" from the Residence to the reception desk. Our party of 8 had NO problem, suitcases and all, walking from the train station through the streets to the Residence. Us moms planted our families at the wonderful restaurant just outside the Residence door and we walked to reception where the friendly staff checked us in, answered all our questions and gave us our map of the city. They had a wonderful man take us back to the Residence where we joined our families for lunch and he brought our suitcases up to the rooms. This location is the bomb!!! Early morning walks were wonderful and the streets were bustling with fun stuff into the night. We never had a problem with noise and felt so comfortable coming and going and felt we were in the center of the city. For the days we were there we felt like locals. Tip, go to the local grocery store and stock up on water, cheap cheap cheap, and store in the room's refrigerator for your stay :-) Great coffee house just outside the Residence door!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We arrived at de Lanzi to check in. Everything seemed fine, but when we got to the apartment we realized the hotel had given our escort only one room key. It's an electronic key that you need to open the building door, to exit the elevator corridor, and to access your room. One key among four people just isn't enough, especially if you intend on doing different activities than your traveling companions and must have a key to get into the building. We did get one more key, which is great. However, when we asked what to do to get in without a room key, the explanation was not clear. While I would normally go off on my own to explore the city at times and return to the room, knock on the door, and have a family member let me in, this was not possible at Residence la Repubblica. Not a big deal, but just something different and slightly inconvenient.

We were in apartment 425, which is a good one because it's off to the side (not facing the main plaza), so there were no issues with noise. The apartment had one larger room with the TV, small kitchen-in-a-cabinet, a sofa/bed, and a small cot. I got stuck on the cot and it was not comfortable--much harder than the beds and sofa bed and barely long enough to fit me at only 5'4". The main room with the large bed and the bathroom were both fine.

There were issues with the power going out that the hotel reception didn't handle so well. It was 9pm when we came back and discovered that there wasn't power, so we called the de Lanzi reception and had to wait 20 minutes for someone to come check it out. We then had to wait more while the person tried to fix it and failed. Then he called someone else and dissapeared, leaving us to wait 20 minutes for the next person to try to fix it. I have no issues with the power going out--that kind of stuff happens. However, I would have liked de Lanzi to handle it better. At least offer us a room switch or a room at your hotel so we don't have to sit around and wait for over an hour in a room with no power.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

My husband and I rented an apartment for 4 days in April. Check in is at the hotel and then they walk you over to the apartment. Location would be hard to beat. In the centre of the historical district and about a 10-15 minute walk to anything you want to see. Loads of restaurants in the area if you don't mind spending money. We found a lot of the cafe's in Florence to be very expensive for what is served but if you look around you can find more inexpensive alternatives. The apartment was modern and fresh and clean. There was no view but nice windows which we kept open because we could not figure out the air conditioning. We called and asked for help but none was forthcoming. Each night we were eaten by mosquitoes. This place was reasonably priced and newly renovated. Again the difference between self catering apartments in Europe and North America stands out. You rent this type of place so you can save some money on eating out. Unfortunately, the first thing you have to do if you want to avail of this plan is to go to the grocery store and buy all the staples - sugar, salt, butter, oil, tea. coffee. bottled water etc. Why on earth European hosts don't seem to supply this is beyond me. After you go and stock up on all this stuff, only to leave it behind for the housekeeper to throw out, there is a substantial bite taken out of your food budget. The front desk at the hotel was not very helpful when we called and asked directions to the nearest grocery store...clerk did not seem to know where one was ..or really care...desk clerk always seemed to be busy with the desk at the hotel whenever we called with a question. Sometimes they would not even talk to us - just tell us they were busy and would call us back but didn't.

Room Tip: The larger apartments have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We are very grateful to the "Hotel De Pucci" who cancelled our reservation and refunded us at the last minute after they found they could get more money for their rooms due to a fashion expo. This brought us to the Residence La Repubblica . This newly renovated , 3 bedroom 2 storey apartment is elegantly decorated . The building is located in a gorgeous Piazza that has sandstone buildings surrounding it. They house small hotels and apartments upstairs and have cafes and restaurants downstairs.The pics of the Repubblica's rooms, we saw on the net are old and are not what we stayed in.They had just finished renovating when we arrived.The apartment is close to the train station. We were able to walk there which is convenient .Also,the staff were great.Elisa was especially helpful .We had a problem with our travel card and they helped us sort it out .
The boutique shops are all around the area as are the main historical attractions. Don't miss the Florentine indoor food market which has an array of things to see and sums up to an interesting morning.We were able to taste berries that we had never had before and the colourful pastas and their decorations were great.We had breakfast and lunch there and ended up buying tortellini and prosciutto and cooking it in our fabulous kitchen! My husband and I are early rises so, we would go for cappuccino and brioche ( best food on earth) in the morning, do some sightseeing and the go and get our teenagers to continue the day.! The position of your accommodation can make or break your holiday.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence La Repubblica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence La Repubblica

Address: Piazza Repubblica 4, 50122 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Residence La Repubblica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence La Repubblica Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence La Repubblica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.