We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A strong recomendation for hotel connaisseurs!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Magnani Feroni to your Saves list
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo San Frediano, 5, 50124 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
paris
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A strong recomendation for hotel connaisseurs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

Staying at the palazzo Magnani Feroni is nore than just a simple experience, it is an emotion for one can feel the touch of the splendor that once Italian history and art were. The suite Esmeralda with with its "fresques" on the wall provide a touch of real renennaissance. Its spacious rooms furnished with beautiful antiques enhanves the stay. Having grown up within the hotel business, staying at this boutique hotel which used to be the family palazzo of the actual owner provides impressed me highly for there is all hte comfort you one can wish for witin an aristocratic ambiance. Not to be missed . Gustave O; Bonde

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMF-Direction, Proprietario at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Dear Palazzo Magnani Feroni Guest,
a big thank you for your kind Tripadvisor Palace comment, especially reading that you grew up with the hotel business! You know how effort it needs to make our guests best enjoy their stays, still every traveller is different in taste, in requirements and in expectation. We and our staff love this job and try to do our very best to improve constantly, so your appreciation is a great satisfaction for all of us. Thank you!
Please feel always free to contact us for anything,
best regards from sunny Florence,
Yours
Dr. Alberto and Claudia Giannotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    62
    14
    12
    10
See reviews for
164
326
19
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

we wanted a weekend away without the children...our first chance to have some time to ourselves for a year. Florence is one of our favourite cities, and we have tried a number of hotels....but the Palazzo Magnani Feroni is the best we have tried to date for location, price, and good old fashioned attention to detail.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMF-Direction, Proprietario at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, January 10, 2011
Dear Palace Guests,
we would like to express our Thanks to you for reviewing our Palazzo Magnani Feroni. We are very happy to read your comment and to understand that you enjoyed the Palace in all details for your special weekend.
We would be honored to welcome you back anytime and please feel always free to contact us for anything that we can do for you from Florence,
Sincerely Yours
Dr. Alberto and Claudia Giannotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bel Air, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

thank you Magnani Team.
I had another fabulous stay in my favorite place away from home. The size of the room at these rates is exceptional . the attention to detail and friendliness was terrific again.
it pays off, if owners care about their properties and I feel they are truly passionate about this.
you will see me soon again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMF-Direction, Proprietario at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, November 15, 2010
Our dear Palazzo Guest,
we really thank you for preferring again our Palazzo for your Florence stay. It is always a great pleasure to welcome you back, to your 'home far from home' anytime. We are very happy to understand that you really feel homey at the Palace, that is our aim to make our Palace guests relax after experiencing the beauties of Florence.
We are looking forward to your next stay with us and please feel always free to contact us for anything that we can do for you from Florence,
Sincerely Yours
Dr. Alberto and Claudia Giannotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

We stayed in the Beatrice suite which was spacious and beautiful. There was a small European shower, but the main bathroom was huge and well-appointed.

The breakfast was large and served in a gorgeous breakfast room. Probably the best part of staying at the Palazzo was the incredibly helpful staff. They assisted us with language, dinner reservations, and any other need we had.

There are hotels that are closer to the center of town; but in beautiful Florence we usually didn't mind walking a bit farther!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMF-Direction, Proprietario at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, November 15, 2010
Dear Palazzo Guests,
we are very thankful for your kind comment that you left on the Tripadvisor websites. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your Palace stay and that you appreciated our staff and services.
We would like to take the opportunity of your comment to give some more indications on our location to all tripadvisor readers and to tell, that actually the palace site, is part of the real historic centre of Florence, San Frediano. It is the left river side and the one of the most antique parts of the town. The big palaces, the Florence artisans, many 'traditional' food and the antique dealers are in this area of Florence. Of course today many things chanced and you can find a bit of all everywhere, but just to tell a bit of history, the left side river part including its beautiful squares, such as the Santo Spirito or Palazzo Pitti are part of this area.
You are absolutely right, just cross one of the bridges and you are in the shopping areas or in all other parts of Florence.
Thank you very much for mentioning this important part,
we really hope to be able to re-welcome you very soon,
Sincerely Yours
Dr. Alberto and Claudia Giannotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

I feel guilty for not having reviewed the Palazzo long ago. I owed it to the readers of TripAdvisor who have given us many wonderful recommendations over the years.
We stayed (for 14 days) in the same suite as the Australian reviewers stayed (see their review two items down); and we have even more bad comments about the suite. The bathroom certainly smelled, and that's six months ago, so this is not a new development, as the owners suggest. In addition, the water in the shower changed temperature without warning, sometimes to dangerously hot. One gripe that our Australian friends missed was that the room is under the breakfast room; and the noise from the wait staff's feet begins at about 6:30 a.m. and continues throughout breakfast. In sum, I would never recommend this room.
The reason that I withheld comment earlier is that, otherwise, the Palazzo is exemplary. The location is great; the staff is most accommodating and gracious and helpful; there are fine restaurants all around (Pane e Vino was our favorite); breakfast is more than one could want (no, no waffles, but, yes, fresh fruit and pastries and eggs and quality meats and cheeses) and the Palazzo epitomizes Florence, with all the art and architecture that the world loves.
So, kind readers, do not stay in this room. I suspect, however, that if you spend a bit or a lot more money, this is a five-star property. But we didn't, and I didn't see (or smell) the other rooms.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMF-Direction, Proprietario at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, November 15, 2010
Dear Guests,
we would like to review your comment by taking the possibility to answer all your mentioned points and to explain some important things about it.
The bathroom was completely checked, closing the suite for 4 days to check on smell. The pipes and drains were checked by the plummer. We really checked all attentively and the bad smell could not be felt during these days, but we are sure that the pipe cleaning helps, since a lot of hair come out from the shower pipe. Normally the pipe and drain cleanings are done twice a year, to be sure that this particolar suite will not have any problem, we decided for another pipe cleaning to avoid any doubt.
The point that we are very astonished about is that nobody told us this during the stay. A pipe cleaning could have been arranged as well during a guests stay (it takes one hour and is made not from the suite, but from the middle floor between the suite floors, so it do not disturb our guests). Our 24-hours Reception and service in the palace is there to assist and to do all to make our guests stay the most memorable one, so we are really sorry that you did not advise the reception about your concerns during your stay.
The locations of this suite is one floor down the breakfast room, that is absolutely correct. One part of the living room is under the breakfast area, the bedroom is quiet far away from this area, but we added more full wooden carpets to avoid noise anyhow in the living room area.
We are glad that you mention our staff, that really works hard and with such enthusiasm to make it right for all of our guests, so we would like to thank you for that.
We furthermore would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your nice letter that you left for us at the Reception, thanking for your birthday celebration that we organized for you and enforcing that you were having a wonderful time at the Palazzo, feeling our loving care.
We would be really very happy to welcome you again at the Palazzo and to make you experience another suite!
Please feel always free to contact us for anything that we can do for you,
Yours sincerely
Dr. Alberto and Claudia Giannotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

We spent 4 nights at this hotel and enjoyed all of it. It's location is on the other side of the Arno down from the 'action,' but we found this a welcome relief. Two bridges downstream from the Ponte Vecchio and you're there. One street in from the river and you're walking by interesting shops, especially shoes and leather.
We stayed in a 4-room suite (Francesca) which was most accommodating and spacious. One bedroom was directly over the street and could be noisy, but being tired each evening from touring, we slept well. The kitchen area was especially nice. We enjoyed the breakfast area and the quality of the food, and though the terrace was a bit of a climb, we enjoyed come 'home' to it each evening for the drinks and the view.
The staff was always cordial and very helpful. They even allowed us to store our bags when we returned several days after checking out and needed a 'home away from home' while touring and waiting for the train.
There is an additional bonus to this hotel, the restaurant Dante, just across the street. We dined 3 consecutive nights and enjoy every meal...and this is in a town where food choice abound! The combination made for a wonderful, warm visit and we'd certainly return. One observation was the number of American students in the vicinity of the hotel. It made for some noise on Thursday and Friday evenings, but they were having fun, and it made us wish we'd taken that 'overseas education' option so many years ago

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMF-Direction, Proprietario at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, November 8, 2010
Dear Palazzo Guests,
we would like to express our Thank you for your kind Tripadvisor comment that you left for all readers and for us at the Palace.
We are very happy to take this opportunity to say hello to you and we are glad to know that you enjoyed the Palace in all its aspects, furthermore Florence and the restaurant Dante!
Actually we love to eat there as well, the food is really nice and it is so convenient, just in front of the Palace door!
Thank you very much for all your kind words about our staff as well,
our best wishes from Florence,
hopefully to welcome you back sometime in the future,
Sincerely Yours
Dr. Alberto and Claudia Giannotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed here for two nights after reading these reviews. The location of the hotel was terrific and staying in a grand Palazzo was exciting. The staff in the breakfast room and in the terrace bar were very friendly. My husband enjoyed long conversations in the terrace bar looking over the amazing view of Florence. Even the porter was very helpful. He helped us do some minor repairs to our rental car that was damaged in the previous garage we had parked our car.
However the suite itself was not inviting or comfortable. We had an enormous sitting room that had a built in sofa around the walls. It had you sitting far from each other and the television. It was just weird. The bedroom was tiny in comparison and so was the bathroom. The bathroom fittings are very poor and the layout very awkward. All these things are understandable but the awful smell from the drains was just disgusting. We poured the supplied Bvlgari shower gel down the drains that helped mask the smell for a while.

This hotel misses the mark in my opinion.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PMF-Direction, Proprietario at Palazzo Magnani Feroni, responded to this review, November 2, 2010
Dear Guest,
we are reading your comment that you left on the Tripadvisor websites and first of all would like to thank you for kind words about our Palazzo staff. At the same time we are very sorry to read your suite comment, that we would like to comment, since we always try to respond to all of our guest reviews, because we believe that this is important to better understand all aspects and to make understand our readers always all mentioned parts.

The suite that you and your husband stayed in is a classic suite category which is our basic first price suite. This suite type has a very interesting price, especially talking about suites and measures 120 sq.m (1.291,00 sq.feet). The living room is 55 sq.m (592 sq.feet). the bedroom 30 sq.m (323 sq.feet), the corridor and the guest bathroom and the ensuite bedroom bathroom are the remaining sq.m. The bedroom size is actually not a s big as the living room area, but very spacious and comfortable. The suite that you stayed in faces on a beautiful city garden and it is normally a very appreciated suite of many of our guests, as you can read following many comments on the community.
The bathroom features that you mention, again beeing a standard suite (the suite categories are described on the websites and the Palace offers as well executive, deluxe, feroni and junior suite categories, that according to the price can be choosen as to guests’ preferrences) are standard but offering all amenities. We are very sorry if you felt some strange smell from the drains, that of course is not something normal and that was checked as soon as we read your comment. The guests that checked in after you did not recognize the smell and we checked with the plummer that could not find something unnormal.
Please understand that we listen to our guests and needs in every single moment and that it is a pleasure for us to improve every day as well with our guests.
We achieve a very high guest satisfaction, of course dealing with many different countries, mentalities, cultures and habits, still it is our continuous aim to satisfy all in the best possible way and with all our effort and love that we have for our industry and job.
Hopefully to be able to welcome you in the future, please feel always free to contact us for anything that we can do for you,
Yours sincerely
Dr. Alberto and Claudia Giannotti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Magnani Feroni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Address: Borgo San Frediano, 5, 50124 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#10 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#16 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Magnani Feroni 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Magnani Feroni is an historical home that for over five hundred years has been at the centre of Florence's aristocratic life: one of the oldest dwellings in the San Frediano neighbourhood, it has stood as an important symbol of the city's history and its artistic value. The class of this elegant renaissance palace, evident upon entering, finds its maximum expression in the sumptuous suites and the luxurious hospitality quarters, furnished with candelabra, statues, paintings and frescoes form the '500. Each suite reflects the refinement of the Renaissance style, with the subtle combination of comfort and modern technology and decorated with tasteful antique furnishings and materials originating from the owners' ancestors' antique collection. Spanning between 80- and 120-square meters (860- and 1300- square feet) in size, the 13 suites each comprise a large living room, bedroom(s) and master bathroom(s). Each includes all amenities expected of a five-star luxury hotel, including stereo, satellite television in both the living room and bedroom, internet port and self-regulating air conditioning units. An architectural jewel of the 16th century, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni belongs to the National Register of Historical Monuments of the State of Italy. Detail and ornamentation characterises the building throughout, surprising the wanderer with frescoes, vaulted ceilings and intricate wood-carvings. The Renaissance decor prevails in this palace of traditional Florentine lay-out. Breakfast, for instance, is served in a 160-square meter salon with hand-crafted wood ceilings illuminated by a large original Murano chandelier. In the winter evenings, this salon serves as an intimate, candle-lit Bar, accessible to Palazzo guests and their friends only. The same rules are applicable to the adjoining Billiard Room, as well as to the In-House Gym, so as to assure the guests with absolute privacy. The beautiful Roof-Top Terrace offers a breathtaking view of the city and houses the Palazzo Bar as soon as the temperature permits. Providing 24-hour Reception and Service, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni is run by a staff dedicated to meet your every need with efficiency and discretion, both prior, during and following your stay. Services include reservations to exclusive restaurants, recommendations of typical local eateries and trattorias, coordination of privileged entrance to the city's museums, airport / train station pick-up, private shopping tours, visits to the Ferrari Museum and private, chauffeured excursions to the beautiful Chianti valley. Also, Palazzo guests choose from a selection of CDs, DVD films and soap fragrances for their suite, as well as benefit from private Guides to shopping and restaurants off the beaten path, personally written by the owners of the Palazzo for an "insider's view" of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Splendia and Priceline so you can book your Palazzo Magnani Feroni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Florence
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Magnani Feroni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.