We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Graciousness and Sumptuousness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Magnani Feroni to your Saves list
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo San Frediano, 5, 50124 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #12 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Somerville, MA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Old World Graciousness and Sumptuousness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Where to begin?? This is a palace - literally - that has been converted into a hotel. The hotel contains not very many rooms - I am guessing maybe 16 total rooms in the whole palace. As a result, the guest rooms are huge! Both my bedroom and living room were larger than in my condo at home in Boston. And the room decor! Old World sumptuousness is the best I can describe it. The first night you are there, be sure to choose your favorite soap (there's a sample box on the table). And in my three decades of travel, I have never visited a hotel that offers so much public shared community space for the guests - libraries, salons, terraces, corridors, etc. all decorated with sumptuous fabrics and antiques. I am gonna guess that close to half the square footage of the hotel is offered as public shared community space. The 24/7 coffee and tea are lovely. The coffe/tea service on my floor was right outside my room, served in shared guest space that looked like a 17th century kitchen. Nice location - on the opposite side of the river from the Duomo and Ufizzi. Perfect. Far enough away from the crowds, but close enough to walk. Breakfast was very good. Absolutely lovely.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    54
    12
    12
    10
See reviews for
148
299
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Where do I begin! The staff, the room, the hotel was all amazing! Loved that they offered free coffee, tea and water throughout the day and free Wifi in the room! We loved their terrace which overlooked the city. So relaxing and quiet up there. The rooms were huge! Perfect location and the staff was so accommodating! Can't say enough great things about this hotel :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed the stay. Great place...The breakfast was super. Staff was very polite. The rooms and suites were very nice..you feel like going back in time....The terrace is gorgeous at night...you can sit there and have a drink..location is also very good..within walking distance from the Ufizi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Our family including 2 sons (ages 11 and 14) stayed in a suite here in early July. We have traveled to many places around the world, and this quickly became a favorite for all of us. The perfect location, spacious suites, luxurious yet practical. Our sons loved the billiards room, we all enjoyed the rooftop bar each evening, and this palace even has a small workout room. There are many fabulous restaurants nearby, including 2 of the best gelato stops in Florence. It was a unique experience that we will always remember and highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel was the perfect way to begin our trip to Italy. Hidden on a very small street, the driver had to pull onto the sidewalk to let us debark. Inside it was like being transported into a 16th century palace...with every modern convenience we are used to. We traveled with our two teenaged boys, and the space was perfect. We had the Guiseppe suite with a very large master bedroom and bathroom, a large sitting area, a bedroom with twin beds and separate bathroom for the boys. It was very quiet. We heard nothing except for the occasional siren. It is situated near many excellent restaurants which is handy after long days of site-seeing. Located a block from the river, it is a lovely 10 minute walk to the Uffizi.
The service was perfetto! They had great restaurant suggestions, help with getting our rental car and wonderful service at breakfast and on the terrace. The security was excellent. You can't get into the building unless you're a guest and we felt very safe. We even forgot to lock our door one night! The breakfast was by far the best breakfast of our three week tour.
The beds are very firm (throughout Italy) and they had some type of exercise equipment in the room that I never did figure out what it was for and even if it worked. But who needs to workout when you're walking all day?
The view from the terrace alone makes it worth staying at this hotel. I can't imagine a better place to stay when in Firenze.

Room Tip: We loved the Guiseppe suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel was OK, not great in our opinion. It is a restored palace with many antiques in the main areas. The rooms are huge but the decor was "tired" and in need of updating as was the bedding. The rooftop terrace was very nice with a great view of the city at night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Thank you, Tripadvisor, for letting me know about this spectacular hotel. I never would have found it otherwise. Tucked discreetly behind a locked door on a quiet street, it turns out to be one of the most spectacular secrets among discerning visitors to Florence. More than a hotel, it's a splendid residence with luxurious guest suites and a rooftop bar with a stunning view over Florence. Our suite ("Angelika"), with a huge bedroom and a spacious sitting room, was large enough to host a cocktail party. The inner courtyard provides a serene spot to get away from busy Florence. The location is close enough to walk to major tourist sites, but far enough away from the crowds to offer peace and quiet. The vibe is that of a private palace, where you can wander through many quiet hallways, admire the artwork, and feel like you've got the run of the place.

Although it doesn't have a restaurant, it does serve a magnificent breakfast buffet (included in the daily rate) which was the loveliest and most lavish that we experienced during our entire three-week stay in Italy, which included some five-star hotels. It includes hot choices as well -- eggs, omelets, whatever you want. On the buffet table, there was even a bottle of sparkling wine, should you care to imbibe that early in the day. Up in the rooftop bar, you can also order snacks with your drinks, including salads, smoked meats, and a variety of other delicacies. I believe, with some advance notice, the hotel can also arrange for a private meal.

The staff was gracious, friendly, and ready to do anything for you.

The only note of advice I have is for mobility-impaired travelers. Although there is an elevator to the floors with the guest suites, to reach the rooftop bar requires a climb up two flights of stairs. If you have no problem walking, then I say, book this hotel now, while you're still able to climb stairs and enjoy these magical views of Florence!

Room Tip: I'm told that all the rooms are suites, so I don't think you can go wrong with any of them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Magnani Feroni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Address: Borgo San Frediano, 5, 50124 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#10 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#16 Family Hotel in Florence
#19 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Magnani Feroni 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Magnani Feroni is an historical home that for over five hundred years has been at the centre of Florence's aristocratic life: one of the oldest dwellings in the San Frediano neighbourhood, it has stood as an important symbol of the city's history and its artistic value. The class of this elegant renaissance palace, evident upon entering, finds its maximum expression in the sumptuous suites and the luxurious hospitality quarters, furnished with candelabra, statues, paintings and frescoes form the '500. Each suite reflects the refinement of the Renaissance style, with the subtle combination of comfort and modern technology and decorated with tasteful antique furnishings and materials originating from the owners' ancestors' antique collection. Spanning between 80- and 120-square meters (860- and 1300- square feet) in size, the 13 suites each comprise a large living room, bedroom(s) and master bathroom(s). Each includes all amenities expected of a five-star luxury hotel, including stereo, satellite television in both the living room and bedroom, internet port and self-regulating air conditioning units. An architectural jewel of the 16th century, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni belongs to the National Register of Historical Monuments of the State of Italy. Detail and ornamentation characterises the building throughout, surprising the wanderer with frescoes, vaulted ceilings and intricate wood-carvings. The Renaissance decor prevails in this palace of traditional Florentine lay-out. Breakfast, for instance, is served in a 160-square meter salon with hand-crafted wood ceilings illuminated by a large original Murano chandelier. In the winter evenings, this salon serves as an intimate, candle-lit Bar, accessible to Palazzo guests and their friends only. The same rules are applicable to the adjoining Billiard Room, as well as to the In-House Gym, so as to assure the guests with absolute privacy. The beautiful Roof-Top Terrace offers a breathtaking view of the city and houses the Palazzo Bar as soon as the temperature permits. Providing 24-hour Reception and Service, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni is run by a staff dedicated to meet your every need with efficiency and discretion, both prior, during and following your stay. Services include reservations to exclusive restaurants, recommendations of typical local eateries and trattorias, coordination of privileged entrance to the city's museums, airport / train station pick-up, private shopping tours, visits to the Ferrari Museum and private, chauffeured excursions to the beautiful Chianti valley. Also, Palazzo guests choose from a selection of CDs, DVD films and soap fragrances for their suite, as well as benefit from private Guides to shopping and restaurants off the beaten path, personally written by the owners of the Palazzo for an "insider's view" of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Palazzo Magnani Feroni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Florence
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Magnani Feroni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.