We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Italian Experience--A Few Things to Know Before You Book” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Magnani Feroni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo San Frediano, 5, 50124 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 461 hotels in Florence
Oklahoma City
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“An Italian Experience--A Few Things to Know Before You Book”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is like no other that I have stayed at. First off the service is exquisite especially the dining wait staff. Location wise it is off the beaten path on the south side of the river. The atmosphere is museum like --very tall ceilings, old paintings, elaborate decorations, and huge rooms. Our suite, the Guilia, consisted of a large sitting room and then a big bedroom. The bathroom was updated and remodeled. The breakfast was delicious and located on the second floor. The elevator is an antique itself. The problem I had is that the eloquent draperies and headboard coverings appeared to be very old and they smelled dusty to me. I personally do not like fabric covered headboards because of mites etc. Also, we stayed in the Guilia suite and there was construction nearly in the morning (so check to see if the construction is finished or if you get up by 8 don't worry about it). There was noise late at night coming from the homes directly across from our suite. Other than that--an interesting experience. We stayed in Italy for 12 days and were in five hotels, and this was my 14 year old son's second favorite hotel--very interesting place to stay.

Room Tip: Get an internal suite if the construction is not over or if you sleep past 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    421
    46
    10
    9
    10
See reviews for
129
264
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This property is a real gem. My family and I (two daughters, 12 and 14) stayed here in late March, 2013 in a family suite that was incredibly charming. The entire hotel consists of only twelve rooms (or thereabout), but the staff is friendly, attentive and effective. We are looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We recently returned from a 4 night stay. We can't say enough about how much this unique property added to our trip to Florence. Location across the Arno from the major attractions was still a convenient walk. The staff was discreet but always on hand to help with any request. Emmanuel, was night butler was absolutely delightful. We looked forward to wine in the hotel lobby and chatting with him each evening. Our room (Smerelda) was very inviting with frescoes on the walls and a private patio area. The breakfast was served in a lovely room on an upper floor with a delicious and extensive selection of food. Unfortunately, the rooftop lounge was not in use due to the cold weather but the view from there was breathtaking. It must be a wonderful place to sit in the warmer weather. Overall, we can't say enough about this fine hotel. We will definitely stay there on our next trip to Florence.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

From the moment we arrived we experienced nothing but friendliness and efficiency. The whole hotel was spotlessly clean with shining tiled floors and pristine carpets. Our suite was large, comfortable and beautifully quiet. It was great to be so close to the all the restaurants and sights and be able to return to such a peaceful haven. The service was impeccable and the staff members were very friendly without being intrusive. Although we hadn't mentioned it to them, we noticed that a broken light bulb in our bedroom had been replaced while we were out during the day. This kind of attention to detail was repeated throughout the whole hotel. This is definitely the best hotel we've ever stayed in and I would recommend it to anyone who want's to be sure of an enjoyable experience for a special occasion.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sb
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful hotel last March with our two small daughters and the experience was wonderful! Our room was huge and comfortable, really like a small apartment. Each floor had an espresso machine for guests and the breakfast was amazing. We spent the beginning of each evening on the roof as the terrace offers views of the entire city!! The staff was wecoming and very helpful and their restaurant suggestions were amazing. Well worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawthorne, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon, in "Smerelda" which was a room with beautiful hand-painted frescoes on all the walls and ceilings. The room was excellent, well-appointed and comfortable.

We were amazed at how beautiful this property was, and how quiet and tranquil our stay was. A short-walk to the hustle and bustle of central Florence, the hotel is located right on the other side of the Arno.

The real magic of this all-suite hotel is the preservation of the classic architecture and artifacts of the Palazzo's history. You must tour the entire property, there are hidden gems around every corner!

Breakfast every morning is served in a cute room with an impressive ceiling and chandelier and was high-quality, we've never had fresh mozzarella so creamy and delicious. The terrace has breathtaking views of Florence and we enjoyed sipping wine and relaxing up there.

The hotel is very private too, most of the rooms were occupied but we hardly saw another soul, definitely a benefit of staying in a smaller place.

The staff is delightful, and Emmanuel in particular was outstanding. Emmanuel was the evening bartender, and every night we would purchase a bottle of wine and enjoy it in the lobby area of the hotel. Emmanuel would prepare for us a veritable smorgasbord of Italian snacks. He was so personable and friendly, by the end of the trip we looked forward to going to the lobby just to chat with Emmanuel.

We arranged a cooking class through the hotel which was executed perfectly, they have many different activities available and I recommend booking one through them. They clearly only use the best tour operators and guides.

When we go back to Florence, there is only one place we will stay, we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: A room facing the courtyard will almost certainly be quieter. Smerelda is a room with beautiful fres...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was a fantastic hotel
We paid appx 200 euro a night for an executive suite
It was the biggest hotel room I've ever stayed in, 75sq m approx
Included 2 x TVs with cable (including being able to watch many shows in English - such a bonus as no other hotel in Italy had this)
Beautiful antique furniture and lovely lounge area
They included a free gift of beautiful handmade soap and the toiletries were all Bvlgari.
The building itself is really special, an old 16th century palazzo. It h
Is decorated with beautiful antique furniture a and paintings.
There is a rooftop terrace, the view from it is amazing. We didn't use it as it was winter and raining but in summer it would be fantastic for a drink.
Service great, they recommended some really fantastic well priced local restaurants.
Breakfast the standard European buffet with cereals, pastries, eggs, fruit, bacon, juice etc.
location really good. Only a 5 minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio and 10 mins to the cathedral.
The area is lovely, slightly less touristy than the other side of the bridge, with many good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Magnani Feroni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Address: Borgo San Frediano, 5, 50124 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#8 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#12 Family Hotel in Florence
#22 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Magnani Feroni 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Magnani Feroni is an historical home that for over five hundred years has been at the centre of Florence's aristocratic life: one of the oldest dwellings in the San Frediano neighbourhood, it has stood as an important symbol of the city's history and its artistic value. The class of this elegant renaissance palace, evident upon entering, finds its maximum expression in the sumptuous suites and the luxurious hospitality quarters, furnished with candelabra, statues, paintings and frescoes form the '500. Each suite reflects the refinement of the Renaissance style, with the subtle combination of comfort and modern technology and decorated with tasteful antique furnishings and materials originating from the owners' ancestors' antique collection. Spanning between 80- and 120-square meters (860- and 1300- square feet) in size, the 13 suites each comprise a large living room, bedroom(s) and master bathroom(s). Each includes all amenities expected of a five-star luxury hotel, including stereo, satellite television in both the living room and bedroom, internet port and self-regulating air conditioning units. An architectural jewel of the 16th century, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni belongs to the National Register of Historical Monuments of the State of Italy. Detail and ornamentation characterises the building throughout, surprising the wanderer with frescoes, vaulted ceilings and intricate wood-carvings. The Renaissance decor prevails in this palace of traditional Florentine lay-out. Breakfast, for instance, is served in a 160-square meter salon with hand-crafted wood ceilings illuminated by a large original Murano chandelier. In the winter evenings, this salon serves as an intimate, candle-lit Bar, accessible to Palazzo guests and their friends only. The same rules are applicable to the adjoining Billiard Room, as well as to the In-House Gym, so as to assure the guests with absolute privacy. The beautiful Roof-Top Terrace offers a breathtaking view of the city and houses the Palazzo Bar as soon as the temperature permits. Providing 24-hour Reception and Service, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni is run by a staff dedicated to meet your every need with efficiency and discretion, both prior, during and following your stay. Services include reservations to exclusive restaurants, recommendations of typical local eateries and trattorias, coordination of privileged entrance to the city's museums, airport / train station pick-up, private shopping tours, visits to the Ferrari Museum and private, chauffeured excursions to the beautiful Chianti valley. Also, Palazzo guests choose from a selection of CDs, DVD films and soap fragrances for their suite, as well as benefit from private Guides to shopping and restaurants off the beaten path, personally written by the owners of the Palazzo for an "insider's view" of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Palazzo Magnani Feroni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Florence
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Magnani Feroni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.