We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Property!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Magnani Feroni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo San Frediano, 5, 50124 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 461 hotels in Florence
Hawthorne, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing Property!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed here on our honeymoon, in "Smerelda" which was a room with beautiful hand-painted frescoes on all the walls and ceilings. The room was excellent, well-appointed and comfortable.

We were amazed at how beautiful this property was, and how quiet and tranquil our stay was. A short-walk to the hustle and bustle of central Florence, the hotel is located right on the other side of the Arno.

The real magic of this all-suite hotel is the preservation of the classic architecture and artifacts of the Palazzo's history. You must tour the entire property, there are hidden gems around every corner!

Breakfast every morning is served in a cute room with an impressive ceiling and chandelier and was high-quality, we've never had fresh mozzarella so creamy and delicious. The terrace has breathtaking views of Florence and we enjoyed sipping wine and relaxing up there.

The hotel is very private too, most of the rooms were occupied but we hardly saw another soul, definitely a benefit of staying in a smaller place.

The staff is delightful, and Emmanuel in particular was outstanding. Emmanuel was the evening bartender, and every night we would purchase a bottle of wine and enjoy it in the lobby area of the hotel. Emmanuel would prepare for us a veritable smorgasbord of Italian snacks. He was so personable and friendly, by the end of the trip we looked forward to going to the lobby just to chat with Emmanuel.

We arranged a cooking class through the hotel which was executed perfectly, they have many different activities available and I recommend booking one through them. They clearly only use the best tour operators and guides.

When we go back to Florence, there is only one place we will stay, we can't wait to return!

Room Tip: A room facing the courtyard will almost certainly be quieter. Smerelda is a room with beautiful fres...
See more room tips
Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    421
    46
    10
    8
    10
See reviews for
129
264
16
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was a fantastic hotel
We paid appx 200 euro a night for an executive suite
It was the biggest hotel room I've ever stayed in, 75sq m approx
Included 2 x TVs with cable (including being able to watch many shows in English - such a bonus as no other hotel in Italy had this)
Beautiful antique furniture and lovely lounge area
They included a free gift of beautiful handmade soap and the toiletries were all Bvlgari.
The building itself is really special, an old 16th century palazzo. It h
Is decorated with beautiful antique furniture a and paintings.
There is a rooftop terrace, the view from it is amazing. We didn't use it as it was winter and raining but in summer it would be fantastic for a drink.
Service great, they recommended some really fantastic well priced local restaurants.
Breakfast the standard European buffet with cereals, pastries, eggs, fruit, bacon, juice etc.
location really good. Only a 5 minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio and 10 mins to the cathedral.
The area is lovely, slightly less touristy than the other side of the bridge, with many good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The hotel itself is an amazing place. The rooms are all-suite and very spacious. If you have ever been to New York: they would build whole hotels out of 2 rooms from this hotel in the Big Apple :-)

The deluxe suites are really big 2 room appartments with antique furniture. They only have a few rooms, so do not expect the infrastructure of a conference hotel. Expect more of an Italian luxury lifestyle approach to staying in Florence.

Breakfast was very good. The coffee is a signature in Italy and it was very good. The rooms are clean and the building is indeed a palazzo.The 5 star level is a bit different to a Four Seasons or a Ritz, but has it's own Florentine charme. Just keep in mind, they have only like 12 or 14 rooms here.

Food is good, coffee and water are complimentary (which is a big plus) and there is even a little gym downstairs, if you want to work out like a mediaval knight or merchant :-)

The location is good and you walk to the Ponte Vecchio in less than 7 minutes. There is a night life around the hotel - which leads us to the only downside:

The Friday night was loud, really loud. Not some party noise in the distance, but a heavy duty party less than 60 feet away from your window. It lasted up to 2.30 in the morning and we wanted to sleep early, which we were unable to. Now the well earned 5 stars kicked in and they just gave us a second suite facing the other side of the building, which was quiet and calm.

That made me hand out the 5 stars as well: I have never experience such an instant, well targeted reaction from a hotel: "Oh, that is loud. I am personally responsible, here is your free second room. Take both room keys, sleep in the other and leave your luggage locked in the old room, no problem" with handing me a SECOND large suite. That has not happened to me before. Well done, Palazzo Magnani Feroni, that's how get 5 points on Tripadvisor!

Also a personal thanks to the management Mattia Bini, who sent us a free bottle of Champagne on top of that. It has been our first stay in that hotel and despite the noise incident, I do not want to leave now :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and were delighted that we chose Palazzo Magnani. Everything was pèrfect: the suite was exceptionally spacious; the service excellent and the location was ideal for easy and quick access to all the major sites. The attention to the smallest detail really made this a charming place to stay. Breakfast served by white-gloved waiters was a genteel start to the day and the complimentary afternoon tea was a real treat. We were celebrating a birthday and the hotel even made a surprise cake (which was delicious!) Could not have asked for more.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I'd like to be fare and refrain my enthusiasm, but it's difficult to do it. The hotel is amazing, each room has its identity and its own name. Our suite was called Diletta. Perfect. Sharp location, peaceful breakfast and amazing view from the terrace complete the cenario. The service and the carefullness of the staff are wonderful. The price is pretty fair. The owner of this facility (Mr. Giannotti) also has a wine villa (Olmo) near by and, despite the fact I couldn't visit it for personnal reasons, I really do believe that this trip through Toscana would be worthwhile, based on the perfection that he runs his city property. I emphatically recommend this hotel for everyone that wants to have a romantic and delightful time in Florence.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed here for our honeymoon and had a wonderful week. The suite we had was the smerelda and it was amazing. The staff were polite and always on hand to help, the breakfasts were very good quality and the cocktails were spot on. I would reccomend this to anyone. The hotel is on the quieter side of the river but is only a short walk to the main attractions, there are some nice bars and restaurants in this arty side of the city.

My only constructive feedback would be about the bathroom in the suite. For a room of its size and cost we were hoping for a more luxurious bathroom, the shower was small and the drainage was poor but I am being picky here as the accomodation is first rate.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights and wished it was longer. The room was spacious and extremely comfortable, the junior suite makes you feel you are staying in an old palace. Breakfast was spectacular and the choice almost unlimited. The location is great as you are just outside of all the crowds. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palazzo Magnani Feroni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Address: Borgo San Frediano, 5, 50124 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#8 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#13 Family Hotel in Florence
#22 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Magnani Feroni 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Magnani Feroni is an historical home that for over five hundred years has been at the centre of Florence's aristocratic life: one of the oldest dwellings in the San Frediano neighbourhood, it has stood as an important symbol of the city's history and its artistic value. The class of this elegant renaissance palace, evident upon entering, finds its maximum expression in the sumptuous suites and the luxurious hospitality quarters, furnished with candelabra, statues, paintings and frescoes form the '500. Each suite reflects the refinement of the Renaissance style, with the subtle combination of comfort and modern technology and decorated with tasteful antique furnishings and materials originating from the owners' ancestors' antique collection. Spanning between 80- and 120-square meters (860- and 1300- square feet) in size, the 13 suites each comprise a large living room, bedroom(s) and master bathroom(s). Each includes all amenities expected of a five-star luxury hotel, including stereo, satellite television in both the living room and bedroom, internet port and self-regulating air conditioning units. An architectural jewel of the 16th century, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni belongs to the National Register of Historical Monuments of the State of Italy. Detail and ornamentation characterises the building throughout, surprising the wanderer with frescoes, vaulted ceilings and intricate wood-carvings. The Renaissance decor prevails in this palace of traditional Florentine lay-out. Breakfast, for instance, is served in a 160-square meter salon with hand-crafted wood ceilings illuminated by a large original Murano chandelier. In the winter evenings, this salon serves as an intimate, candle-lit Bar, accessible to Palazzo guests and their friends only. The same rules are applicable to the adjoining Billiard Room, as well as to the In-House Gym, so as to assure the guests with absolute privacy. The beautiful Roof-Top Terrace offers a breathtaking view of the city and houses the Palazzo Bar as soon as the temperature permits. Providing 24-hour Reception and Service, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni is run by a staff dedicated to meet your every need with efficiency and discretion, both prior, during and following your stay. Services include reservations to exclusive restaurants, recommendations of typical local eateries and trattorias, coordination of privileged entrance to the city's museums, airport / train station pick-up, private shopping tours, visits to the Ferrari Museum and private, chauffeured excursions to the beautiful Chianti valley. Also, Palazzo guests choose from a selection of CDs, DVD films and soap fragrances for their suite, as well as benefit from private Guides to shopping and restaurants off the beaten path, personally written by the owners of the Palazzo for an "insider's view" of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Palazzo Magnani Feroni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Florence
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Magnani Feroni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.