We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay in a beautiful city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Magnani Feroni to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Palazzo Magnani Feroni
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Borgo San Frediano, 5, 50124 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #7 of 461 hotels in Florence
london
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful stay in a beautiful city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We booked Palazzo Magnani Feroni for my partner's birthday and it more than lived up to our expectations. Florence is historic, beautiful and spellbinding, and the Magnani Feroni fits perfectly into this backdrop. It is tucked away in a quiet backstreet on Oltrano. The main sights of Florence are a short walk away and there are any number of traditional shops and restaurants on its doorstep. Staff could not have been more attentive and the service was first rate. Lorenzo the Magnificent would have felt at home. I would recommend the Palazzo to anyone looking for an unforgettable stay in this most beautiful of cities.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    431
    49
    9
    8
    10
See reviews for
127
263
16
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Excellent service. Discreet but yet attentive. Rooms were huge and I had the Guiseppe Suite which is two bedrooms with a large living area. Breakfast was sumptious and what a delight for us return to the hotel after a day in Florence. Hot tea and Nespresso awaitng in the lounge for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Health warning: this will spoil you for all other hotels in Florence.
The location is perfect for sightseeing and exploring on foot the small cobbled streets of Oltrarno with its plethora of small shops and restaurants, as well as palazzo Pitti and the Boboli Gardens, the Ponte Vecchio area, the Duomo and all the other museums in the historical centre. The hotel can help with booking tickets ahead so you avoid the queues - but this can also be done online.
The building itself, in the owner's family for over 250 years, was sympathically restored and opened in 2002 as a suites only hotel retaining many original architectural features but without sacrificing any comfort. For example the vaulted ceilings are dizzyingly high but the rooms are warm in winter.
The suites are all enormous and elegantly furnished but so comfortably you instantly feel at home, with amenities such as TVs and DVD players, minibar, a safe, Bulgari toiletries, a free guide and map to Florence and lots of information in the folder given on arrival. A word of caution: the bottled of wine enticingly placed on a side table and labeled "for your tasting enjoyment" actually costs EUR44, although the charge only becomes apparent upon checkout.
The hotel has many lounging areas, a billiard room, a magnificent breakfast room decorated with antique family portraits. The roof terrace offers spendid views of Florence.
Coffee and tea are available free of charge throughout the day and there's free coffee and cake in the afternoon - we weren't around to try it but think it's a lovely touch.
Breakfast is a huge buffet with sweet and savoury offerings plus you can order eggs cooked to your taste. It can also be served in your suite for a EUR15 supplement but it would be a shame to missout on the beautiful room.
The staff almost all speak English and are extremely courteous and helpful. They kept our luggage after we checked out, lent us umbrellas, booked us a taxi to the station and would have done much more had we asked.
After my second stay there I cannot recommend it highly enough. It's very expensive but check out their special offers on their web site for some real bargains given the quality of accommodation and service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We stayed here for one week in December 2012, with our 3 year old son. We had a two bedroom suite, with the large living room. This room is huge - seriously these rooms a big. With soaring ceilings and large space it was a great space to play and spend time with our son when we weren't our exploring florence. The service was great too. We had breakfast each morning in the breakfast room which had lots of variety. Less than a 5 min walk to everything across the river. Nice and quiet when we were there. Tip for anyone staying there with a child - if you have a young child I would suggest not having a separate bedroom for them - the two bedroom suite was so big, we ended up not using the second bedroom as we felt we were too far away from our child at night - and probably wouldn't here him - the bedrooms were on either side of the living room. I would suggest organsing for a roll out bed to be placed in the main bedroom of the one bedroom suite, as you can still enjoy the other living space with the bedroom door closed. Downside - I only mentioned this as it may be applicable to people who are unable to go out for dinner at night. We weren't able to go out for dinner at night (early bed time for son), the room service wasnt' great as we had to rely on it each night for our son's dinner. Not much variety and not fabulous.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We just returned from a 4 night stay at the Palazzo Magnani. It was, without a doubt, a highlight of our vacation. This hotel has so many unique and wonderful elements; it is a small and quiet hotel in a gorgeous and perfectly restored palazzo. The location is superb; everything was within a 10 to 15 min walk, and the Ponte Vecchio is 2 blocks away. The hotel is so quiet and peaceful; you'd have no idea you're in the heart of Florence. We stayed in the Guiseppe suite with my 2 children. It's spacious, high ceilings, grand and elegant. From the opera music played at breakfast (delicious buffet), to the handmade soaps, along with the spectacular rooftop patio, this hotel ranks as one of my all time favorites. The staff couldn't be more helpful- an added plus. If you are looking for a quiet, low key and absolutely elegant experience; this is the place!

Room Tip: this is an all suites hotel. We loved the Guiseppe suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This wonderful hotel is located in a historic palace and has only twelve suites, along with several public spaces. It is quite grand and would normally be out of my price range, but they were running a special and that allowed me to stay at the Palazzo.

Pros:
The palace itself and the unusually large rooms.
The high level of cleanliness.
The terrific staff.
The location (on “Oltrarno,” the other side of the Arno, near Palazzo Pitti but far from the madding crowd).
The superb breakfast.
The rooftop terrace, with an amazing view of the city.

Cons:
My main beef was with the music. Most of four days I stayed here, there was the worst type of muzak playing, at a relatively high volume, in the lobby and the breakfast room. It made this glamourous Florentine palace sound like an elevator in a cheap department store. Every time I asked the staff to reduce the volume, they did so immediately, but I really think it's time to put on something more classy (or at least not so much in your face). Also, along with the beautiful antiques, there are some pretty tacky pieces (imitation Baroque angels galore). This made me think of the hotel as something of a Jekyll and Hyde: real beauty along with stuff that shouldn't be there. These issues do not detract from the fact that the Magnani Feroni is a very special place and I was delighted to stay there.

Caveat:
As is often the case, the professional photos on the site make some rooms look more beautiful than they actually are, mainly by making things seem brighter and larger.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Palazzo magnani feroni..wonderful, fabulous. We stayed for 5 nights and never had to take a taxi once. It is centrally located, within blocks of a number of fabulous restaurants. The staff is incredibly accommodating, the Guilia suite is huge with a warm, comfy feel. Free wifi. Great breakfast included..with white glove service, no less. TURN-down service every evening, with chocolates on the pillow! One thing that bothered us..just barely enough toilet paper..they either need to get bigger rolls or leave more than one small roll. Just being honest! Unique historic building. We stayed in mid November, but I can imagine how lovely it would be in the warmer months to sit on the rooftop terrace, with a wonderful view of the city, and have a drink and listen to the sounds of the city. Very, very clean with that old world feel. Had a couple of mis-steps, like the hotel confirming a dinner reservation at a restaurant that was closed on that Wednesday. And they gave us a card with a pass code for internet service..ours didn't work and we both had office work to do before we went out to dinner..woman at desk said she would send a new card right up..30 minutes later when we were both getting stressed, I had to go down to the office to get one. I'm missing some of my favorite US shows, but we did get FOX business news, CNN and the BBC. Would definitely return..first class place.

Room Tip: The second floor was very quiet in November..the Guilia room was Hugh and fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palazzo Magnani Feroni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Magnani Feroni

Address: Borgo San Frediano, 5, 50124 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#8 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#10 Family Hotel in Florence
#21 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Magnani Feroni 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Magnani Feroni is an historical home that for over five hundred years has been at the centre of Florence's aristocratic life: one of the oldest dwellings in the San Frediano neighbourhood, it has stood as an important symbol of the city's history and its artistic value. The class of this elegant renaissance palace, evident upon entering, finds its maximum expression in the sumptuous suites and the luxurious hospitality quarters, furnished with candelabra, statues, paintings and frescoes form the '500. Each suite reflects the refinement of the Renaissance style, with the subtle combination of comfort and modern technology and decorated with tasteful antique furnishings and materials originating from the owners' ancestors' antique collection. Spanning between 80- and 120-square meters (860- and 1300- square feet) in size, the 13 suites each comprise a large living room, bedroom(s) and master bathroom(s). Each includes all amenities expected of a five-star luxury hotel, including stereo, satellite television in both the living room and bedroom, internet port and self-regulating air conditioning units. An architectural jewel of the 16th century, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni belongs to the National Register of Historical Monuments of the State of Italy. Detail and ornamentation characterises the building throughout, surprising the wanderer with frescoes, vaulted ceilings and intricate wood-carvings. The Renaissance decor prevails in this palace of traditional Florentine lay-out. Breakfast, for instance, is served in a 160-square meter salon with hand-crafted wood ceilings illuminated by a large original Murano chandelier. In the winter evenings, this salon serves as an intimate, candle-lit Bar, accessible to Palazzo guests and their friends only. The same rules are applicable to the adjoining Billiard Room, as well as to the In-House Gym, so as to assure the guests with absolute privacy. The beautiful Roof-Top Terrace offers a breathtaking view of the city and houses the Palazzo Bar as soon as the temperature permits. Providing 24-hour Reception and Service, the Palazzo Magnani Feroni is run by a staff dedicated to meet your every need with efficiency and discretion, both prior, during and following your stay. Services include reservations to exclusive restaurants, recommendations of typical local eateries and trattorias, coordination of privileged entrance to the city's museums, airport / train station pick-up, private shopping tours, visits to the Ferrari Museum and private, chauffeured excursions to the beautiful Chianti valley. Also, Palazzo guests choose from a selection of CDs, DVD films and soap fragrances for their suite, as well as benefit from private Guides to shopping and restaurants off the beaten path, personally written by the owners of the Palazzo for an "insider's view" of Florence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Splendia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Palazzo Magnani Feroni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Florence
Palazzo Magnani Feroni Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Magnani Feroni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.