We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Florence Hotel Orto de Medici” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Orto De Medici

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Orto De Medici to your Saves list
Hotel Orto De Medici
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Gallo, 30, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #48 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Florence Hotel Orto de Medici”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Orto de Medici in Florence. The staff was very helpful and the room was very comfortable It's close to everything so you can walk all over Florence from the hotel. The three twin beds was nice for us because we were three individuals on vacation. It was nice to be in a historic building in a historic city. The breakfast that was provided was tasty and the waitstaff was very pleasant.

Room Tip: Our room had a tub with a sprayer for bathing but not a proper shower. I would ask if they have one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Hoffmann1,
Thanks for the great review! All the staff enjoyed reading your positive impression.
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    405
    84
    19
    15
See reviews for
259
673
58
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Great location on the edge of the old part of town. We booked our room at the last minute on the Internet and ended up with a very nice room on the ground floor facing the garden area. Very spacious with a huge bathroom with shower and large bath tub. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room also has a separate walk-in wardrobe area. Could do with a few more lights in the main bedroom area and a couple of comfortable chairs for sitting on in the room. Has no tea and coffee making facilities which was disappointing. Breakfast selection was limited to continental style breakfast only. The automatic coffee machine did make nice cappuccinos. Free Wi-Fi with the room and the signal was always very good.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Hoffmann1,
Thanks for your review. I am glad you were pleasantly surprised with your room, even if you booked at the last minute. I appreciate your suggestions. Unfortunately providing a good service might involve some choices, so we decided to power up some Italian style features (since we are in Italy) and not to provide some services that are not part of our culture, such as tea facilities in the rooms. Nevertheless we have an Infusion bar open also in the afternoon, where you can ask for coffee, tea and cappuccino, when you want.
Thanks for the positive notes about the cappuccino and the Wi-Fi.
I hope to see you back again sometimes.
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the orto de medici during part of our honeymoon. We were welcomed by a friendly staff and were so surprised when they upgraded our room and even sent a bottle of champagne as part of our welcome. The hotel is in a great location, just a few minutes walk to the tourist areas. Definitely recommend!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Moses Y,
Guests coming for such special occasions are always special guest for us. I am so glad you enjoyed your honeymoon in the frame of Florence and Hotel Orto de' Medici.
We wish you all happyness in the future.
Thank you!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed at the Orto De Medici on the recommendation of our travel agent. It was a wonderful choice. Within a 10 to 15 minute walk of all the major areas of florence. The Hotel was delightful with an absolutely gorgeous Bathroom. Breakfast was more than reasonable and we could not have been happier. The Staff was also extremely accommodating! The only thing we had difficulty getting used to is Beds in Italy which are quite firm! That seemed to be the case throughout our travels.

Room Tip: We had a Junior Suite and it was grande!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Ross E,
Thanks for your nice review. It's nice to read how you liked the decoration of the rooms, since we many are just renovated. Good impressions about breakfast and staff... thank you!
Hope to see you back again some time.
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

There were four people in our party so had two twin rooms. Both were clean and had comfy beds and have no complaints about one room. The location of the hotel is good away from the bustle of the duomo area but only 5-10 min walk, David just a couple mins away. Breakfast is decent - cereals, pastries, fruit, eggs, fresh orange juice and a coffee machine. Unfortunately the other was small compared to the other. In the bathroom there was no shower curtain so water went over the floor. There was also a smell of sewage that came and went. It wasn't there on arrival and did disappear after the first time so didn't ask to move but it kept coming back so wish we had. Staff also argued outside the room early one morning for a long time and when mentioned to reception there was no apology and felt like they didn't really care it had happened as we were checking out. While I would stay again if back in Florenceas a good price, the experience of the other two in our party has lowered my score.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Pablocu,
Thanks for your review. Some people say there is a smell in city after rain, but we are so used to it we even do not feel it anymore. It comes and goes, as you said. Sorry for the inconvenience about one room. Please do not hesitate to complain for something, and give us a chance to fix the things. I was not there on that morning and I would like to investigate more about what happened. For any complain you can refer to my name, or to director's as well. For my 12-years experience in this hotel it is the first time something like that happens and we will have our efforts not make it happen again.
I nevertheless appreciate your positive feedback about the cleanliness, the cmfort of the beds, the location and the breakfast.
Thank you
Francesco BIni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The decision to return to Hotel Orto De Medici was very easy. We enjoyed the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff, the location (within 20 minutes or less walking time to major sights), and the excellent blending of European style and international standards of comfort. The complementary breakfast, featuring freshly squeezed orange juice, a versatile cappuccino machine and a good buffet is another plus.

We think this is an excellent hotel choice and an excellent value, one that actually enhances the experience of visiting Florence.

Room Tip: Garden side rooms are quieter at a fairly modest price difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Warren N,
Thanks for this nice review again! It's always a great pleasure to welcome back guests, as it means the were happy and satisfied with their previous trip. And we doubled the score!!
Thank you really.
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

My wife and I spent a total of four nights at the Hotel Orto De Medici in Florence last week. This included a one night stay at the beginning of our trip to Italy, followed by three nights at the end of the trip. Initially the staff greeted us as if we were old friends, making us feel that they were awaiting our arrival. The room on the first night was beautifully decorated, large and clean. Marble appointed bathrooms with separate rooms for shower and toilet made for a most comfortable stay. The large king size bed was also appreciated along with extra pillows already in the room at check in. Outside was a garden area with patio seating that must be magnificent once everything blooms. It was easy to forget there was a city around us in this tranquil, quiet area.
Upon our return we were greeted by name and given another great room. In addition to the amenities found in our first night stay, this room directly opened to its own, private patio area.
The staff was friendly, courteous and professional. They assisted us with planning to see the many attractions in Florence. The convenient location of the hotel allowed for a short walk of less than three minutes to "The David" and less than ten minutes to the Duomo. The cost of the room was far less than others with similar descriptions, another major plus.
We enjoyed breakfast each morning in a beautiful room with a helpful, courteous staff.
My daughter will be visiting Florence in the near future and will of course be staying at the Hotel Orto De Medici. I highly recommend this hotel to all, both for its value and the overall wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We loved the "Garden Rooms".
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Stuart R ,
Thanks for this great review! I am so glad to read how you fully enjoyed your time in Florence, and we are happy we could help that.
Will see you next year then (if not before!) Thank you!!!!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Florence
#30 Family Hotel in Florence
#46 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, T4B, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Orto De Medici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.