We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate Accomodations in An Historic Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Orto De Medici

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Orto De Medici to your Saves list
Hotel Orto De Medici
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Gallo, 30, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #48 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Evanston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“First Rate Accomodations in An Historic Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

This is a real “hotel” unlike some of the other places we stayed at in Italy, so it is hard to compare. It did not feel very personal or intimate, yet I don’t think it was attempting to be so. Very high level of service, with everyone super-fluent in English. The hotel has many amenities, including reading room, computers, pervasive free Wi-Fi, gorgeous garden/patio area (albeit with aggressive pigeons). Can’t quite get to the fifth star on this one, even though it was nice. I think it comes down to not feeling very personal. I never learned the names of the people at the front desk, nor did they learn mine.

Pros — Historic building. Large and grand rooms. Very quiet. Varied breakfast with fresh juice. High levels of service. Very near Academia (David) and San Marco (Fra Angelico and Savonarola). On the site of the garden in which Michelangelo was “discovered” by Lorenzo the Magnificent.

Cons — A bit off the path for Florence. Long walk from train station and always a bit of a trek home each evening. Not very personal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear ErwinMulherns,
Thanks for your nice review.We all read your review at the staff and were happy to see how you enjoyed many feature of the hotel. About the names, it is really had to memorize all the guests names, but we do remember faces and attitude of the people. I've been working here for years and I can immediately recognize a guest when he/she comes back. So I hope to recognize you too at your next stop in Florence. And yes please teach me your name, mine is Francesco.
Thank you
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    382
    76
    18
    15
See reviews for
244
634
55
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel is a lovely and comfortable place. The building preserve the traditional arquitecture of Firenze. Their rooms are enormous and incredible, with a spacious bathroom. The common areas are beautiful, the breakfast room is a big place with a magnificent terrace where the sun shines at the morning. The breakfast is very full: fruits, bread and bakery, cheese, cereals, jam and Nutella, a lot of kinds of cofee, juices, all delicious and fresh. And a special mention for the staff, all of them are hepful, very kind, always attentive to the needs of the passenger. I very pleased to recomend this great hotel sited in a splendid city.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Great review! Thank you for taking the time to write it. We hope you can come back as our guest soon. Thank you for recommending.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

What a great hotel! I would definitely stay here when I return to Florence. The courtyard/garden was the biggest highlight of the hotel. We had breakfast outside every morning and drinks there before dinner. Florence has very narrow streets, so a garden courtyard is a real treat. The staff were plentiful, well trained and knowledgeable. The rooms were beautiful - we had a garden view room. It was large and airy. Furnishings in the room were new and of high quality. The hallways and common rooms had beautiful antiques. We took a taxi from the train station on a warm afternoon and there were complementary popsicles in the lobby - a good first impression. They upgraded our sons room to be next to us at no charge. They had nice dinner recommendations. The breakfast was generous and had something for everyone (cereal, yogurt, toast, hard boiled eggs, meats, cheese, pastries etc). They had clever self service machines for fresh orange juice and coffee (cappuccino and espresso). The location was close enough to walk to the city attractions. WiFi was specific to different areas (first floor, second floor) and sometimes slow. A/C in our room was weaker than in the boys room, probably because our room was twice as big as theirs.

Room Tip: Garden view room was big with a sitting area and window overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
First impressions are very important. It's great we made a good one! Happy you enjoyed the free popsicles available for our guests at anytime.
Best Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The three of us stayed here in August (although during a major heat wave) the stay was perfect. It's situated in a great location. I know lots of reviews say that. But it really was. The furthest thing to walk to was maybe 35 mins away, which when walking isn't all that long because you're distracted by the views along the way. It was only 5 mins away from the leather market and stores and maybe 7 if that from the Duomo...which I must say is absolutely stunning!! We didn't use any transportation except to get from the rental car drop off to the hotel. Our room on the 4th floor was very spacious. Super high ceilings. Clean. Air conditioned. Quiet. Comfortable. Would definitely recommend. We thought it was a nice touch that they had Popsicles for the guests when they came in...and trust me after 38 degree weather it was heavenly! Breakfast in the morning was nice too! Have no complaints. If I were to return. Knowing other areas etc. I would still want to stay here. They also have a computer and printer for the guests which is nice.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for recommending! Happy you enjoyed the free popsicles available for our guests at anytime. Hope to have you again as our guests.
Ciao from Florence.
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West London, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This hotel is quirky (in a good way). Not your standard Euro-box. The conversion of old building into modern accommodation has been very successful, and makes for a tranquil and relaxing place for your stay in Florence. Wi-Fi well-sorted and included in price, breakfast limited but good quality, all spotlessly clean. Great location - although it is a couple of minutes (not more) walk to the popular areas of town, it is perfectly quiet. As you can tell, we really enjoyed it, and unreservedly recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! Hope to have you as our guests again in the furture. Thank you also for recommending!
Best wishes,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

After a few rather disappointing nights in Rome I wasn't holding out much hope for this hotel being much better. I have to say I was pleasantly surprised. The place had a nice atmosphere that really went well with the City. It had a cozy little breakfast in the morning. The mattresses aren't that cozy but we were generally so dead tired by the time we got back at night that it didn't matter. The one odd thing about the hotel is that it doesn't have your typical card key for doors. I got a regular room key and it had essentially this anchor attached to it...one of the people we were traveling with explained that we were supposed to turn the key into the front desk when leaving for the day. I would have been lugging that thing around all day if I hadn't been told that. Other plus is that it is not that far of a walk from the main train station. For that matter the whole city was easily within walking distance for most average people even while it was brutally hot (topped a 100 every day we were there). Public fountains aren't as numerous as in Rome but they do exist and we made sure to fill up regulary.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Great to know we surprised you and you enjoyed your overall stay. As for the key situation. You're right it is quiet heavy. We explain at check-in the key must be left at the desk every time you leave the hotel. Thank you again for the feedback.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NU
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Nice breakfast (included in price), can easily walk to any of the major attractions. Staff was friendly and accommodating. The junior suite is quite large (bigger than some studio apartments), and the double is still a very adequate size. Beautiful courtyard. Grocery and other shopping are nearby, on the same street. In-room wifi was good. In-room refrigerator with mini-bar. Very nice bathrooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you Ender_OSC for wiritng a review. Glad you had a nice stay.
Ciao from Florence!
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Business Hotel in Florence
#31 Family Hotel in Florence
#43 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, T4B, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Orto De Medici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.