We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean and convenient location...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Orto De Medici

Save Saved
You added Hotel Orto De Medici to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Orto De Medici
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Gallo, 30, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #44 of 461 hotels in Florence
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very clean and convenient location...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Overall, our stay was very pleasant; however, make sure that you confirm that you will have air conditioning in your room! Before booking this hotel, we thoroughly searched the internet and did plenty of research on hotels in Florence that specifically had air conditioning available. Orto de Medici’s website specifically stated “air conditioning” as one of their amenities. Nowhere on their website do they state that air conditioning is only available during certain dates/months. When we arrived at the hotel, the nice gentlemen at the front desk that checked us in told us that the A/C would not be available until a particular date. Only after voicing my disappointment and letting him know that I found their website to be deceiving did he email and call “the manager” several times to authorize maintenance to turn on our room A/C. After several hours, our room A/C was turned on.
We were given a very nice small but adequate room that was completely remodeled. It had 2 very comfortable twin beds and a very nice spa like bathroom with plenty of water pressure and hot water. The room was very clean and having an interior location, it was very quiet. The only thing I would like to suggest is that the rooms be supplied with a coffee/tea maker. We had to keep bothering the front desk folks for hot water to make our tea which they very graciously provided.
Breakfast is served on the 1st floor and was really good with plenty of everything including freshly squeezed orange juice and an awesome coffee machine. The ladies that work the breakfast room are extremely hard working, attentive and very friendly. They also happen to be the ladies that clean the rooms (we loved Teodora!) The one thing that I would suggest is to add some hot foods to the breakfast menu.
The front desk folks are friendly and very helpful plus speak perfect English. The lobby is very beautifully furnished and provides 2 new Apple computers with a printer for guests to use. Also, the hotel provides great free WIFI in the rooms.

The location was excellant as we were just a 5 minute walk to Piazza San Marco as well as 10-15 min walk to most attractions. All in all we would stay here again, assuming of course, we were guaranteed air conditioning.

Room Tip: The rooms that are not remodeled are a little drab looking. Ask for a remodeled room. Also ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Madame, thanks for your long review! I am glad how you underlined we take care of all the requests, doing our best to satisfy them all. A few weeks of April are in balance between hot and cold, so it is not easy to select the perfect day to do the switch from Winter to Summer climate regulation. I thank you for all the positive features you listed: the decoration of the room, the staff, the cleaning, the breakfast, the lobby...
Grazie grazie! We hope to see you back soon.
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    716
    353
    72
    17
    14
See reviews for
229
594
53
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northern NJ
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent a long weekend in Florence and Orto De Medici turned out to be a great choice. The room was small but very nice with a lovely, albeit petite, balcony and a nicely designed marble bathroom with a huge opening window that I liked. The staff was very nice, spoke excellent English and made some superb restaurant recommendations. The breakfast was very nice, although exactly the same thing daily, but good. Perhaps the best thing about the hotel is its location on a quiet side street close in San Lorenzo just off Piazza San Marco, yet 5 minutes to the busy central section, a few minutes from the Accademia, 7 minutes to the Duomo, 12 to the Uffizi, 15 minutes to Ponte Vecchio bridge and 20 minutes to the Pitti Palace in terms of walking distance.
The only reason for the lack of a fifth star was the price- the best online price with full upfront for the "superior room" was E220 (early May), that I thought was a bit steep this early in the season.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room, the balcony is a great asset, and it was really quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
I really appreciate your feedback, with precious suggestions to next travellers. Thanks for the list of popular destinations you can easily reach walking from the hotel. As regards the prices, season starts in Florence after Easter (this year March 31st), so May is not "early" but the core of the season. But I will tell you a secret: our website offers dynamic rates, so the earlier you book the better offer you can find, as happens with airline companies.
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BELLINGHAM
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We are just back from 2 weeks in Italy and stayed at this hotel for 5 nights. We had a lovely room on the front street of the hotel. It was comfortable and roomy enough. There is so much to like about this hotel - it's lovely, the staff is very warm, and the breakfast truly is the best. Those breakfast ladies work very hard to get everyone seats and have plenty of food including fresh squeezed blood orange juice. It was an EXCELLENT value.

The one issue is that there are two outdoor bars right next door. 20 somethings party there as late as 3:30 in the morning. The windows are excellent at screening out most of the noise, but every now and then a group of young men will sing or chant, and we would be awakened. Additionally, on Sat and Sunday mornings we noted the overpowering smell of urine walking up the street - drunken guys peeing behind motorcycles and trash receptacles. Sort of a let down when you are leaving in the morning, or coming home at night.

If not for the bars and activities of the patrons, I would consider this hotel perfect. If you are a sound sleeper, it probably won't bother you. You could also ask for a room in the back.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, ask for a room away from the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing your thoughts and opinions. Every review is greatly appreciated. I'm happy to hear you were fond of the room, breakfast quality and all the staff. I would like to apologize (even if out of our hands) for the inconvenience you encountered on the streets near the hotel. During your stay, there was a once a year event taking place called the "Notte Bianca". It is a celebration of spring, during which the city of Florence stays awake until dawn for an all-night celebration full of events. I can assure you that the noise and bad odour are not a regular or everyday inconvenience. We apologize once again and also thank you for all the compliments.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for two nights at the end of April to celebrate my first wedding anniversary. The front door staff were very helpful, and helped us with making dinner reservations.

The room I was in was fairly small, but i think that this is typical of Italian city centre hotels. The bathroom was a good size, and was very nicely finished.

We were both pleased with the standard of the breakfast and enjoyed being able to eat it on the terrace.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank you for sharing your positive impressions! We are all proud we made your anniversary such nice and hope to see you back at another anniversary!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bronx, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel with friendly staff especially for the price . I had a small but comfortable single room and it suited me more than fine . The staff and location were great . Free Internet and good bars / Cafes near by.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for the review! We appreciate the positive feedback and hope to have you again as our guest.
Kind Regards,
Nicki Sciortino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The Orto de Medici is in possibly the best location in town, situated on a quiet street that has a handful of really good restaurants and bars, but within 10 mins walk of all the major sights and attractions. We stayed in a garden room which was large and comfortable, with a walk in wardrobe and large bathroom. The fridge was useful for putting our own drinks and snacks in, although the minibar prices were more expensive than in Rome. There was a fountain directly outside our window and on a sunny day we could open the windows and appreciate the beautiful little garden without being disturbed by any noise from the road. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too difficult for them. Breakfast was good, but lacking perhaps in variety after a couple of days (maybe vary the pastries or offer different meats/cheeses every other day?). The orange juicer was amazing! All in all, we had a fabulous stay and would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Guest, thanks for the very nice feedback. We are proud to be the " best location in town" for you! You suggestions were mostly appreciated. I am glad you had a lovely time in the Deluxe room on the garden.
Thank you
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield Township, Michigan, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at Orto De Medici. The location was great, 5 minute walk from the street market, 7 mins from the Duomo. The staff was really friendly and very helpful with dinner reservations, directions, and booking tickets for museums. Beware, however, of a service fee for reserving your tickets to museums through the hotel.

There is a complimentary continental breakfast every morning on the first floor. It is small, and there might be a wait, but the staff is assertive and accommodating. We only waited 5 minutes and they served us coffee and fresh squeezed juice in a really nice lounge. Breakfast was assorted cold meats and breads, with hard boiled eggs, nutella, jams, cheeses. They also have cereal and fresh sliced fruit. It was great for a quick on the run meal.

The lobby is really nice and clean, looks modern. The girls that work at the front desk were also very friendly and happy to help you navigate your stay in Florence. They made two great dinner recommendations to us, and even made our dinner reservations (go to ZaZa's!). There are two complimentary Mac computer workstations in the lobby as well. For those that can't leave home without their computer... there is complimentary wifi that is fast and reliable.

We had a classic double room and it was a decent size, didn't need anything bigger. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was just fine. Although, the water pressure and temperature in the shower were very poor. Sometimes trickling out cool water after only 5 mins in the shower. Finally, when packing up to leave, I noticed a LOT of dust on the floor around the bed and in the corners of the room.

We would gladly stay at this hotel again, as it really has the potential to be an amazing hotel if they work on the small things a bit more. We did notice they are renovating rooms so I would ask for a new room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Madame,
Thanks for your long review. You suggestions are most appreciated, and I will investigate about the things you report. Thank you a lot. I enjoyed to read how you were very pleased with your stay in the hotel in Florence, and loved the breakfast and the staff.
We hope to see you in the deluxe room next time then,
Thank you
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Florence
#24 Family Hotel in Florence
#42 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Orto De Medici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.