We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“if i go back to florence i will go back to hotel orto de medici” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Orto De Medici

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Orto De Medici to your Saves list
Hotel Orto De Medici
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Gallo, 30, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #44 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Hasselt, Belgium
1 review
“if i go back to florence i will go back to hotel orto de medici”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

it was a very clean hotel with friendly people and a nice garden. A nice and renovated historic building

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thanks for the review. We appreciate to read you enjoyed your stay for the nice renovation of the place and the people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    364
    73
    17
    14
See reviews for
235
605
53
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We had a fabulous time in Florence, and the Orto De Medici was a great place to stay. We had two rooms, one for my new husband and myself, and a triple for the kids and my mom. The triple was a fabulous room, huge for the three of them, it was great!! Breakfast was great, and as I said the location to everything was a short walking distance. Would stay there again!

Thanks to the staff! 8-)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Dear Guest, thanks for the review. For families we actually have large triple and quad rooms, including a great Junior suite room, which can fit up to 4 people. We don't have connecting rooms, but the hotel is rather small, so floors have no more than eight rooms or less each. And all the rooms have telephone you can call room to room for free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

My family enjoyed our stay at Orto De Medici, which was recommended to us by friends. The neighborhood was handy to sights, the train station, a plaza with bus stops and the market. There were several good restaurants nearby that weren't too expensive. The breakfast room gave us lots of choices for food, coffee and juice and a relaxed setting in which to start the day. One day when I was too tired to walk much further I stayed back and read on the shady upper terrace, which was a welcome and tranquil oasis. Having internet access downstairs (two computers) was very helpful and there are pleasant public spaces on the two lower levels. Our rooms were somewhat small and a bit dark but perfectly comfortable, and the bathroom facilities were spacious and clean. We were never troubled by noise from the street or other guests and really enjoyed the sense of peace the hotel offered. Staff at the front desk were helpful and courteous. Nice spot.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Dear Madame,
Thanks a lot for your review! I am pleased to read you enjoyed many features of the hotel, especially the breakfast, which was recently reprogrammed, with more variety of food, new design of the room and a new welcome staff to help you not to quickly find the nicest table for you.
I hope you will have the chance to recommend us when your friends will come to Florence. Thank you.
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed for 5 nights on the deluxe room with garden view. The staff is very helpful and promptly. The room is quite, big and very comfortable. The breadfast is above average because it has much more choice (juice/coffee/expresso/corn flakes/fruits/prosciutto/croissant) than a continental breadfast in America. The only exception is the entrance of the door is a little narrow.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Dear Guest, I am very pleased to read your special appreciation for the choice at the breakfast. The breakfast room and the service has been recently renovated and I am pleased to find we found a good way of improving. Thank you!!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I stayed for 3 weeks, and would definitely recommend this hotel. Everyone was so friendly and welcoming, and always helpful. I studied across the road at the art school so location was extremely convenient. Its a short walk from the Duomo, and many other beautiful attractions Florence has to offer. I stayed in one of the deluxe rooms just off the garden, size was perfect and rooms were clean, bright and well decorated. I enjoyed the continental breakfast on the terrace, and staff were always friendly. I will definitely be coming back here, thanks so much to everyone at the Hotel Orto De Medici for a truly memorable stay!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Thanks to you for your friendly feedback. I am glad to read you enjoyed the stay in deluxe room. We look forward to seeing you back to Florence, then. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Our extended family (grandparents, parents, and adult children) booked three rooms for a weekend in June. We were very pleasantly surprised by this little gem of a hotel! We had previously spent a week at an incredibly lovely villa in Chianti, so we were expecting a bit of a let down. Not so. After returning our rental car to the airport (forewarned to avoid driving in Florence at all costs), we hailed two taxis ~ think NASCAR drivers on steroids ~ and literally flew to the hotel. After prying my mother-in-law's finger nails out of the back of the seat, we collected our luggage and entered the lobby..... ahhh, air-conditioned serenity, subdued lighting, and a cordial reception; a good start. Even though it was before noon, we were able to check-in to our rooms. Although all were of a decent size, the garden room was by far the superior choice; with upgraded furnishings and amenities. My favorite feature of the Hotel was the interior garden courtyard (with fountain, terraces and lounge chairs with umbrellas), a fantastic respite from the bustling city, just a stones throw away. Great location, a block from San Marco Plaza, and two from Accademia; ten minute walk from the Duomo, and twenty from the Ufittzi. A plethora of restaurants are within an easy walk. As an added surprise/treat, we sat down to breakfast right next to our down-the street-neighbors (had no idea they were in Florence) who bragged that "the Orto" is the ONLY place they stay. Hmmmm, it's a small world after all...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Dear Guest, thanks for your nice review. It was funny to read it. I just don't understand why if you say had a very pleasant stay at the hotel, you liked the garden, the location, the breakfast, then you rate us 4 out of 5 points.. Just curious. Maybe it was a mistake, but the most important this is to read you nice memories of Florence, with a lot of suggestions for next guests. Thank you!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed here for four nights and had a great time, breakfast was wonderful, all staff were so very helpful with where to go etc.. free internet you cannot go past this hotel also good price

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gflorence, Responsabile reception at Hotel Orto De Medici, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Dear Guest, I am very pleased to read your special appreciation for the breakfast. The breakfast room and the service has been recently renovated and I am pleased to find we found a good way of improving. I am also pleased to read how you enjoyed the friendly staff and the free internet service. Thank you!!
Francesco Bini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Orto De Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orto De Medici

Address: Via San Gallo, 30, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Florence
#24 Family Hotel in Florence
#45 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orto De Medici 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florence Hotel Orto de' Medici’s location is ideal because while located in the “historic center” of Florence it is just outside the noisy hustle and bustle…which is only a short walk away. When walking through our hotel in Florence, you really do feel like you are in a classic and upscale historic building. The front desk staff is very helpful and friendly, and from the moment you arrive you are made to feel very welcome. Each room is uniquely and elegantly appointed, a restful oasis for the busy traveler. The bathroom is very spacious and the shower is wonderful after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast, with plenty to select from, is served in a cozy room that spills out into a welcoming patio and a beautiful little garden. The hotel lobby and reading rooms are a nice place to relax after a full day of sightseeing (plus free internet - either wifi or with brand new Apple computers). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, T4B, Venere, Expedia, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Orto De Medici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orto De Medici Hotel
Orto De Medici Florence
Hotel Orto De Medici Florence Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Orto De Medici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.