We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Rose Palace Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added De Rose Palace Hotel to your Saves list
De Rose Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Solferino 5, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #280 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

This is a lovely traditional italian hotel situated conveniently close to the centre of Florence. The staff were friendly, polite and incredibly helpful, especially Giovianni who even offered to lend us an umbrella when it rained. The room was clean and well appointed. Breakfast was very nice and again the staff were courteous and helpful. The hotel is two minutes walk from the river and about 20 minutes easy walk to the station. There are plenty of really good bars and restaurants nearby. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    76
    34
    24
    13
See reviews for
36
110
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. It's located about a 15 minute walk from the train station, and a good 20 minute walk to Ponte Vecchio. It's definitely an older European building. The rooms are small and feels older.

It's in a quieter area of town, so it's great to sleep in the quiet. Daniel checked us in, who was okay. His sense of humor might be a little off. We really liked the front desk service we received from Oswaldo. He was always cheerful and pleasant, and helped us make dinner reservations at a popular restaurant.

Breakfast is downstairs, and has pastries/croissants, break rolls, salami & cheese, yogurts, granola, juices, water. Lorenzo was always pleasant in the mornings, and he makes great cappuccino!

There's free wifi, and the quality is not bad.

For what we paid per night, we wanted more value from De Rose Palace Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel is a short walk from the river on a quiet and narrow street. Our room was large as it had a king bed. The bathroom had a whirlpool tub but we couldn't get it to work with the minimal instructions given by the staff. Another problem with the tub is that we were unable to release the stopper and had to call the staff. The breakfast was serviceable and the dining room was quaint, in a good way. We stayed for just 2 nights and learned that is not long enough for Florence.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The hotel was not what we thought it would be...it's definitely old...and what is that smell...musty...vintage....the bedspread is old and the sheets are itchy...I'm trying not to think about it. It's dark...the shower liner is old...the tiles in the bathroom are moldy. The floor rug is dirty in the bedroom. We immediately tried to get another room or decide if we should leave and just go elsewhere and forfeit money spent. I like vintage and all but I'm not sure how clean these linens are and the dead mosquito's on the wall...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here in may 2014 for 4 nights(room 302).overrated for 4 star hotel.some broken things (shower head,missing tail on ceiling.the bed was very uncomfortable. The staff are courteous and helpful and the breakfast up to standard.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

From the moment we walked into this hotel the staff was nothing but rude! Upon arrival, I started to spell our last name for the check-in clerk, something I do by second nature because our last name is a bit unique. Before I could finish, he snapped at me that he knew who we were. He gave us no information about breakfast timings (which was terrible by the way), wifi, or other things that are always explained during check-in.

Then, the next day, when I asked that our shower drain be fixed (it was clogged which was obviously disgusting), the clerk at the desk told me it would have to wait till the next day. When I asked him to send someone that day so we could take proper showers, he proceeded to tell me that maybe in our country (the US), it could be fixed right away, but he was not Superman. Clearly they have no problems making jabs at Americans. When I told him he was rude and that is no way to speak to guests, he straightened up his attitude and sent the cleaning lady to fix the drain, which took no more than 2 minutes. The hotel itself was fine, but if you're looking for a place that treats you with respect, don't stay here!

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The hotel is older but very clean. It could use some maintenance (no soap dish in the shower, tiles are a bit moldy, air condition didn't work). We had a triple room. It was large with a small bathroom. If you like the old world charm, this place is for you. We stayed there for 6 nights. Breakfast was good with several choices (meat, rolls, cheese etc) although the same every single day. Most staff speaks English. When we arrived the front desk person on duty gave us a nice map and explained where to go. The hotel is only 2 blocks away from the river and about 15 min walk from the main attractions. Nice, quiet and safe location.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to De Rose Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Rose Palace Hotel

Address: Via Solferino 5, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Rose Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a traditional Florentine mansion, in a peaceful neighbourhood just a short walk from Ponte Vecchio and Florence central train station, De Rose Palace Hotel is the ideal place to discover all the attractions of downtown Florence while enjoying a peaceful, intimate accommodation.TYPICAL FLORENTINE DECOR -Graceful ambiences decorated with handcrafted furniture reflect the traditional atmosphere of old Florence.WHIRLPOOL BATHROOMS AND MODERN COMFORTS -18 classic rooms showcase baths or showers and some with whirlpool baths, modern comforts including air conditioning, satellite TV LCD Premium with soccer and movie channel free.All rooms with Wi-Fi Internet connection free and kettle with tea and coffee.A PEACEFUL, UPSCALE LOCATION -De Rose Palace Hotel is located near the banks of the Arno river, in the elegant residential area of Florence's Opera House, just a short walk away from Florence's major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your De Rose Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rose Palace Florence
Hotel De Rose Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Rose Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.