We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet location, decent and clean hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Rose Palace Hotel

Save Saved
You added De Rose Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
De Rose Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Solferino 5, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #251 of 461 hotels in Florence
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice quiet location, decent and clean hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed for three nights over a long weekend in mid Jan 2013. The hotel is easy to find from the train station and easy to get to all the main sights in Florence by foot. The room was a decent size and clean. Breakfast wasn't huge but more than enough as a quick start to the day, especially good for being part of our room rate. All in all we had a great weekend in Florence and would recommend the hotel as a base to explore the city from

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelderoseflorence, Owner at De Rose Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks for the time taking to comment

We are looking forward to see you next time

Kind regards
Osvaldo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    75
    34
    22
    11
See reviews for
34
97
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The hotel is located in a quiet neighborhood one block away from the river about a quarter of a milt down from Ponte Vecchio. The streets surrounding the hotel posses some amazing restaurants (Restaurant Parione is my favorite) and some lovely shops. It is the perfect location to be close to the historic city center but not too close. We walked everywhere. The front desk staff were okay, not overly inviting, but we did not deal with him often. The room was lovely. I think it was room 305 with a view of the street. The room was decorated in typical Florentine style with a chandelier and heavy, gilded furniture and padded cloth walls. The bathroom possessed a single sink, toilet, bidet and shower with hand held water massager. They provided nice toiletries and good linens. Everything was very clean, but I must admit, when entering the lobby from the street, one is greeted with a nasty sewage odor. I don't know if this is due to the close proximity to the river or if they had just had a recent toilet overflow?? We just held our breath and headed straight to our nice, clean room.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room away from the elevator and on an upper floor. Street side did have a bit of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelderoseflorence, Proprietario at De Rose Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
thanks for taking the time to comment
We are happy to have met your expectations at our hotel.

We are very sorry about the inconvenience of the smell but unfortunately does not depend on us but by discharges of municipal sewer outside the hotel.
Although they are episodes that occur sporadically but we understand your discomfort and we're sorry.

We hope to have you soon as our guest
Regards
Osvaldo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
446 reviews 446 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 176 cities Reviews in 176 cities
525 helpful votes 525 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We spent a couple of nights here in January 2013. Arriving by train the Hotel is a reasonable 10 - 15 min walk from the station in a nice, quiet area.

The staff were very friendly - went out of their way to let us know where the tourist attractions were and pointing them out on a map for us.

The room was comfortable, clean and had a chandalier ! Our abiding memory was the awesome bath - jacuzzi etc - fantastic to relax in after a days trecking around.

Free internet worked ok, breakfast was served in a basement roon and was reasonable.

All in all, for the price a very nice hotel - no complaints at all. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelderoseflorence, Proprietario at De Rose Palace Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest

thanks for taking the time to comment.
We are always happy to meet the customers expectations
We hope to have you soon as our guest at the hotel

Sincerely
Osvaldo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Read tripadvisor reviews so emailed Hotel asking for double. Received 2 singles, expressed desire for double. Given new rooms with 2 singles together on wheels with loose double headboard. Totally ruined romantic nights. Beds moving and separating, headboard falling off wall. But the owners were charming.

Room Tip: Couples insist on a real double bed!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were booked into the De Rose Palace Hotel
We were welcomed by Carlos and Oswaldo they were awesome friendly and very helpfull they booked us in before booking time
The sad part is we never saw them again after initial book in.
The day of departure we could leave our bags and collect before our flight which was awesome
The hotel was beutiful old and just what we were looking for and very quiet
Will go back without hesitation
Renata Bindeman

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelderoseflorence, Proprietario at De Rose Palace Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your comment and I'm sorry for not having the pleasure of a pleasant meeting with you during your stay
I hope to see you soon as our guests and to have another chance for a pleasant chat.

Sincerely
Osvaldo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My 5th trip this year was in October , a Florence city break. We arrived at this hotel early evening, a bit down as my daughter had her purse lifted at the main train station upon arrival! However, the holiday must go on. The hotel looked like the pictures and it was in a nice quiet street not far from the river Arno. Perfect!. The concierge was visable as we entered, struggling with a suitcase while he just observed. He was grumpy indeed..that was obvious. We had booked a twin room. He mumbled you have a double bed room! When I complained, he, in traditional Italian fashion, started waving his arms and legs about when I showed him we had booked twin beds! He responded,"There is no problema, all the mothers are happy to share a double bed with their daughters." I replied yes, but she's 32 and it's not what I booked. He remained testy and dismissive and basically said we had to take the room as it had a small extra bed in it should my daughter like it!
He took us up and gave us the key and proceded to continue waving his arms about while mumbling in Italian. So we complied .The room was a good size( corner ) and looked rather like "Miss Havisham's " weding chamber. Riht out of Dickens! O.K. we were tired, we went to bed...thump! very hard beds indeed! There was no kettle with complimentary tea and coffee? We questioned this the next morning and they insisted there was. Well, as it turned out they claim the previous occupants must have stolen it. We got a kettle with a broken lid and a few packets of tea and coffee. This was never replenished in the 4 days we were there. The table upon which it was placed was never cleaned....we had to ask for everything all the time and the rest of the staff at the desk were also grumpy. The breakfast was, however, lovely. Good choices, cosy dining room ,excellent coffee and the young man serving us every day was a STAR. They should all be as nice as him! There seemed to be very few guests at the hotel so why they did not give us a twin room? All the guests were on the 1st. floor like us, and the hotel only has 18 rooms! I asked for postcard stamps one morning and this other gentleman ( if I can call him that ) got very upset, flapped his arms in the air and said " do I loka lika a tobacconist shoppa?"
Well excuse me, all hotels I have stayed at have stamps! This hotel is not a 4 star. The service is minimal and the staff in general couldn't be bothered in any shape or form. They also asked us to get out of our room on the Friday around noon as they needed to clean. Did he ask nicely? No ! It was pouring outside and we were not in the mood for "singing in the rain" at this point! So "De Rose" is not so sweet, but rather a dissapointment mainly due to the poor reception and worn out attitude of the hoteliers.
It's location is great, because it's on a quiet residential street, but still in walking distance of everything that is beautiful in Florence.

Room Tip: If you do want twin beds...don't rely on either the booking agent or the hotel. Call them and in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelderoseflorence, Proprietario at De Rose Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,
thanks for spending so much time to let us know your opinion
Sorry for the treatment received. We have noted your comment to the person concerned making sure that does not happen again.

Hoping showing our "human resources improved" soon please accept our
Kind Regards

Osvaldo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, NJ
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at this small hotel on a quiet street in Florence for three days at the beginning of a tour of Florence and Tuscany. The hotel is clean, rooms are small but comfortable, breakfast is very nice. The De Rose's location on a quiet street a short distance from the busiest areas of Florence was ideal. We walked into the heart of Florence each day and explored this lovely city. There are many restaurants near the hotel as well as a small market, laundromat, and convenience stores. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful. You can get by without speaking Italian.....but it helps to know the basics. Older European plumbing, in my experience, is always an interesting experience and adds to the charm of this hotel as well. Internet connection worked in the lobby but did not work in our room. I found a comfortable chair in a nook in the hallway on our floor and was able to access wi-fi from there as well. Arriving at noon after an overnight flight during which neither of us slept, the desk clerk checked us in early so that we could get some welcome sleep. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelderoseflorence, Proprietario at De Rose Palace Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Dear Guest,
thanks for your valuble comment

We hope to see soon again
Regards

Osvaldo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to De Rose Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Rose Palace Hotel

Address: Via Solferino 5, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#93 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — De Rose Palace Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a traditional Florentine mansion, in a peaceful neighbourhood just a short walk from Ponte Vecchio and Florence central train station, De Rose Palace Hotel is the ideal place to discover all the attractions of downtown Florence while enjoying a peaceful, intimate accommodation.TYPICAL FLORENTINE DECOR -Graceful ambiences decorated with handcrafted furniture reflect the traditional atmosphere of old Florence.WHIRLPOOL BATHROOMS AND MODERN COMFORTS -18 classic rooms showcase baths or showers and some with whirlpool baths, modern comforts including air conditioning, satellite TV LCD Premium with soccer and movie channel free.All rooms with Wi-Fi Internet connection free and kettle with tea and coffee.A PEACEFUL, UPSCALE LOCATION -De Rose Palace Hotel is located near the banks of the Arno river, in the elegant residential area of Florence's Opera House, just a short walk away from Florence's major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your De Rose Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rose Palace Florence
Hotel De Rose Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Rose Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.