We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of De Rose Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added De Rose Palace Hotel to your Saves list
De Rose Palace Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Solferino 5, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #282 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Wooster, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We visited Florence on April 2 and 3, 2012 and stayed at the Hotel De Rose. The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, and the rooms clean, comfortable and elegant. I would highly recommend this hotel. While you are there ask Carlo for a recommendation for lunch.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelderoseflorence, Proprietario at De Rose Palace Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2012
Dear Robert,
glad to know you're happy in our hotel ... you are always welcome and we hope to see you soon again as our guests
Best regards
Osvaldo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    79
    37
    25
    15
See reviews for
39
114
10
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Πειραιάς, Ελλάδα
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Located in a quiet area just a few steps from river Arno, very close to the Santa Maria Novella train station and bus terminal, and within 15 minutes walking distance from the historical center. Very cute and clean rooms, very helpful and friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelderoseflorence, Owner at De Rose Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
thanks for your valuable comments ... hope to see you again soon in florence
Regards
Osvaldo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mostar, Bosnia and Herzegovina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

A big deception. it doesn't deserve to have 4 stars. I would give only 2*. No parking, we had to leave our car in a public garage for 2 nights and had to pay 40€. Breakfast... I've seen better in HOSTELS around Europe.
The only positive point is the proximity of the old town (about 10-15 minutes walk). Do not trust pictures you see on the web site!!!! this hotel is just if you have no other place to sleep.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelderoseflorence, Direttore vendite at De Rose Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
thanks for your valuable comment that encourages us to continuously improve our services for our guests.
Unfortunately we are perfectly aware of the excessive cost of parking in Florence but we can not help it. I'm afraid but we are not to take certain municipal decisions
In this regard, with the current new hotel management, we have activated a special offer that includes the room even with the discounted parking.
Thanking you again for your comment and hope to have you staying with us again best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This was the second stop for myself and four friends enjoying a two week tour of Italy from South Africa. Having already realised from our first hotel that the Italian hotel grading system appears hugely different from that in South Africa - De Rose Palace was still quite a shock to us. To give you an idea, this would be like a two star in SA, definitely no where near a four star as advertised. Firstly the hotel is terribly old fashioned and in need of a refurb, and even has that old smell about it. As we checked in, as two ladies (our male friends were arriving a day later) - we were not once offered any help with our luggage. We eventualy found our room and once again were shocked at the size of the room. Having experienced lovely soft duvets at our previous hotel in Rome, we were now disappointed to see the return of sheets and blankets. In my mind, these should be banned in this day and age ... especially as I remember from my early hotel management training that blankets are not washed in a hotel anywhere near as often as they should be. Although the room itself appeared clean enough, it had the type of carpet where you did not want to walk around barefoot - really grubby and again that smell. The most disappointing thing for me about this hotel though, was the breakfast - it was as basic as one can get ... so much so, that on our second morning, we decided to buy breakfast elsewhere. It is also served in a downstairs dungeon room ... with smelly carpeted stairs to lead you down there. There is a toilet for guests to use down there too - but beware, it is not attached to the wall and leaks badly! The one good thing I will say about the hotel is the free wifi and not a bad location - it is two steps from the river front and about a 12 minute walk to the Ponte Vecchio.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelderoseflorence, Direttore vendite at De Rose Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
thanks for your comment
as suggested by you, with the current new hotel management, we are making radical changes that should definitely eliminate those drawbacks.
Thanking you again for your comments we look forward to having you back as a guest.
sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Me and my husbund have been in Florence from September 28th to October 2nd. Florence is one of the most beautiful city in Italy and this hotel made our experience more exciting.
The hotel gives you all the comforts you need. The staff is nice and friendly, the room was very comfortable and clean.
Each morning we could enjoy a pretty good breakfast. If you're looking for some good hotel in Florence I can definetely recommend it.
Kara and Michael.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

I have traveled many years for business and pleasure and I would put this hotel way on the bottom of the list. The room was good and was clean, but the staff was indifferent, unresponsive, uncaring and basically I felt that I was burdening them if I asked them anything, like if the air conditioning was working (it wasn’t), where to eat, how to get somewhere, etc. Also there is no place (except the warm lobby) to sit and have a glass of wine, no terrace or patio – there were places out in the middle of the street area you could sit. Also this hotel is a long walk to anything.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livermore, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel. Unfortunately, it fell short of our expectations. Definitely not a four- star hotel! Upon checking in, the man at reception immediately told us to write an excellent review for De Rose Palace Hotel. We thought we would do so, but sad to say, the room was dark, the bathroom was dirty and drain clogged, and on our last night, air conditioning in our room was not working and we had to sleep with the windows open. Location though, was okay, as well as the breakfast spread.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelderoseflorence, Direttore vendite at De Rose Palace Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
thanks for your comment
we consider extremely important the opinion of our guests.
Now, with the new hotel management , as you and other guests suggested, we've made some significant changes to rooms, buffet breakfast and everything related to the hospitality and welcome for our guests.
Hoping to having you as a guest to give the service and reception it deserves, please accept our
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to De Rose Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Rose Palace Hotel

Address: Via Solferino 5, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#100 Luxury Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Rose Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a traditional Florentine mansion, in a peaceful neighbourhood just a short walk from Ponte Vecchio and Florence central train station, De Rose Palace Hotel is the ideal place to discover all the attractions of downtown Florence while enjoying a peaceful, intimate accommodation.TYPICAL FLORENTINE DECOR -Graceful ambiences decorated with handcrafted furniture reflect the traditional atmosphere of old Florence.WHIRLPOOL BATHROOMS AND MODERN COMFORTS -18 classic rooms showcase baths or showers and some with whirlpool baths, modern comforts including air conditioning, satellite TV LCD Premium with soccer and movie channel free.All rooms with Wi-Fi Internet connection free and kettle with tea and coffee.A PEACEFUL, UPSCALE LOCATION -De Rose Palace Hotel is located near the banks of the Arno river, in the elegant residential area of Florence's Opera House, just a short walk away from Florence's major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere and Priceline so you can book your De Rose Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rose Palace Florence
Hotel De Rose Palace

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Rose Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.