We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a splendid and unique experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 1865 Residenza d'epoca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added 1865 Residenza d'epoca to your Saves list
1865 Residenza d'epoca
Via Luigi Carlo Farini, 12 | Florence, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 521 Florence B&B and Inns
Mechelen, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“what a splendid and unique experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

A completely different approach than a hotel: more bed and breakfast experience but so personalised and unique.
The rooms are absolutely fabulous and please listen to all the tips that the owners give you (restaurants, things to know about Florence, travel tips,...)
We will surely go again there and recommend it very strongly!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
250
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Staying in 1865 is a fantastic memory. Michel and Cynthia are the best host. They provide the best advice and nice service during our vacation in Firenze. Definitely I will choose 1865 again for the next Firenze trip!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

You will not go wrong by choosing this lovely guest home. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. You will fall asleep at night gazing at original frescoes on the ceilings. Michel and Cinzia are the perfect hosts, willing to help you with all you needs. To begin your day, breakfast is a perfect array of pastries, meats, fruit and delicious eggs. To end your perfect day in Florence, there is coffee, chocolate and a good nightcap. The Residenza d'epoca is truly delightful place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here early January with my partner. It was such a beautiful place. Huge ceilings, 2 bathrooms for our 1 bedroom suite. Just heavenly. When you arrive there are pastries, chocolates, proper coffee, cognac all sorts of delights that you just help yourself to in the sort of living area.

Breakfast was very yummy, lots of it and freshly made eggs and smoked salmon.

The hosts were so friendly and helpful, there is really not a bad thing to say about this Hotel

Totally divine for a romantic weekend away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paros, Greece
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Cinzia & Michel open their house and treat you like proper guests, guests of their own home. nice rooms, not too big but very comfortable, great bathroom, it's all about quality and feeling right at home. the best part of your stay there is Cinzia & Michel. Hope to meet them again soon and waiting for them to visit Greece to experience our hospitality, too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This small boutique hotel/B&B is a real gem. Located in a beautiful 19th century Italian house with high frescoed ceilings and only five guest rooms, it is on a quiet street a bit east of the centre of Florence and close to all the major sites including the Uffizi Gallery, the Galleria dell’Accademia, and many restaurants. We were there in December 2012 just before Christmas. The owners/hosts, Michel and Cinzia, were warm, friendly, and helpful. We were impressed with their attention to detail such as duvets for the bed, large bath sheets, full breakfasts including made to order eggs, and copious amounts of tea and superb Italian coffee – all to ensure our comfort and satisfaction. Providing complimentary drinks and fruit in the lounge throughout the day, and chocolates and Italian dessert wine and port in the evening added a nice touch. The Henry James room in which we stayed was very spacious with easy chairs to relax in and plenty of room for our things. The only thing missing was a table for our laptop. We managed without it, but I’m sure the owners would have been quick to accommodate us if asked. We’re looking forward to staying there again on our next trip to Florence.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed in the Jessie White Mario room for a weekend trip to Firenze in October. We had our 4 month old baby with us, and that worked fine. There are only 5 rooms so the atmosphere is quite intimate - the owners were a very pleasant couple! They had travelled quite a bit themselves and were more than happy to share their experiences.

The bed was very good, the room was clean and a good size. The ceiling had original frescos and the baby loved laying in bed looking up at them:) The bathroom was fantastic with luxurious toiletries (which my wife enjoyed) and lush bathrobes.

Wifi was available in the room, in the lobby there was a coffee machine, snacks and some drinks available.

The only "negative" thing I can possibly think of was that the elevator was a bit tiny, so we had to carry the stroller up the stairs, but that wasn't a big issue for us. But if that is something you would have problems with I guess it should be noted.

All in all we had a great and relaxing stay in 1865!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 1865 Residenza d'epoca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1865 Residenza d'epoca

Address: Via Luigi Carlo Farini, 12 | Florence, 50121 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 521 B&Bs / Inns in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive new guesthouse, 1865, with 5 luxurious bedrooms, has just opened in a historic building in a residential part of central Florence. Precious design elements combined with period features create an atmosphere of great charm and elegance.Each room is individually designed and furnished, and has a luxurious travertine bathroom, LCD television, air conditioning, free wi-fi. The mattresses, bed linen, bathrobes, and personal toiletries are of first quality, and all made locally in Tuscany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Escapio, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your 1865 Residenza d'epoca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1865 Residenza d'epoca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.