We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at Hotel Jane” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jane

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jane to your Saves list
Hotel Jane
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Orcagna, 56-58, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #165 of 461 Hotels in Florence
s wales
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely stay at Hotel Jane”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with friends recently. We were upgraded from economy rooms, so can't comment on other reviews about rooms And bed size. Our rooms were on the first floor and were clean and modern. The bathrooms were clean and fresh and showers were hot. Breakfast was a buffet with good choice, and staff very helpful in keeping things stocked up. It is a walk into town, but there's so much to see that's no real hardship.

The staff on reception were helpful and friendly, wifi was free and signal good, nothing to find fault with!

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    187
    71
    21
    7
See reviews for
54
175
12
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sofia, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were given the smallest room in the world. The bathroom was completely unusable. "Shower Cabin" is 40 cm wide and big man could not fit in it. Shower bath only glass partition and never could stand under it. Bathing with bottles. All of 3 m2 have tried to collect: sink, bidet, toilet, shower and stool. Disgusting. Never take economy room in this hotel. Breakfast! It was over at 9:30 h, provided that breakfast should be completed 10.30 h.
The only positive was location - a half-hour walk to the center of Florence. The road to the center passes through pleasant streets. We have managed to park for free, front the hotel, but only because we were lucky.

Room Tip: Never book the Economy Room in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This hotel is situated in a great area

The hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the 4th floor and was adequately large in size with a modern bathroom. Breakfast was fantastic.

There are many cafes and bars nearby including supermarkets and also a self laundromat.

My wife and I cannot fault this lovely hotel. Good value for money which means we had more money to use looking around this beautiful city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I prefer small hotels to the big ones. In the small hotels the reception guys remember you, your room number and your name. Just as it was here in Jane.

Benefits:
- Not many people in the hotel, so it is quiet
- Hotel staff knows and remembers you
- 15 minutes from city center
- Free WiFi
- Free laptop rent

Disanvantages:
- Weird bathroom. In the room 19 the level of the shower is higher than the level of the floor in all other parts of the bathroom. That ended up in water everywhere around after I took a short shower :)
- Tiny walls. Sounds from other rooms were easy to hear. However, because of there were not many people in the hotel, that was not very loud.
- Small rooms. Well, that was not a big deal for me because I booked it just to sleep here at nights. Most of the time I spent walking in beautiful Florence.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty Hill, TX
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I booked a 8 day, 4 city tour of Italy using an internet travel agency. The package they put together, on balance, was really good. In particular, three of the four hotels they booked exceeded my expectations. Unfortunately, we ended our trip in Florence with a stay at the Hotel Jane. I was traveling with my college age son. We are two full grown adults, and I am above average in height and weight. Even so, in the first three hotels, the rooms we were booked into were fine. We had to share a bed in two of the first three hotels, but with queen size accommodations, two adults can do that.

Arriving mid-day to Florence, we were shown to our room. It was clearly the smallest room we had been booked into on this trip, but the problem was the bed. To put it delicately, the size of the bed is such that the only way two adults should share it is if they plan to be intimate with each other. It is slightly larger than a twin, but that's it. After vainly trying to find a comfortable arrangement, I went down and asked if we could switch rooms, or even if I could purchase a second room. The place was full (as were two neighboring hotels) so we were stuck. Finally my son just ripped the sheets off the bed and decided to sleep on the floor.

The bathroom is also inadequate. The toilet is flush to the shower stall, requiring you to sit on it diagonally. I thought another reviewer was kidding about that. He wasn't. The boudet, if you wish to use it, is placed partially under the pedastal sink basin, requiring you to lean your torso at a sharp diagonal if you are taller than about 4'2".

Do not stay here in an economy double under any circumstance.

The positives of the hotel are that it was clean, the air conditioning worked very well, the internet signal was strong and reliable. The staff was also very nice; they just are limited in what they can work with. They had our cab waiting for us for a 4:30 a.m. departure, so that was greatly appreciated. The location is also relatively convenient to downtown. I would not call it walking distance in the summer heat, but it isn't bad. You can walk to Michaelangelo Park, which is very nice.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Room 46. Do not accept an economy double unless you are alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Although the decor of the room is a bit dated it is a cool artsy little hotel and the service we recieved was great. It's not that far away from everything but when you've walked around all day it seemed like forever. The rooms are nice and the AC is good. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This hotel was a very pleasant experience! The bed was comfortable, the room was clean and a good size, there was good WiFi reception in the room and the breakfast was very good. The shower is on the smaller size, but my 6 ft. 2 in. husband did not complain! The front office staff was very helpful. It was 2 blocks to a bus ride to the major sites, but it was free with the Firenze Card!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jane

Address: Via Orcagna, 56-58, 50121 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#87 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jane 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Jane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jane Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.