We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Satisfactory” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Jane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Jane to your Saves list
Hotel Jane
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Orcagna, 56-58, 50121 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #175 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Riverside, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Satisfactory”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

We booked at the Hotel Orcagna across the street, and upon arrival they claimed over booking and whisked us to the Hotel Jane. It was vacation, so we didn't feel like arguing. The Jane is pleasant, room small but adequate. The service was friendly. Breakfast was good. It isn't near the main train station though, so we ended up needing taxis more than we prefer. It is close to a train station, but not the main one. Pleasant walk to city center, 20 minutes. Wouldn't choose this place, didn't choose it in the first place.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    200
    77
    23
    7
See reviews for
60
190
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kfar-Saba, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel is located in a walking distance from Florence attractions. We have managed to find free street parking nearby. Service was very good. We have received useful information. Room small but very clean and convenient.

Room Tip: We had a back high floor room facing a big tree that was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We spent a very pleasant 7 days in Florence from 20-27 March. I can highly recommend Hotel Jane and would definitely stay there again. The location is ideal, hotel located on a quite street but within easy walking distance of all the main tourist attractions.

Our room (40) was large and lovely with a great window facing the street. The window kept out street noise, however I found the room to be fairly noisy from the hallway.

The room was very clean and wireless internet in the room was very useful and worked well. The bed was extremely comfortable and the lovely soft towels were changed daily. In general we found the staff to be very helpful, particularly Lucia at reception

The breakfast was delicious and presented nicely. The room has had a revamp since the photos shown on here - unfortunately I don't have a photo of the new modern look and wallpaper – ladies shoes!! New coffee dispenser installed during our stay, Americano, cappuccino, hot chocolate – lovely.

I can also highly recommend the restaurant 'La Taverna'. The food was extremely good and it was also very reasonable. It is only a couple of streets away in Via Arnolfo. We ended up eating there every night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Me and my girlfriend (both early 20's) decided to go to Florence for our first holiday last september (2012) and found the hotel Jane on trip advisor and decided to stay seeing as though the reviews sounded promising. The hotel isn't exactly central to the city centre, but if you don't mind a 10-15 minute walk, it's fine. The hotel is located on a quiet side street close to the river, and staff were welcoming on our arrival. Hotel Jane isn't what I would call modern, and has questionable decor in parts, however our room was clean and was visited daily by the cleaner. Our bathroom was nice, and we had a nice view from our window over the streets of Florence. Room size was small, but I imagine this to be quite normal in Florence, and furthermore, the walls happen to be quite thin. Nonetheless, these things are all minimal issues. The breakfast was quite nice, but nothing amazing, cold meats, cereal, fruit juice yoghurts and so on. The hotel is situated in quite a nice place really, as you're not bombarded with all the hustle and noise of central Florence, but close enough to walk along the river each day back in to enjoy the beautiful streets and river. Overall this was a nice hotel for the money, it was clean, comfortable, and had good service. If anyone complains about this hotel then they need to review how much they paid, as if you want luxury, then you need to pay for it. For me it had all I could want, and besides, you will be spending 90% of your day out seeing Florence and eating its beautiful foods! The only little issues I had was that there wasn't any English tv for when I got back and just wanted to kick back, the wi- fi was slow/hardly worked, and last but not least one or two Mosquitos somehow always managed to into our room which did manage to bite us a few times. Again these moans are all trivial really, hotel Jane is a lovely hotel which I would recommend to anyone wanting to stay in Florence on a budget.

Room Tip: Go on the higher floors, as the views can be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We found this lovely hotel in Florence on Tripadvisor. The place, located in a quiet neighborhood, was very comfortable and homely.

We reached the hotel by taking Bus No 14 from the Firenze station and got off at the second bus stop on Via Arnoflo. The gentleman on the reception was kind enough to let us check-in before the actual check in time. We found the room to be simple but clean and comfortable. However, we felt that the rooms were a bit small in size - but this didn't really pose any problem for us. The bathroom was very clean and spacious. The hotel provided a nice and healthy breakfast which was a plus point. The wifi connectivity was also very good. Overall, I would say that Hotel Jane is a perfect option for an economical traveler. I would highly recommend this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Super charming, clean, great location, breakfast was good! We stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed ourselves. We didn't have a problem with it, but the bathroom and shower were tiny. Unless you are a larger person, I wouldn't make this a deal breaker, because for the value it was great and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Very clean and comfortable hotel. Nice furniture. Breakfast served in the morning. Located near a busy street with lots of restaurants and trendy shops. Went by foot to the historical center (15-30 minutes walk).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
giona64, Responsabile reception at Hotel Jane, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank so much for your nice review!
We hope to welcoming you again at Hotel Jane.
We wish you all the best.
All the Staff
Hotel Jane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Jane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jane

Address: Via Orcagna, 56-58, 50121 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Florence
#114 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Jane 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Jane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jane Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Jane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.