We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Argentina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Argentina to your Saves list
Hotel Argentina
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Curtatone 12, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #407 of 460 Hotels in Florence
england
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Spent 3 nights here in May. Having stayed in various other hotels in Florence we opted for this as it's away from the centre ( 10 min walk) and the noise from the bells of the Duomo. Reception staff friendly. Our room was quite large, clean and comfy. Breakfast was ok for what we paid. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    39
    50
    60
    73
See reviews for
29
89
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cancún, Quintana Roo, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I was going through all the reviews of this hotel, and I´m surprised of all the negative ones. My friend and I spent two nights in Hotel Courtatone and had a great experience. Our room was very spacious we had a king size bed, we even had a balcony from where you could see the river. The bathroom was perfect as well. It is located like 10 min walking from the Santa Maria Nouvona Train Station, and about 15 from the town center.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Having read the negative reviews, I was more than a little worried until I got there!
Yes the room was fairly small,and faced the rear courtyard. The air con did work, and the room staued cool all day. Fantastic continental breakfast and as much tea/coffee as equired with ikt.
The shower room had been decorated recently and was more than adequate. Sheets and towels day and toileteries replaced. To be really honest, this was possibly the best value hotel we have ever stayed in. Not the most luxurious, but staff friendly and helpful and the room very clean. Couldn't do better for the price. Also only 5 minutes walk from main station. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you like quiet, room 110!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We arrived at 11.30 pm (as warned when booked) but were not expected, We had booked a 2 double bedded room but it wasnt what we got.After some mulling over we were put into room 13 which was an internal room (very depressing) We asked to be moved the following morning, as the room was dimly lit the fridge did not work and and we had a view of a wall. We went to room 7 but although it was brighter it still wasnt what we had booked, basic no t.v the noise from the road at night was ongoing. Very disappointed as it put a damper on our trip to such a beautiful city. Also we gave up on breakfast, by 8.30am apart from a couple of croissants there was no choice, not good. Definately not what we were told we were getting, Such a shame!!

Room Tip: Make sure you're aware of what the room consists of before booking,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Florence hotels

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Air conditioning was broken in our room, not going to cut it for summer in Florence. In addiont, room seemed in poor condition. Clean, but everything was old. Missing handles in the bathroom. Overall, the hotel did seem to spend anything on upkeep. Would not go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

If you can't stand the heat, stay out of THIS kitchen! Though our room had an air conditioner, the fact that it didn't work was of little concern to the staff.
Not recommended and would not stay here again...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

This hotel needs a major refurb. The room was very clean but there were too many issues that need little to sort out. There were tiles missing on the bathroom floor, loose wall paper, very old in- room tv not working as well as the socket, air conditioning unit was present but not working, unable to access hotel free wifi from the rooms, loose chandelier fixing. Also the breakfast was very poor with stale croissants and a self service coffee machine making the worst coffee I have ever tasted. We ended up having our breakfast at the bar by the hotel.
We were also asked to pay a staying tax of 3 euros each per night which was not advertised anywhere when we booked and certainly not made aware when we arrived.
Overall this is at one star hotel, the staff was courteous and the room was very clean but they need to invest some money in bringing the rooms to the 21st century.
Location wise the hotel is around 15 minutes walk from the centre and about 5 mins from the main station of Santa Maria Novella.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Argentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Argentina

Address: Via Curtatone 12, 50123 Florence, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #407 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Argentina 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Argentina was designed to make your stay a memorable one: in fact, in our establishment you will find a very friendly and relaxing atmosphere as well as the very best service, at the very best rates Florence has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Budget Places, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your Hotel Argentina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argentina Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Argentina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.