We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, wonderful staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Il Guelfo Bianco to your Saves list
Il Guelfo Bianco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 29, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #17 of 459 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent location, wonderful staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The staff went out of their way to be helpful. They complied with all requests couldn't fault them. They washed baby feeing equipment in the dishwasher. The wifi was the only issue it was slow, but this was not a real problem for us but maybe for business users. The room we had was a junior suite it was huge and accommodated 4 adults and a baby.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,239
    364
    57
    12
    2
See reviews for
401
833
59
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mendota heights, mn
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We arrived in Florence on the train after a day of travel from America and Europe. The welcome from the staff and the accommodations made the day long travels a memory. Loved our stay, location,staff. The only downside was lack of a shower curtain, but the tub/shower combo was large enough to not get floor too wet

Room Tip: Room 116 was great. Could use a shower curtain
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The location of this hotel is very good, near to meeting areas of tours. It is about 15 minutes walk max to the train station which is about 5 minutes taxi ride. Down the street of the hotel there is a mart which sells whatever you need. There is also a nice restaurant one or two shops away from the mart which makes delicious italian food.

The hotel rooms are vintage styled so some may find it "old" but it is ok and rather spacious. The toilet is clean. Do remember to close the windows if not the air conditioning won't work. If your aircon has any problem just call the helpdesk they are very helpful. However the internet is not good always get disconnected. You may need other means if u need wifi access all the time. The breakfast spread is not bad.

Some rooms does not have lift landing but the hotel staff can help with the luggages so it is ok. It is also quiet at night so manage to get peaceful sleep which is good.

I received a welcome email from the hotel staff before i flew to italy which is sweet. Although there is some hiccups during the stay, the receptionist was quick to settle the issues and are helpful. So all in all pretty ok. Best part is its location as it is less than 5 mins walk to the duomo and the academia gallery which is awesome.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stayed in the apartment for a week in July. Very spacious two bedroom, two bath (and I believe a sleeper sofa in the den but we didn't need it) with a large den/dinning area and kitchen. A/C worked great as did the washer/dryer combo. Hotel is located very close to everything but on a quite street. Grocery store a few doors down for any staples you might need. Staff was very courteous and helpful, rooms clean, breakfast delicious. A lot of European charm which we enjoy when we travel. Bar is delightful with a fabulous house wine! Look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Il Guelfo Bianco is a delightful old world hotel with all modern amenities and excellent customer service. My daughter and I stayed in a huge room with an ornately carved open beam ceiling, which also had a large, clean, fully modern, beautifully tiled bathroom with walk-in shower and hairdryer. What was essentially a fifteenth century room was fully equipped with a multi-outlet charging station, very well stocked mini fridge, room safe, and wifi (which was admittedly a bit slow at times).

Although it was in the heart of Florence, it was extraordinarily quiet. Our room overlooked a courtyard and, even with our window open, the only sounds were when other guests were talking outside on their balcony. Be warned, we could hear every word in the otherwise silent evening.

Breakfast was included and, as others have mentioned, it was very high quality with excellent coffee, pastries, fresh fruit, bruschetta, cheeses, cold meats, granola, yogurt, etc. all served with the most delightful attitude by the nicest kitchen and wait staff. This must be a wonderful place to work because I have never seen such a happy and friendly group of hotel employees. Almost without exception, they were welcoming and charming and nothing was too much trouble for them. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place and would love to come back one day.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My son and I stayed at this hotel in mid June and would highly recommend it. First off, the location is outstanding - at walking distance to most main attractions. Second the room was great - it was large, had a very good bath tub (a boon after the long walks during sight-seeing), was very quiet and was comfortable in every way . The multi-prong charger in the room was a great touch and very useful. Breakfast was simple but very good, with excellent coffee and hot chocolate. The best was our experience with Francesco who was super helpful every time we interacted with on advice on sightseeing, bookings at museums, restaurant recommendations and bookings, travel bookings etc. The only issue we had was with the night person at the front desk who was quite rude and not very helpful. But that was an aberration. We would easily rate Il Guelfo as the best accommodation we had in our Italy trip out of 4 places, all of which were highly rated by tripadvsior and other sites.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Service oriented charming hotel in the heart of Florence and walking distance from almost every attraction. We loved the fact that hotel made bookings for us to go see Statue of David and Uffizi with no extra service charges (just the charge of the tix).
We had a junior suite (Rm 338) and while it was charming it was not a suite but a very large room. Bathroom is clean but not well designed (seat is awkwardly tucked away between the basin and corner walls) and like most hotels in Italy, there is no hair conditioner in the bathrooms.
Wifi is very poor and contrary to management's explanation about bandwidth it has more to do with signal strength which can be easily corrected by putting more commercial strength wifi routers.

Overall I realised that I am not a fan of charming hotels and prefer more modern amenities which is not the hotel's fault as they do not advertise themselves incorrectly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear surpriseanddelight,

First of all I have to say I really like Your nickname. Than i did appreciate you admit you are not a fan of charming hotel and you do prefer modern ameties and it' s not our fault as we never advertised the hotel as a modern one. Our hotel is housed in two late 15th century palaces and all the Rooms are equipped with antique forniture together with contemporary art pictures and all the best comforts. We are not a modern hotel and we do not pretend to be.
We do not have here Suites: we have only an apartment suite with two bedrooms two bathrooms and a large sitting room. We have not Suites but 7 junior Suites (junior Suites do not offer two separate rooms if not they were Suites)
Regarding the bathrooms: right no air condition in the bathroom (it 's the only part of the rooms not air conditioned - well i travel quite often but i didn' t see many places with air conditioned bathroom and telling the truth it happens just once (two with you) that someone complain in about it. However we will keep in mind your suggestions When we will redesigned the bathrooms.
Wi/fi: as I already wrote we have a God wi/fi system and we already added more access points in the floor but if it’s a bit slow is due to the line not to our system. However we had a meeting last week with three technicians and it seems we can improve it adding one more line and adding a switch (to improve uploading and downloading) keep faith .... You see we have all the customers always connected so we need and we want to find a better way to satisfy all of you

Maybe we will not welcome you here again considering Your tastes for modern amenities. However i wish you a lovely summer.
Regards
Antonella Rocchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Address: Via Cavour 29, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Florence
#15 Business Hotel in Florence
#18 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's house in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (11 till 8,30 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and T4B so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Guelfo Bianco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.