We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back without hesitation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Il Guelfo Bianco to your Saves list
Il Guelfo Bianco
Via Cavour 29, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Florence, Italy
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Would go back without hesitation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

This hotel offers everything you need to enjoy florence, and more. The staff are fantastically helpful and speak english very well, the rooms are well appointed and at the same time full of charm, and the breakfast is a very good continental breakfast - fruit, breads, cereals and yoghurt, juices, coffees, cheeses etc etc.

I was in florence for a week and wish I had booked our entire time at this hotel... We experienced 4 in total and this was the best by a country mile. The location is superb too.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,195
    349
    52
    12
    2
See reviews for
377
802
58
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Room was very nice. Hotel is definitely not corporate but had good amenities including a charge station. Lots of little nooks and crannies to explore. Decent location, blocks from the duomo.

The included breakfast was fantastic - foodies will like.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Chose the Guelfo Bianco based on the consitant TA reviews. FRom the time we booked 6 months ago until we arrived last week they have been rated at #10 and being so centrally positioned to most of the tourist sights are expectations were well rewarded. The building is extremley interesting dating back some 600 years with plenty of the remainig features like the brickwork in the lobby being well presented. Our room was on the top floor at the front and although the road is extremley busy day and night so long as the window is closed you do get a good nights sleep as the air com unit below the window does a very good job and is not noisy. All the rooms are querky to say the least, ours was very well decorated and kept spotless for the 5 days we stayed, compact ensuite with a large walkin shower nice and powerful. Stacked minibar and a very helpful multi connection phone charger but the room did lack any drawer units. Luckily it is a large wardrobe and plenty of space to leave to work out of 2 cases without cluttering the room. Breakfast really was quite a treat,quality service bringing you very good cappacinos and nice a varied selection of treats. Large bowl of strawberrys and cherries, fresh custard and chocolate pastries, paninies , quality fresh squeezed orange juice not the usual glow in the dark chemical rubbish, fresh greek style yogurt, honey is only a small section and it is being continually topped up the whole time by the extremley hard working girls. The desk staff as well as the resturant staff of the ajoining resturant they own are all very pleasent and so helpful but not in your face just 105% whenever you see them. The huge central market and surrounding stalls, the cathedral, the dome, michael, the station, they are all less then 10 mins walk. Great hotel choice, would not hestitate to return

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Our family of five (all adult age) had the pleasure of staying at Il Guelfo Bianco for three nights in May 2014. We had a lovely stay to be certain. Up front, one note: we would not recommend walking to the hotel from the train station with luggage. It is not far (certainly without baggage), but very tricky with luggage over the narrow streets. Go for the taxi! The hotel is a charming mix of old and new (the new art very interesting!), and we just loved that. Great, interesting ceilings. Not your usual boring tourist hotel. We had an issue with our air conditioning not responding upon our arrival, which Antonella attended to very promptly. The neighborhood is excellent. Convenient small shops and eateries are very close by. The location near the Accademia is perfect, and it is such a short walk to the Piazza della Signoria, Uffizi Gallery, Duomo, Arno, etc. The front desk staff is welcoming and helpful in every way. We were advised as to restaurants, both in the neighborhood and in other areas of the city, amenities, bus routes for a trip to Siena, etc. One restaurant recommendation in particular was just fantastic, and a highlight of our stay! Grazie mille Francesco!! Giulia was so helpful arranging our transportation via two taxis (with lots of luggage) to the train station upon our departure. All was a breeze. The breakfasts, with the incredible bruschetta (tomatoes and fresh mozzarella that made our hearts sing!), fresh fruit, delicious café, prosciutto, pastry, etc. were just excellent and incredibly fresh. Upon our departure, in haste, my husband neglected to hand in the room key for our second room. We realized this upon our arrival at the train station, and felt terrible. We called the hotel and between conversations with Giulia and Antonella, arranged to leave the key with the Tabacchi store at the rail station. When last we spoke, Giulia said her father was on the way to retrieve the key!! So sorry for the hassles, and many thanks for all your assistance. A very good stay in Firenze!

Warmest regards,

Jerry, Elise, Alex, Anna, Sal

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

This was a very fun place to stay with very interesting rooms. It is only blocks from Santa Maria del Fiori, the Uffizi and most of the other things you would want to see. We walked just about everywhere and never needed a cab except for dinner. The staff was great and gave us some great tips on dining and made all the reservations for us.The only negative was that they kind of skimped on the bathing supplies and had no body lotion. Not a fancy place like some of the other spots in Firenze, but the charm of the room and the service was 5 star.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear The5mRanch,

thanks for your nice review. We are happy you did appreciate the charm of our room and the service. Regarding he only negative you found: it's true we have not body lotion in the room. The guests can found soap, shower lotion, shampoo, clean shoes , paper tissues ,and on request we do provide touth paste and touth brush and also sewing kit. All of these products are some of the best quality we found on sale (soap, shower gel and shampoo are all made with organic extra virgin olive oil). Never forget even if the high level of our hotel it's still a three star hotel we cannot compare our hotel to the hotel where your stayed in Venice where I think you paid even much more than here. I really hope to welcome you here again and thanks again for your nice words.
Bye bye
Antonella Rocchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Easy walking distance to everything you'd need to see in Florence. My friends had a room on the fifth floor which was very light and where you had to go down some stairs to get to the bathroom. The only downside of my single room was that it was on the ground floor with only one very high window so there was very little natural light and I always had to have a light on. On the plus side it was incredibly quiet at night as it was away from the road and I never heard a thing. I guess on a hot summer day it would also be quite cool. They served a very good buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our group of six just returned from Italy and spent several nights at Il Guelfo Bianco. We all loved it...our favorite hotel of the trip by far. The location was superb...near the train station, the Duomo and the Accademia. Our rooms were lovely...very old world, comfortable and spotlessly clean. The food at breakfast was lovely and the bistro food was delicious as well. We ate there twice sitting outside in the lovely garden area. Lots of organic ingredients from their own farm. Julia at the front desk was a pleasure...very sweet, helpful and pleasant. We would not dream of staying anywhere else in Florence.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Address: Via Cavour 29, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Florence
#10 Business Hotel in Florence
#15 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#39 Best Value Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's house in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (11 till 8,30 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and T4B so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Guelfo Bianco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.