We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Il Guelfo Bianco to your Saves list
Il Guelfo Bianco
Via Cavour 29, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #14 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We enjoyed our stay very much. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our 4th Floor, Double Executive room (King bed) was spacious, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was clean and modern with tub/shower, bidet and heated towel racks. Our room faced the street, which was lively in the evening but quiet by bedtime. Our sons' Twin Executive room was smaller and faced away from the street. The breakfast had a larger selection than other places we stayed -- croissants, tarts, muesli, juices, boiled eggs, prosciutto, cheeses, fresh fruit, and excellent cappuccino. The location is very convenient, with the Accademia Gallery, Duomo, and many restaurants close by. There also are shops up and down the street for sandwiches, pizza, gelato, and wine. We walked to and from the train station with a large roller suitcase, which was fine for us because it's less complicated, but it is somewhat challenging (and noisy) over cobblestones.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,195
    349
    52
    12
    2
See reviews for
377
802
58
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This hotel is indeed located in a very convenient part of the city. About 10-15 minutes walk from the main train station and 3-5 minutes to the Duomo. The front desk staff were all friendly and willing to help. Room size was decent and room decor was average (not that attractive maybe this is just personal taste). Breakfast offering was basic with limited choices.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Lovely hotel, well laid out spacious room compared to most at this price point. The breakfast buffet was included and while simple continental still, was still nice (we had the pastries with nutella and a granola parfait each day - no omelets/warm items). Location was really superb and it was an easy walk to anywhere we wanted. The room and hotel were pretty quiet despite being on a busy street. Note - with any roller luggage of size beyond a small carry on, this is not an easy walk from the train station as others indicated on reviews. Take a cab (we walked once, cabbed it once) - cost us 10 euros and that was with 2 medium/larger sized bags for the pair of us. The service is top notch here and they go out of the way. -1 star purely for the slow and unreliable WiFi, and the slippery bathroom floor (if you put towels on it) while not providing slippers. Again, overall, very much worth the stay and we were very happy. But given we gave 5 stars to others like the Hotel Barocco in Rome, this was a notch below that but again still excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear SRS144A,

thanks for your revie I am very happy you did appreciate our servic. About the breakfast we do offer a buffet breakfast with all high quality products, many of them organic. On the buffet you can find boiled eggs but if you like scrumbled eggs or omelets we can make it on request extra charge.
our hotel is located less than 10 minutes walking fromteh train station so usually we do suggest to walk if people have not heavy big luggages Of course its' mucjh easier to catch a cab paying around 10 euros.
Our room overlooking Via Cavour are all equipped with triple glasses and double Windows and I am so glad you wrote they are quiet. In fact if you leave the Windows close there are not noises from the Street.
Regarding the wi/fi we do offer this service free of charge. We do have several access points all over the floors so we checked them quite often to be sure they all work perfectly so I am sorry to hear that during your stay it was very slow. We wil upgrade the system within the next month and we do hope it will work even better.
Well I really hope to welcome you here again to try to get a 5 stars.
Take care and bye
Antonella Rocchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had an excellent stay at Il Guelfo Bianco! We had a very easy time reaching the hotel from the train station. It is only a short 10 minute walk. The location is unreal!!! We were able to walk to every single thing we wanted (and did) under the sun. As mentioned previously, you can walk 10 minutes and hit just about everything you want.

We checked into room 335. This room exceeded our expectations! The room faced inward so it was sunny and quiet. The windows are excellent quality and allow you to have true quiet in the room. The room had a huge soaker tub!! Our room was spacious and very comfortable. We loved all the high end toiletries - such a nice touch!

The breakfast was nice with high end good quality items. We also enjoyed the cafe next door for drinks and antipasti! The food mostly comes from their local farm and everything tasted so fresh and delicious!

Florence was our favorite city on our trip to Italy. Hotel Il Guelfo Bianco certainly added to us enjoying Florence so much. We had the best time exploring the entire city and using the hotel as a very accessible and comfortable home base.

Every staff member at the hotel was super nice and helpful. We greatly appreciated their suggestions for shops, restaurants and things to do as we stayed over Christmas. Initially we were worried there wouldn't be much to do over Christmas but were able to find sites and restaurants based on the helpfulness of the hotel staff.

Hopefully we will be able to travel to Florence again soon and will absolutely stay at Hotel Il Guelfo Bianco again! We highly recommend!

Room Tip: Room 335 was spacious, quiet, sunny and just perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My wife and I chose to stay at Il Guelfo Bianco based on the recommendation of some good friends who had stayed there previously. They could not stop raving about the service and hospitality they received from the wondrous staff. Therefore, we knew what to expect and received the expected superior attention to detail and willingness to help with any requests we made. The room had quality furnishings and a very comfortable bed (which is important!). We loved the old wooden beam ceilings in one of the two co-joined buildings that make the hotel, adding to the overall historical feel of the Florence. A special not to acknowledge the food service - they serve local sourced food, have a wonderful breakfast buffet, and provided gluten-free bread! The location is the best, located between the Duomo and the Academia - with the Uffizzi and Arno River a short walk away. I could go on; but will close this review with a simple statement: JUST GO!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Il guelfo Bianco was the highpoint of our stay in Italy. The location is amazing - two blocks from the Uffizi, three from the Mercato Centrale, maybe 6 from the Duomo. The hotel itself is lovely. Our two rooms were beautiful with beamed ceilings and the best bathroom I have ever had in Europe. The staff could not have been better - friendly, helpful and with a sense of humor about what Americans just don't know about Italy. The breakfast buffet was so good that we hated to leave and begin our day. Excellent cappucino. I am only sorry that we didn't stay longer in Florence but I will definitely return. This is a must stay place - indulge yourself, it is worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LB
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to all the sights. and the staff at the hotel were so friendly and accommodating. Antonella was excellent--such a huge help in our trip planning. We came to Florence as part of our honeymoon and found the hotel very last minute. Antonella got us a great room even though the hotel was booking up, and was flexible in finding us a room for an extra night. And to top it off, the rooms were gorgeous! If you are tired of small European hotel rooms, treat yourself to the apartment suite on the top floor. Wow! Wonderfully decorated, spacious, and even has a laundry room. Such a treat! We hope to return to this wonderful hotel soon.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Sona08,

so happy to read your review. I am glad you had a nice stay with us and really hope to welcome you back whenever you decide to come back to Florence. I would like to wish an Happy New Year to all of our customers and me and my staff we really thanks all the people who have choosen our hotel and who will choose it for their holidays. We try to do our best to take a good care of all of you and we do appreciate a lot yoru reviews. A big hug to you and to everybody.
Take care ciao

Antonella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Address: Via Cavour 29, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Florence
#10 Business Hotel in Florence
#15 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#39 Best Value Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's house in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (11 till 8,30 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and T4B so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Guelfo Bianco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.