We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Italian hotel with perfect location and excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Il Guelfo Bianco to your Saves list
Il Guelfo Bianco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy (San Lorenzo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #22 of 419 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
“Real Italian hotel with perfect location and excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This lovely hotel is perfectly situated, close to Duomo, Uffizi and Ponte Vecchio. It has a real Italian atmosphere with cosy rooms and very nice staff.
The service is really excellent. Being a celiac, I need to follow a gluten-free diet. Gluten-free bread and pastries are available at breakfast upon simple request.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aBelgianTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our family of four recently spent from 4 nights in Florence at Il Guelfo Bianco. We LOVED this hotel in every way. We had two rooms (225 & 226). Both were spacious, clean, comfortable, quiet (facing interior courtyard) and truly Florentine in decor: exactly what we were looking for in a Florence hotel. And rates are reasonable. The staff (Dario, Daniele and others) were friendly, helpful and fun. (Daniele, next time we visit, you owe me a drink for helping Fiorentina defeat AC Milan. Just having me think about betting on Milan make Fiorentina win 2-0!)

The free breakfast offered a nice selection. The breads/cakes/pies/pastries were delicious, and there is plenty of seating inside and outside.

Take some time (we didn't take enough) to explore the different floors. There is artwork, antiques, patios, and other surprises around each corner. Wi-fi was excellent most of the time. Once or twice it slowed down, but overall we had no issues. Our rooms had a convenient device that offered charging cords for a variety of electronic equipment.

Thank you Il Guelfo Bianco for making our stay in Florence truly memorable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Selected this hotel based on Trip Advisor reviews. I was not disappointed. The exterior is modest but the interior is a trip back in time. Rooms are quiet, comfortable and along with hallways are full of interesting art. Just a block from Academia and three from Duomo. Market nearby as are many comfortable restaurants. Staff was great; friendly and helpful. We hope to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank thom m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Lovely hotel, excellent location and very good service. The location of the hotel is very convenient for central Florence but although it's in a busy part of Florence the hotel is quiet and peaceful inside. We asked for a room at the back of the hotel and we were given a superior room with a view over the roof tops - very quiet apart from one afternoon when a young American woman was skyping her friends back in the US very loudly from her apartment balcony that backed onto the hotel. It was very informative about her life and time in Florence! Bed was very comfy and bathroom clean and well equipped. House keeping was excellent and done promptly every day. Good breakfast with plenty of choice and front desk staff were extremely helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Essexrosabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Value for money in a hectic tourist town. This is nicely converted old building with contemporary art on the walls and yet respect given to the renaissance structure. Charming old furniture and hand painted high ceiling in our room. Breakfast in the quiet courtyard with excellent coffee prepares you for the day ahead. All staff friendly and speak enough English to help in every way. A very quiet retreat from the noisy tourist spots outside. If I had a room with a view of the street I may not have left the hotel during my stay. Will happily return again when in Florence.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Drdavo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay. Rooms were nice and properly kept. Service was dedicated to the client and personalised. We especcially appreciated the advice and the assistance provided at the reception desk as well as the smile of the personnel dedicated for the breakfast. We would recommend it and would seriously consider coming back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PFLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Monroe, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

It is a great feeling to arrive at Guelfo Bianco. In just moments after our arrival I knew all the wonderful reviews were true. The facilities are clean and comfortable and well decorated. Our room was large(it was just the standard double) and the bathroom was good sized for Italian standards. Our room was extreamly quite overlooking and interior courtyard. The breakfast selection was excellent with fresh meats and cheeses, pastries, and fresh fruit. Items were constantly replenished, coffee was served at your table. The staff was helpful and friendly. The location was also very good less than a five minute walk to the Duomo, and and easy walk every where else in the city. If I ever go back to Florence I can not imagine staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Interior overlooking the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynneagro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Rapallo Hotel
Rapallo Hotel
#19 of 419 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,358 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#30 of 419 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,526 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#28 of 419 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
Hotel dei Macchiaioli
#37 of 419 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 693 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#8 of 419 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 3,073 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 419 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Address: Via Cavour 29, 50129, Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#18 Business Hotel in Florence
#25 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing