We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent hotel in Florence and walking distance from Santa Maria Novella Train Station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Il Guelfo Bianco to your Saves list
Il Guelfo Bianco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 29, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #15 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A decent hotel in Florence and walking distance from Santa Maria Novella Train Station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Walked to this hotel from Santa Maria Novella Train station with our luggage. Beware of pick pockets at the station! About a 15 min walk. Shared a room with two others. There was no lift up to our room. Had to take stairs half way..With luggage it was kinda annoying. Room was large, bathroom sufficient. Air con worked fine. Fridge in the room.Free Wifi. Got a free welcome drink for 3 people and a guide book on florence. as we came on the day the bar wasn't operating, the receptionist allowed us to use it and got us some drinks which was nice of her. Again as I've noticed in the hotels i've stayed at, no coffee/tea making facilities and the buffet breakfast was ok , nicer quality than the two other hotels I've stayed at in Italy. Walking distance to sights/shops/restaurants. Small supermarket around the corner walking distance. Pleased with this hotel. Had no problems.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,243
    364
    57
    12
    2
See reviews for
402
835
59
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The hotel was quite a small establishment but the rooms are beautiful and the location excellent. It's within walking distance of a lot of major tourist spot in Florence and the train station.

One should never miss their breakfast because there are excellent with variety of choices.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleepy Hollow, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed with our family, which included two children (11,14). The room was beautiful and accommodated us well. The location is excellent, a quick walk with wheeled luggage, from the train station. It is also well located to the Duomo and restaurants. The staff was friendly and assisted us in arranging a day trip with a tour company to Sienna and Chianti. The included breakfast was great as well, including a gluten free selection, if ordered in advance.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had a large room with a beautiful fresco on the ceiling. It is exactly the place I always wanted to stay in an Italian city. The location and the staff were perfect. They also have an amazing Bistro right in the place.We had a fantastic meal there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We typically stay at small boutique hotels while in Europe so when we asked our travel agent (Omnibus Tours, Salt Lake City) to book us a hotel in Firenza, she chose Il Guelfo Bianco. We were not disappointed. The room was large by European standards and the shower was excellent. Breakfast was more than adequate. The staff was helpful and courteous. And, the location ... what can you say? We were able to get anywhere we wanted by foot. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisboa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel is very well located and access by car was easy. We stayed in exceptionally beautiful room for 4. We make use of the available multicharger in the room. Air con works well. We got a nice surprise with 4 welcome drinks. The staff was friendly and very helpful for recommendations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galesburg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Excellent location, breakfast included, clean & quaint rooms, front desk reception very helpful and speak various languages.....we left our cell phone in the room when we checked out and they overnighted it to Rome for us! This was all done via email and they were very accommodating. All the staff was helpful and extremely friendly....they also booked our tour to see "David" so we didn't have to wait in line. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Address: Via Cavour 29, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Florence
#14 Business Hotel in Florence
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's house in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (11 till 8,30 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and T4B so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Guelfo Bianco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.