We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Il Guelfo Bianco to your Saves list
Il Guelfo Bianco
Via Cavour 29, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #15 of 461 Hotels in Florence
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cracking location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in early July and the hotel was great. 10 min walk from the train station, 10 min walk from Duomo it was great for sightseeing.
The staff were very helpful, and did all our restaurant bookings for us which was really helpful!
Breakfast is scrummy, and the patio outside is great if you fancy a cold beer after walking around the city
Would highly recommend this hotel.
Thanks!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,194
    349
    52
    12
    2
See reviews for
377
802
58
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed for one night. The room was immaculate for our family. The staff was very helpful with recommendations and very attentive to our needs. The breakfast was great and the staff was willing to make made to order entrees. I hightly recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlo.ablaza@gmail.com
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel couldn't have been more ideally located -- a block from David, 4 blocks from Duomo, and a quick, leisurely walk to everything else (Uffizi, Ponte Vecchio, and the great shops of Via de Tournaboni). It's got a funky style -- old and new at the same time, and the rooms are spacious and comforable. The staff was quick and helpful with our requests, from making restaurant reservations to having an iron brought to our room. The breakfast was plentiful and had great variety -- and the morning staff at the restaurant was very nice and quick to give us anything we wanted.
It's all the comforts of being in a hotel, but it feels like you're staying in someone's apartment. Don't expect the atmosphere of a chain hotel or a luxury boutique property -- it's more down-to-earth and homey for sure!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had a very large room for 4--a nice find! Not the most luxurious, but a very comfortable stay. The hotel itself is interesting with a combination of historic and contemporary. Breakfast was good and a nice outside terrace made each morning lovely. The location is perfect--just blocks from the Duomo and other main Florence attractions. The staff was very friendly and helpful and even arranged parking for our rental car.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Our experience at Il Guelfo Bianco was very good. Although considered a hotel, it was very cozy and gave the impression of being both historical and sophisticated. The location is perfect, very close to several major sights such as the Duomo and Accademia, and withing walking distance to everything.

Our room (junior suite) was very large, airy and comfortable for the three of us. The bathroom was huge and there were nice amenities such as a magnifier mirror, soap dish and plenty of hand towels in addition to the bath towels. The furniture and drapery really gave the room a feel of individuality. My only complaint would be that the beds were a little too hard for my liking.

Based on our experience, the included breakfast was generous -- various cold meats, cheeses, hard boiled eggs, fruit, cereals, juices and pastries, coffee and tea. Some mornings an additional waiter would have been helpful as the single waiter was very busy, cleaning tables, serving, and replacing food items. But, we didn't see this as a big deal and didn't feel that the wait for replenishments or cleanup time was terribly long. I noticed that some guest felt that the items weren't replaced in a timely manner, but this was probably due to the fact that the breakfast area was small and many of the guests loaded their plates up or had kids that went back again and again, depleting the supplies fairly quickly.

Lastly, we found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. They all spoke English fluently, made reservations for us (both restaurant reservations and ticket reservations for the Accademia and Uffizi), gave helpful advice and directions, and someone was always available at the front desk. I had corresponded by email with questions before we left for our trip and the staff was very prompt and responsive.

I don't quite understand some of the complaints about unfriendly staff or lack of cleanliness. As I mentioned before, the staff was wonderful (and we spoke to many different staff members), even the housekeeper went out of her way to bring us extra pillows and towels. The hotel looks renovated and was very clean and quite lovely. I should mention that I'm very picky and have no qualms about blasting hotels with sub-par conditions!

Based on our family's experience, I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This hotel surprised us, we weren't to sure when we entered how it would turn out but they outdid themselves with service. The room was a good size with a HUGE private balcony, the bathroom clean & functional, the bed the comfiest we've had so far on our European trip, the breakfast was good, the staff friendly & helpful, and the location perfect! ( San Lorenzo leather markets 5min walk away) Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craven Arms, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is just a stone's throw away from many of the main sights of Florence which makes it ideal for the tourist who doesn't have a car to worry about. It's in a 14th century building and is very atmospheric and quirky but has lots of modern art works displayed on the walls in reception, the breakfast room and also in our bedroom. We had room 201 which is large and at the front on the second floor. We didn't notice any exterior noise as the hotel has gone to great lengths to install two sets of glazing, traditional shutters and air/con. This room is big and has an enormous mirrored wardrobe which was easily 10 feet long with wooden pillars. The ceiling was quite historic with wooden carving and gilding! The bathroom has twin basins, bath/shower over, loo and bidet and a hairdryer.

The staff at reception were very friendly. We so enjoyed the welcome drink/appetizers in Il Desco that we ate there again. The young men who made the food and served us were exceptionally good. Much of the food comes from the hotel's own farm I believe.

There was free wi-fi in the room.

Room Tip: Don't worry about being on the front of the building: there's no problem with noise. Room 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dera Jan S,

I really thank you for your review and I am happy to hera that the room was not noisy at all even if it was overlooking the main Street . As I already wrote several times all our rooms overlooking the main street have a double windows and a triple glasses so if you keep the windows closed you cannot hear noise from the street. Via Cavour now is a 70% pedestrian street during the day so it's never too busy. However I did appreciate a lot you decide to share your opinion here so even many people can read it.

Thanks again for your nice words and hoping for welcoming once again here, I remain, Jan S, with my best regards.
Antonella Rocchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Address: Via Cavour 29, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Florence
#10 Business Hotel in Florence
#15 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#41 Best Value Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's house in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (11 till 8,30 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Guelfo Bianco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.