We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Il Guelfo Bianco to your Saves list
Il Guelfo Bianco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 29, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good, but not excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The good: The hotel was in a great location, and was filled with interesting architecture and nice antique furniture. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful and the included breakfast was decent.

We have several complaints, though. First of all, the walls were paper thin. The last night we were there there was some sort of school group, and there were drunken teenagers literally running through the halls screaming and slamming doors, and the hotel was really at a loss to do anything about it.

Though we did not encounter a single comfortable bed in 6 hotels in Europe, this one was the worst. The shower wasn't great, the showerhead was old and the bathtub was cracking. The original window did not seal very well and there was a cold draft right next to the bed.

In the end, it was a very good 3 star hotel, but a 4 or 5 star hotel as it aspires to be, it wasn't.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Dear Peter1652,

thanks for your review. As you wrote the hotel is in a great location as it’s located between Duomo square and San Marco square so very it’s right in the city center 2 minutes walking far from the famous museum Accademia Gallery and two steps far from the Cathedral. We are happy you appreciate our antique furniture and the hotel architecture. The hotel is housed in two late 15th century building completely renewed. We serve a breakfast with many organic products directly by our farm in the Reggello hills and a choice of very high quality products like ham, cheese, salami, youghurts, cereals, eggs and coffees cappuccino chocolate or the made express our staff.
Regarding the complains:
1) All of room our and soundproofed and I am sorry you had problems with the teenagers in the night. We do not works with group in our hotel we have just two a year a school group by a Swiss college but when we realized they were noisy we immediately adviced the teachers because we do not want any kind of noisy in the night around the hotel. However I have to say sorry if they disturbed your sleep.
2) Our beds all equipped with orthopedic mattresses who have been changes just one year ago. Luckily the owner purchases always the best quality available. We renews all the bathrooms in during the last year , changing several bathtubs and we try to be very careful to the general maintenance. Unluckily I don’t know which was the room where you slept and if you wish to be so kind to write an e-mail giving more details I will really appreciate it.
3) Even several windows last year have been changed and we checked them always . Our motto is: when there is a problem we have to solve it immediately so maybe it was helpful for us to know about it when you were here.
4) Regarding the star: as you write we are a very good three star and we are very proud to be a very good three star we never advertize our hotel like a 4 or 5 star hotel. We do not claim to be. A four or five star hotels offer several different services and kind of rooms which of course cannot be found in a thre star hotel. Of course even rates are not as high as a four or five star hotel. We are happy to be a very good three star hotel and we try to do our best to offer clean and spacious rooms and also service available for this category. I don’t know why you have the feeling we pretend to be a 4 or 5 star hotels. The ranking on Tripadvisor is not for the stars but it’s for the quality and the service offered. We work every day with passion to offer a n excellent service trying to satisfy all the needs and we are very when we are able to do it. Our goal is to make the customer happy and satisfy . We are so happy when we reach our goal 100% a bit less when we do not succeed but also the complains help to improve.

Hoping for welcoming you here again if you still decide to book a very good three star hotel for your next trip.
Best regards.
Antonella Rocchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,243
    364
    57
    12
    2
See reviews for
402
835
59
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Love this hotel. The rooms are spotless with an old school charm that makes you feel right at home. They are also quite spacious a light and the hotel has free wifi. The breakfast is lovely fresh and very tasty and the staff are so helpful.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I visited Florence at the end of our two-week vacation throughout Italy and found Il Guelfo Bianco to be a great place to stay. Admittedly, we didn't spend much time in the hotel, but were happy with the time we did spend there. The hotel is well-situated within walking distance to the Accademia (David statue exhibit included in this), the river-front, and the Uffizi Gallery. We would certainly stay here again and recommend it to anyone wanting to see as much of Florence as possible!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We got a room here last minute so we only spent a few hours here sleeping and left before breakfast. While we were there, we were given room facing the street which I worried would be loud, but we slept quite peacefully. Our room was comfortable and clean. The ceiling had a fresco-type scene painted on it that was a lovely touch. The front desk staff were very courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

They were very helpful in changing our room from the front of the building, which was, as expected to be, smelt of stale cabbage!

The room had cobwebs and light bulbs were missing in the room - the bathroom was modern and clean.

The breakfast staff were very friendly

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear 804Susand682804,
as I can see from the score you gave us you haven-‘t a good memory about your stay. I just wish to point out some info so they could be helpful even for all people you read these reviews. You wrote we gave you a room in the front of the building so I supposed you mean overlooking the main street Via Cavour. All of our rooms overolooking Via Cavour (which is 70% pedestrian are equipped with double windows and triple glasses so they are not noisy at all if the window is closed. You wrote the room smelt of state cabbage and I really cannot understand why. We have a bistrot restaurant into our hotel which is on the back side of the building open just where we serve lunch from 12,00 pm till 3,00 pm and I do not think you could smell the food from that side. Our chef is always very careful to be sure the fan in the kitchen is always on when he is cooking. What I really do not understand why you write “as expexted to be” . If you write me an email so maybe I can understand what you mean. It seems that our rooms expected to smell of state cabbage and it’s not like this.
Of course I have to say sorry if you find cobwebs and some light bulbs missing in the room. Our chambermaid are usually very careful and they clean every day all the rooms with care and attention and I am sorry your room wasn’t perfect as it has to be.
Our breakfast room staff thanks for the nice words you had for them and everybody here was nice and friendly with you.
Well I really hope to welcome you again in the future, hoping we can be perfect and get a 5!
I wish to thank all the customers who read reviews about our hotel here. We love you all 
Best regards.
Antonella Rocchini
htl mngr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenbrae
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed there on two different occasions during our trip and loved both rooms and their excellent service and hospitality. Great dining recs also and tips about saving time and money for museum tours and shopping.

The location cant be topped. Nice breakfast also with coffee to order!!!

Room Tip: 442 and 124 has a private patio!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We chose this hotel by looking at reviews on tripadviser and were very pleased with this hotel. Our room was large and very clean. The location of the hotel is perfect with it being a 10-15 minute walk to the train station and a short walk to Duomo and even the Arno River.

The staff made advanced reservations at the Uffizi and Academia galleries for us upon arrival, which was very appreciated. We also received a welcome drink upon arrival and were given recommendations on places to eat. The breakfast was just ok, although the only day we had breakfast there we showed up about 30 minutes before it closed so there might have been more choices if we had showed up earlier.

Overall we were happy with this hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Address: Via Cavour 29, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Florence
#15 Business Hotel in Florence
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's house in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (11 till 8,30 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and T4B so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Guelfo Bianco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.