We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Save Saved
You added Il Guelfo Bianco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Via Cavour 29, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #11 of 461 hotels in Florence
new york
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“very nice....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Although its an older hotel its pristine, immaculate and has great character. Very fairly priced . Only stayed one night in a large room with high ceilings. Good complimentary breakfast in the morning....would stay here again/

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,508 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,120
    327
    50
    9
    2
See reviews for
363
745
54
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This was our first trip to Florence and the Il Guelfo Bianco met and exceeded our expectations. We booked online after reading other reviews and recommendations. We purchased our tickets to the Academia and Uffizi via the hotel and skipped waiting at both sites. The staff was very friendly and helpful! This hotel is close to the rail station, Duomo and Academia and easy walking to restaurants. We would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We choose this hotel purely for it's close location to the train station and the main sites such as the Duomo. It was supposed to be our budget hotel on our stay as we were only staying for two nights.

Once we found the hotel after google maps sent us on a long route to the hotel we checked into our room. The room was fairly basic but had a big bed and a very nice bathroom. It felt to us that we were staying in someone's house rather that a hotel.

We were given a voucher on check in for a complimentary drink and a snack. We assumed it would be a small glass of wine and some nibbles. We got a lovely glass of wine each a plate of the nicest antipasti we've ever had with some amazing local produce (some of it made by the hotel's owners). Quality organic food is a passion of the owners. The deli that is part of the hotel is where we had the food and it was so good we went back on our second night to have another plate as a starter for our night and ended up staying there all night. It's one of our many amazing memories from our honeymoon.

The breakfasts use the same ingredients as used in the deli so as they make most of it themselves it was lovely as well.

The location is only a couple of minutes walk away from the Duomo, and all the main sights in Florence are just a short walk away from there.

I could not recommend it more highly and when you take into account the cost as well it's a bargain. Will make every effort to stay here again as soon as we can!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

This hotel is just 2 blocks from the Duomo and 1 block from the Accademia. It's an excellent location. The people at the front desk were very helpful and amazingly friendly. The room was relatively large and comfortable. I wouldn't hesitate to stay there in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

An excellent introduction to a fabulous city. The hotel was ideally situated, close to all major tourist attractions. Rooms were tastefully decorated with Antique furniture, ours overlooked a courtyard where we witnessed a local family playing with their dog, most enchanting. The organic products from their farm created the most delicous breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Just returned home yesterday after spending 4 nights at this boutique hotel. The room was bright, spacious and clean. The bed was huge and very comfortable, with the only slight problem being the pillows (too flat - just not what we are used to). At the reception a very pleasant staff. Definitely would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I booked a trip to Florence for my husbands birthday and after much research chose this charming hotel for our 4 night stay. We could not have wished for better. First impressions for me are so important and we were warmly greeted by the reception staff. Always a good start. Our room 225 was large and very comfortable. It overlooked the roofs and was so quiet we slept soundly with the windows open to e woken in the mornings to the sound of the duomo bells. Large bathroom with shower unit (no bath which is what I requested). Breakfast was a nice selection of meats, cheeses and breads as well as cereals yoghurts and cake. Great coffee and again fantastic service by lovely smiley helpful staff. Location fantastic with only a short walk to all the main attractions. We had lunch in the little bistro next door. The best lunch we ad in Florence. Thank you to all the staff who made our stay a memorable one.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Address: Via Cavour 29, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Florence
#8 Business Hotel in Florence
#10 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's house in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (11 till 8,30 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Guelfo Bianco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.