We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location big room nice bathroom great friendly and helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Il Guelfo Bianco to your Saves list
Il Guelfo Bianco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 29, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cedar Hill, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent location big room nice bathroom great friendly and helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at the Il Guelfo Bianco for 7 nights late in April. The hotel had great rating on Trip Advisor and a great location only a long block and a half from the Doumo. The check-in was easy and they provided our room by 1:30 in the afternoon. The room was large for a European hotel with very high ceilings. The furnishings were a mixture of older looking and maybe really old furniture. It had two large windows that opened onto the street but had multiple layers of windows and a shutter to cut off noise and light. More on that later. The bathroom was again extremely large and well laid out for a European hotel with a full bathtub and shower that had plenty of hot water. There was shampoo, bath liquid and a shower cap that were replaced daily. The room had a small icebox mainly filled with stuff they wanted us to use so they could charge us for them. I think all we ended up using was one bottle of still water until we could get to a store and stock up on some of our own.

The room had two TV's, one which was connected to a satellite channel and another that seemed to only get local channels. But we didn't come to Florence to watch TV so we only used them in the evening before and after dinner. There was a desk for setting up a laptop and a small table by the window that my wife used as a dressing and makeup area because there was not a lot of flat area in the bathroom. There was a makeup mirror in the bathroom but it would have been more useful over by this small table.

There was a lack of drawer space when you were staying as we were for a week. There were 3 drawers in closet and no other drawers in the room. The lighting in the room was also a problem as they were using relatively low wattage fluorescence bulbs which meant except for the bathroom or near the windows it was hard to read or in my wife's case put on makeup.

Generally the bed was comfortable and after I found an extra pillow for each of us in the chest with the extra blankets we each had 2 pillows. I guess I'm used to cruise ships and American hotels where the beds almost always are made up with at least 2 pillows per side,

The location was fantastic right in the middle of Renaissance Florence. It was about a block from the Academia and a block and 1/2 from the Duomo. Many other major museums and sites are also within walking distance and there is a city bus available if you want to use it for trips further afield.

The desk personnel all spoke English although some were better than others. But given neither of us spoke Italian beyond the absolute minimum they were a Godsend.

The breakfast was a very nice typical European one with meats, cheeses, breads, pastries, hard boiled eggs, fruit, juice and coffee or tea that was served to you by two great young men who really worked hard at making it a good experience. You didn't need to leave hungry unless you were expecting pancakes and eggs with bacon and sausage.

Checkout was painless but remember there is a 3 euro per day per person city tax you have to pay the last day of your stay. In our case it was an extra 42 euros.

The staff was glad to make dinner reservations or arrange a trip out of town with one of the tour companies. They also recommended the Florence card which gets you into most of the museums and churches and also provides you with bus transportation. We got it for 3 days during our visit and it cost 50 euros each but we got way more than that back in visits. Plus you get to get in quicker because you get to go in the reservation and Florence card line which saved time and allowed us to see more art than we would have been able to otherwise.

All in our we enjoyed our stay but if we ever go back we probably would consider staying somewhere a little quieter during the evenings. I should also mention we were there during their summer break for school kids and they were everywhere in big groups. We will also do research next time to avoid them as in general they were rude and loud in the museums and churches but then when aren't teenagers that way. I guess when they aren't in big groups without their parents.

Again all the people who worked at the hotel were great and we didn't bring the lighting issue or the noise from McDonnell's up with them as I didn't think they could solve either issue.

Room Tip: Don;t get one of the rooms that overlook the front of the hotel as there is a McDonnell's on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,242
    364
    57
    12
    2
See reviews for
402
834
59
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Il Guelfo Biano was selected for us as an accommodation for my husband's conference. The conference organizer chose wisely. The hotel was in a terrific location for exploring Florence, yet just far enough away from the Duomo maddness. The staff was incredibly helpful, the breakfasts were fresh and yummy, and the rooms were very clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: I would request a room that does not overlook the street. There is a McDonald's a few doors dow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel based on the trip advisor reviews and our fondness of boutique hotels. The hotel did not disappoint. The location is unbeatable - barely 5 minutes walk from the Duomo Cathedral and right next door to the Academia Museum (original statue of Michaelangelo's David) and within a 15 minute walk of all the other major sites. The staff were very friendly and helpful - the barman even went to the trouble of looking up how to make an espresso martini for us despite it not being on his list of usual cocktails. The room was clean and full of character and the bathroom was faultless. The only aspect that was average was the breakfast - a simple selection of breads and cold cuts with a few extras but nothing special. That being said, everything else was of a high standard so this did not matter to us. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Dolder, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

All Staff. Our compliments to you. From the reservation, receipt, room and advises and helping for reservations and tips. All comes together in service and service and service.
The room was big and designed individually like the rest of the hotel.
Good taste/balance between old and new.
Also the choices for quality in stead of quantity was shown at breakfast.
Not 100 choices but the best of the best in biological food like the eggs, the olive-oil, yogurt etc.

For us it is clear.
Visiting Florence the staff of Il Guelfo Bianco add real value to it.

thanks a lot.

Nett e Erik for Holland

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Netty P,

I really wish to thank you for this great review. You really understood our business philosophy : we work so hard to offer a good service and we are SO HAPPY when people leave the Guelfo Bianco with a good memory like yours. Thank you thank you thank you :-)
Hope to welcome you again in the future.
Take care and bye bye
Antonella Rocchini
htl mngr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

If you're looking for a first class hotel centrally located in the center of Firenze with first class service. Every sightseeing visit we wanted was easily within walking distance. Before arriving I communicated with Daniele throughout the reservation process, and he was very accommodating and prompt in all his replie including obtaining museum reservations for our group of six.
Everyone in our group thoroughly enjoyed our stay thanks to the professional staff, excellent, clean room acccommodations and the delicious breakfast assortment. Plus we were allowed to drive our van to the front of the hotel so that we may load our luggage before departing. I follow the philosophy that you get what you pay for, and in this case we got much more thanks to the professional staff and management at the Hotel Il Guelfo Bianco.

Room Tip: Although our room was on the street side, there was not a bit of noise heard at any time, and we hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluffton, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We have stayed there.several times and never disappointed. Perfect location ,easy access to Duomo and shopping.Lovely rooms ,spacious suites. Friendly staff, welcomingexcellent selection for breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here in April with my two sisters. We shared a junior suite and really enjoyed our stay. Very comfortable beds and beautiful furniture and lovely art work.
The location is excellent; we could walk everywhere. Lovely staff and we had a very nice welcome drink and snack on the evening of our arrival. Room service was excellent and the place is very quiet for such a central location. We found the restaurants recommended by the staff very good. Would def. recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Address: Via Cavour 29, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Florence
#15 Business Hotel in Florence
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's house in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (11 till 8,30 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and T4B so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Guelfo Bianco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.