We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Il Guelfo Bianco to your Saves list
Il Guelfo Bianco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 29, 50129 Florence, Italy (San Lorenzo)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #24 of 457 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Sligo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here in April with my two sisters. We shared a junior suite and really enjoyed our stay. Very comfortable beds and beautiful furniture and lovely art work.
The location is excellent; we could walk everywhere. Lovely staff and we had a very nice welcome drink and snack on the evening of our arrival. Room service was excellent and the place is very quiet for such a central location. We found the restaurants recommended by the staff very good. Would def. recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,311
    397
    65
    13
    3
See reviews for
439
887
62
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We spent our lovely holiday in Florence in Feb. 2013, we chose II Guelfo Bianco based on the great reviews on trip advisor. And it was all true, the location is super! Just 1-2 minutes walk to Dom, there're quite numbers of nice restaurants and coffee shop in the neighborhood, McDonald is right around the corner (just in case you have are sick of pizzas:)) The room itself is great, nicely decorated, very spacious, we stayed there with our 2 children, there's still enough time for them to play around... Hotel staffs are very friendly and helpful. If you're coming with car, they could park for you with some charges. Loved our stay there, and will surely recommend to anyone who travels in Florence

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We had a lovely room at the Il Guelfo Bianco in April. Location is great, as you can walk everywhere and it is safe but not too crowded. Ours was a front room and it was not noisy. The bathroom was very nice, very decent shower, good space, comfortable.
We enjoyed the breakfast, the front desk was always very helpful. We would definitely stay there again and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Before arrival, Daniele was very helpful in reserving entry to the Academia, the Uffizi, and the Bargello. Upon arrival, Fabrizio ( I think) saved the day by helping correct a mistake I had made when making the reservation. The Hotel is spotless, unique, and accommodating, with a eclectic collection of modern art. We reserved a Junior Suite and it was perfect, with a beautiful and modern bath. The (included) breakfast buffet is outstanding, and the little "deli" next door is absolutely charming.Do NOT skip the welcoming gift served in the deli. The young man, Sharms, I believe, was a highlight of the trip. Gracious and charming, and an authority on local wines, aged meats, cheeses, and produce. Located about equidistant between the Duomo and the Acadamia, it is also a short walk to the Uffizi and the ponte Vecchio. Walkable from the train station (SMN) without heavy luggage. I will return to Florence, and I will stay at Il Guelfo Bianco.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are very quiet. We were in #108 and very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my husband at Il Guelfo Friday-Sunday. Could not have been happier. The room was spacious & unique. The location was perfect, walked to everything. Dario at the front desk answered all our questions with a smile. Will definitely stay here again on our next trip. Should be more than a 3 star hotel!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for four nights in March. It had been recommended to us. The hotel was excellent. We had a large room and spacious bathroom. The staff were very helpful, the hotel was very clean, breakfast was plentiful, and we were well placed to explore the sights of Florence. We have already recommended this hotel to friends and would definitely choose to stay there when we return to Florence.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The service from booking to checking out was excellent. Consistently helpful, even pre-booking the major galleries for us at the last minute when we'd turned down the initial offer! Brilliant breakfast for me with gluten-free food readily available. Room very clean and spacious with very good bathroom. Location excellent - a few minutes walk to all the major sights. Food in the brasserie very good quality - impressed the hotel has its own organic farm. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Florence.

Room Tip: We had a superior room that gave us a bit of extra space. The bed was two singles put together, so v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Residence La Contessina
Residence La Contessina
#20 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 545 reviews
Uffizi
Hotel Alessandra
Hotel Alessandra
#23 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,461 reviews
San Lorenzo
Hotel Casci
Hotel Casci
#27 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Rapallo Hotel
Rapallo Hotel
#21 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,181 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Davanzati
Hotel Davanzati
#10 of 457 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,968 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Duomo Firenze
Hotel Duomo Firenze
#37 of 457 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Address: Via Cavour 29, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > San Lorenzo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Florence
#20 Business Hotel in Florence
#23 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's housed in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (12 till 10,30 pm but on Sunday it closes at 3,00 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Guelfo Bianco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.