We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Save Saved
You added Il Guelfo Bianco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Via Cavour 29, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 461 hotels in Florence
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Before arrival, Daniele was very helpful in reserving entry to the Academia, the Uffizi, and the Bargello. Upon arrival, Fabrizio ( I think) saved the day by helping correct a mistake I had made when making the reservation. The Hotel is spotless, unique, and accommodating, with a eclectic collection of modern art. We reserved a Junior Suite and it was perfect, with a beautiful and modern bath. The (included) breakfast buffet is outstanding, and the little "deli" next door is absolutely charming.Do NOT skip the welcoming gift served in the deli. The young man, Sharms, I believe, was a highlight of the trip. Gracious and charming, and an authority on local wines, aged meats, cheeses, and produce. Located about equidistant between the Duomo and the Acadamia, it is also a short walk to the Uffizi and the ponte Vecchio. Walkable from the train station (SMN) without heavy luggage. I will return to Florence, and I will stay at Il Guelfo Bianco.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms are very quiet. We were in #108 and very happy with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,100
    320
    49
    9
    2
See reviews for
352
734
53
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my husband at Il Guelfo Friday-Sunday. Could not have been happier. The room was spacious & unique. The location was perfect, walked to everything. Dario at the front desk answered all our questions with a smile. Will definitely stay here again on our next trip. Should be more than a 3 star hotel!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for four nights in March. It had been recommended to us. The hotel was excellent. We had a large room and spacious bathroom. The staff were very helpful, the hotel was very clean, breakfast was plentiful, and we were well placed to explore the sights of Florence. We have already recommended this hotel to friends and would definitely choose to stay there when we return to Florence.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The service from booking to checking out was excellent. Consistently helpful, even pre-booking the major galleries for us at the last minute when we'd turned down the initial offer! Brilliant breakfast for me with gluten-free food readily available. Room very clean and spacious with very good bathroom. Location excellent - a few minutes walk to all the major sights. Food in the brasserie very good quality - impressed the hotel has its own organic farm. Would definitely recommend to anyone visiting Florence.

Room Tip: We had a superior room that gave us a bit of extra space. The bed was two singles put together, so v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed at II Guelfo last week in a Junior Suite ( we have 2 kids ) and highly recommend the place. The room was spacious with high ceiling, antique furniture and very comfortable beds. The staff were very friendly and helped us with everything we asked for. The location of this hotel cannot be understated, 5 mts walk from the Duomo and 2mts from the Accademia. Uffizi, Ponte Veccio etc are all within walking distance. We even walked to the Santa Mara railway station with our wheeled bags ( 10mts walk). A bit expensive but most decent hotels in florence were expensive when we booked, hence this was well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I recently returned from a trip to Florence and Cinque Terre. While in Florence we stayed at Il Guelfo. The rooms were so charming, with antique furniture and fun art. The location could not be beat - just blocks from the Duomo, Uffizi, Gallery de arte, Ponte veccio, etc. We stayed in two different rooms (because we spent the middle of our trip in Cinque Terre) and both rooms were great. The first room was on the "garden" side and we kept the windows open because we liked the view of the trees. The second room faced the street, which was cool because we could watch passerby and even see the Duomo if we stuck our heads out. The staff was really friendly and even arranged tickets for us to the museum (free of charge). The breakfast was also excellent - bruscetta, cheese, croissants, coffee, OJ, etc. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Just had a great stay in Florence, at a good time of year, i.e not too crowded, and cool. The Guelfo Bianco is a very good quality central hotel, located about 5 minutes walk from the Duomo and not much more than 10 from the Uffizi gallery. The room we stayed in was a junior suite on the third floor. If you have cases on wheels it's an easy walk from the Santa Maria Novella station, best to take Nationale, turn right at Guelfa and then right at Cavour, and you're there!

GENERAL ATMOSPHERE
We found almost everyone in Florence to be extremely helpful, kind and considerate, and the staff at the Guelfo Bianco are first in line with these qualities. They create a calm, warm atmosphere which is essential in a good hotel. We liked the touch of the Welcome Drink, which comes with some snacks as well, and the lovely glass of wine was very welcome after the flight and train from Pisa. This was taken in the cafe area at the front of the hotel. Breakfast is taken in a room at the back.

ROOM
Very large (junior suite) with a bed probably more than five feet wide (better check with the hotel if this is crucial for you) and with room for a sofa in its own little area. There was quite a few old pieces of furniture in the room, which, while perhaps not being strictly necessary for a short stay do add to the antique quality. Good size bathroom and nice big bath with shower, not the cramped little tubs that you sometimes get in other hotels. A big sink, bidet and hair-dryer completed the equipment here. The room had a flat-screen TV with the standard Sky channels, though you need to state to reception if you want the ones that cost extra. For the linguists you have some English, French, Spanish, German and Russian channels for free.

BREAKFAST
A very nice spread, with croissants, pastries, yoghurts, cereals, and crostini, sliced meats and cheeses. Very relaxing and a special thank you to the breakfast staff, because after all, they set the tone of the day.

Get the Firenze Card if you are staying more than 3 days. Well worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Address: Via Cavour 29, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Florence
#8 Business Hotel in Florence
#10 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's house in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (11 till 8,30 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Guelfo Bianco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.