We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Save Saved
You added Il Guelfo Bianco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Via Cavour 29, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #12 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Athens
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A real gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Excellent hotel, we stayed at room 118 on first floor, which was fantastic! Spotless clean, very big room with beautiful antique furniture. The breakfast was delicious and the staff very helpful and kind.The hotel is located 5 minutes from the duomo and 10 minutes from ponte vecchio.You can walk from the hotel everywhere in the city, piazza della signoria, piazza della republica, galleria uffizi, pallazo pitti and Santa Croce are on a short walking distance.The tourist office is next to the hotel and from there you can purchase the firenze card, wchich is very usefull if you are planning to visit a lot of sightseeing in florence.The cost is 50 euros per person and with this card you can skip the lines in galleria uffizi and pallazo piti.
Don't miss this hotel if you are planning a trip in florence.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,142
    334
    51
    11
    2
See reviews for
368
765
56
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

If you're looking for a great hotel in Florence, than look no further. Il Guelfo Bianco was fantastic!
The rooms are charming, staff is warm and helpful, and the location is excellent! We had a wonderful meal at their bistro which had organic vegetables from their garden. This hotel definitely added to our Florence experience. The hotel is family run and owned and they are delightful! I am going to recommend this hotel to everyone I know who visits Florence!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel came highly recommended by the Tripadvisor visitor ratings and that's how I came across it, as I intented to have a very central location within the district of Santa Maria Florence... The Cathedral Duomo was only 5 mins walk away...which sits in the heart of the city and never lets you feel lost.
Guelfo Bianco is perfect in location and has a good walking distance along the main street route to Palazzi Signoria, Straw market and Ponto Vecchio with Dali musemo, Leonardo de Vinci musemo being on the same street Cavour... The train station via a few streets is also close by and walkable.
These streets dont dissappoint either as you are surrounding with many individual owned designer clothes boutiques and affordable Ristorantes !.~ restaurants and lots of cafes.
This hotel is also approx 20 mins from Florence Airport..
The normal taxi journey is set @ 20 Euros with a given 1 euro tip to driver for per item of luggage.
We were glad of the pre arranged, MR Francesco,driving us to the hotel@40 Euros, as we had experienced a very early and lengthy connected flight via Paris from Dublin from Belfast.
Upon arrival, first impressions of Il Guelfo Bianco doesnt dissappoint you, it screams pure living history with perfect kept artefacts decorating each room and their hallways,,Every room is unique and to individual style.
Indeed every wall screams for you to be curious,,and to work out how old wooden doors are near the ceiling height.
I was immediately in love with this hotel individuality ,its uniqueness and its decor interest to mix modern art with the age old house Tuscany style.
The staff indeed are very friendily & helpful.
Our hotel room had flaws like the safe not working and only having a small inadequate bar fridge with low clothes storage space.
My only critisium of reception staff is that lobby bar never seemed open or would jumped to your need of needing warm cuppa , especially when there isnt the normal complimentary making service in your room.. this was also alcohol bar but you'll find its also works on very restricted service schedule.& just like the restaurant.
Although saying, hotel reception provides a voucher of a welcome drink and an platter of deli meats and cheeses.
Breakfast is basic and dont expect it to be cooked..on the plus side all what is available has been locally sourced and every morning can be tasted freshly made.

Our rooom was 202 that overlooked the main road. The room oouse charm of chest like multiple window shutters so the room was very peaceful and dark and privacy was protected by the thick room walls and it wasnt nowhere like the generic hotel rooms you find yourself in..
I had visited Florence back in 2008 for a short time and then pick pocketing was rife especially around Ponto Vecchio and around all the street vendors... this is now changed as police presence is much more noticeable and has changed the atmosphere.and feeling of safety.
Even though this has been stepped up please still be street savvy..!
My travel trip for this Florence is to stay away from sitting by any windows within cafes ristorante as you can be unexpectly scammed way above the normal for your latte or cappacinos meal etc.... so dont let the waiter lead you either to these tables.
Just like Il Guelfo Bianco hotel Florence can give up the most unexpected hidden treasures and I cant wait to have the excuse to revisit this hotel for a different room experience but most of all repeat my designer shoe,& fashion shopping hiest! :~)

Room Tip: 202 is hotel front facing and very peaceful at this time of year but can any room at this hotel will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Andi042,

I really thank you for your long and nice review. This kind of review are very helpful for the readers as you really wrote many advices.
I am sorry the safety box didn’t work in your room but as I wrote several times if you have some problems you could advice our front desk (where there is someone working 24 hours a day) and we could check immediately and fix the problem. Regarding the small fridge is like a standard refrigerator where the customers could find waters several drinks and snacks and also some little bottles of alcohol. It’s not a real fridge where people can storage items but just a small refrigerator.
Regarding the small bar we have here in the lobby since we opened the bistro restaurant a couple of years ago just in front of it we do not use that bar anymore during the day as our bistro restaurant is open till 8,30 pm and there the customers could have hot and cold drinks and also tasty snacks. This small bar is open just in the evening after 8,30 pm and during the night and the people at the front desk are always ready to make coffee or the or drinks on request.
I hope to welcome you here again in the future and thanks again for the nice words you had for us.
Antonella Rocchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
357 helpful votes 357 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This hotel is approx 20 mins from airport. 20 euros by taxi or if had a long journey, you can ask the hotel to supply adriver to pick you up for approx 40 euros which we done.
The hotel sits in a 1500's style building situated just 5 mins walk from the Duomo. Our welcome at reception was great & all reception staff were very friendly during our stay. Our room was 202 overlooking the street but with 4 different types of shutter on the window, we had a very peaceful sleep every night. The room had character & charm with high ceiling and period furniture. Just a few things not in room which was not a problem for me but worth a mention. No hot press, tea/coffee facility or iron. Draw space is limited to one draw in wardrobe.
Bathroom was clean with great shower.
Breakfast was taken in a pleasant dining room off reception area with contemporary artwork throughout the whole hotel. Food was excellent as was the selection. No cooked breakfast available for those who like it. Personally, I hate cooked breakfast and go for continental and there was enough selection for all. Staff were attentive and friendly.
Forget taxis from here. The hotel is situated just nicely for everything. Turn right out of hotel and 5 mins you at the Duomo, 10 mins Piazza Repubblica, 15 mins Ponte Vecchio. If going shopping which it is hard not too. What I found was that if you go right at the Duomo, you enter the centre but all high end shops but if you go left, we found shops like vintage clothing, art shops. shoe makers, chocolate makers and small wine shops. Please explore the little side streets. Just walk. The city is safe, plenty of police visible. Also plenty of restaurants nearby.
Railway station only 15 min walk if you decide to go to Pisa, Ticket approx 16 euro each and about an hour journey. Loved this hotel and Florence.

Room Tip: We had an executive room and from what I heard, the rooms on floor one or two seem to be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I have been recommending this hotel to people visiting Florence for the past 20 years (since I was a student there) but had never had the occasion to stay there myself until this past weekend. I now know why all the people I had sent there over the years were so happy with my recommendation... the hotel is in a perfect location to explore Florence (minutes from the Duomo and Academia and the Mercato Centrale) and most importantly, every single person we encountered at the front desk was lovely and went out of their way to make our visit to Florence great. Thank you Il Guelfo Bianco!

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and got placed on the top floor right next to the elevator. It was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ossining, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

The bad news: we booked in for 6 nights based on TripAdvisor reviews. Several room tips mentioned "room with balcony," "room with view." Upon arrival, the hotel did not appear to be tightly booked and given that we had booked a "junior suite" we were shocked to discover that our "patio," was the tiled floor of an airshaft, furnished with table and chairs. Our room window looked out into yet another air shaft. Truly frightening. The desk clerk responded surly when asked for a room with an exterior view, telling us that the room we were given was one of the best in the hotel. Eventually, he gave me the key to two others--one at the front with heavy shutters on the windows, which are blocked from opening by a balustrade on the outside of the building--and another at the back with windows that opened out giving views to the backs of private, working class residential housing and offering a slice of ordinary Florentine life. We chose it, Room 336, and remained there for our 6 night stay. (Would not recommend opting for premium priced room, since no difference made itself apparent.) Good news: the hotel is in an excellent location: 5 minutes from the Duomo, 5 minutes from Accademia, etc. The breakfast is ample, wholesome, the homemade jams delicious! Had an unexpectedly delightful lunch in il Desco Bistrot, part of the hotel, featuring organic products fresh from the hotel owners' family farm. My choices were all vegetarian, wonderfully flavourful, and a gratifying break from the overindulgence of my other meals on this trip. Overall, il Guelfo Bianco is recommended, especially for a first-time trip to Florence. But for "views" book elsewhere, or be content absorbing them while outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Other postings mention "views." Lower your architectural expectations--or be disappointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GUELFOMANAGER, Manager at Il Guelfo Bianco, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Desmond,

thank for your review and let’s start from the good news you wrote: I am happy you did appreciate our location (the hotel is right 5 minutes from the Duomo, less than 5 minutes from from the Accademia) and I am really happy you liked our breakfast and you enjoyed our next door bistro.
Regarding the bad news: room 336 is overlooking one of our two patios (the smallest one) and usually is a very popular room because it’s large and comfortable and extremely quiet. The small patio we have on the low floor is not a “garden” but it’s simply a patio with some tables and chairs available anytime for our customers. We do have also another patio available also as the outside breakfast area when it’s warm and sunny and it’s really lovely with a very old olive tree in the middle. Even this patio is a real patio not a “garden” . We have several superior rooms overlooking a garden (which is not part of our hotel but it’s a garden of a private house just in front of the hotel on the back side). Than we have also very large de luxe or junior suite overlooking Via Cavour which the main street of the city center full of old palaces. We have also rooms overlooking the rooftops of Florence. We never wrote we have rooms with special view as our hotel is located in a main street from the main side and on a back street or a garden on the back side. I am sorry you were disappointed with the view of that room but our front desk assistant did his best showing you also some difference rooms but maybe you had an idea about “view” we couldn’t meet. As you wrote on your suggestion mainly we could offer a view with architectural expatiations or (I can add) with a garden view for some superior rooms or overlooking a courtyard or patio. However the architectural expiations in a city like Florence which is well know as cradle of Renaissance and it’s famous all over the world for its beautiful and antique palaces, it could a plus from my point of view . Our front desk assistants are always ready to give many information about our rooms, the size and position and we try to do our best to satisfy all the meets so I hope I wrote enough information for everybody who wish to make a booking here at our hotel. I really hope to meet welcome you here again whenever you come back in Florence.
Take care and best regards.
Antonella Rocchini
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed at the Il Guelfo Bianco for three nights in mid-February 2013. We were a family of 4- parents and two teenage daughters. The highlights were the warmth and professionalism of the staff, the charming historic rooms, the decent sized, updated bathrooms (we stayed in a quad room - 228), the substantial breakfast (although a little variety would be welcome), the excellent coffee, the great service, the attached restaurant next door has truly wonderful food, and just an all around excellent stay.
The down sides were that we were facing the street and despite the double glazed windows, street noise late at night was a bit of a bother. The location, which is on a commercialized street, can be seen as a positive - lots of options including a McDonalds next door, or a negative (McD's next door, too commercial).
I would have given it a 4.5 stars if I could have. Everything was wonderful, but just a touch shy of the full 5 stars (and I am a tough rater).

Room Tip: Upper floor is probably better. If bothered by noise, chose a room away from street. We had a terri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Address: Via Cavour 29, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Florence
#8 Business Hotel in Florence
#11 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's house in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (11 till 8,30 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Guelfo Bianco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.