We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hills of Canterbury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Il Guelfo Bianco to your Saves list
Il Guelfo Bianco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Cavour 29, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #16 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Hills of Canterbury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

All facilities excellent but the hotel is made by its staff who were all quite brilliant during our week long stay. Our room at the back of the first floor was very quiet and overlooked a charming couryard. The hotel's location is within easy walking distance of the main city attractions and simple to find if arriving by rail.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back will be quiter with absolutley no traffice noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,257
    371
    58
    13
    3
See reviews for
407
849
60
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed at the Il Guelfo Bianco for three nights. The hotel is in a great location to see the top sights in Florence and just outside the super busy, crowded parts. We arrived via train and its an easy walk from the station. The Duomo is just down the street and the local markets are only around the corner. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful, showing us close by attractions on a map as soon as we arrived.

The hotel itself is old but our room was clean. We stayed on the top floor and had to maneuver a tight staircase from where the elevator drops you off. The room had three large windows with a great view of the Florence skyline.

While the room itself is old the bathroom is updated and spotless. We had lunch at the restaurant on the main floor and the prices were great.

In the morning the complimentary breakfast has tons of options and staff work quickly to serve you coffee and clear tables. When we booked our room we also had them reserve us museum tickets to see the statue of David and were we ever glad. The line to the museum was huge and if we hadn't planned ahead we would have ended up leaving.

Over all I would recommend this hotel for location and service.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a really nice time at this hotel. The location was perfect, very central and easy to find. Its about a 15 minute walk from the main train station and about 5 minutes from the Duomo. Upon arrival we were informed that they had given us a free upgrade of our room as it was quite, which we though was a really nice touch. We also were given a free drinks and nibbles voucher at check in, the nibbles actually turned out to be a delicious plate (each!) of various cheeses and cold meets with some lovely balsamic vinegars, bread, olive oil etc. It was very good. Staff were also very friendly and helpful. If we ever return to Florence, we wouldn't even think of staying any where else and would definitely recommend this place to any one. Great place

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The staff were fabulous at this hotel! They were especially helpful when one of us was injured. Very accommodating. Made us feel completely at home. Great value for the location as well. The breakfast was great and again, a great value. Highly recommend this hotel. You will definitely enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Thanks to the hosts (Great food, great advice, great room)! We were recommended to this great spot and I would now recommend it to others. I would not stay anywhere else in Florence. We had a great spacious room, decorated well, clean, comfortable. My favorite part was visiting the attached cafe and getting good advice on where else to eat in Florence. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Comfortable beds, hearty breakfast, nice service, spacious room, hot water- all made it a great stay. They gave good recommendations of restaurants. Nice location too. Would stay again when back in Florence.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Ky.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have stayed here on three occasions and absolutely love it. It is a small boutique hotel with charming the charm and elegance of only Florence can give. I made reservations there for me and my partner and my brother and his fiancee. and they can't stop saying how great it was!!! I have been to Florence five times and stayed in luxury hoels, but this one is my fsvorite. Don't stay here if you want a big luxury hotel...it is the real Florence!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Address: Via Cavour 29, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Florence
#15 Business Hotel in Florence
#19 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Il Guelfo Bianco 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's house in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (11 till 8,30 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, T4B and Expedia so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Guelfo Bianco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.