We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Guelfo Bianco

Save Saved
You added Il Guelfo Bianco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Il Guelfo Bianco
Via Cavour 29, 50129 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #9 of 461 hotels in Florence
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Wow. Great location. Convenient walk from the train station.
The location just require some walking to the duomo and galleria academia to see the statue of David. The hotel staffs are super friendly and will make you feel warm and at ease. Julia is a gem as she really goes out of her way to arrange tours and transport. Thank you!
Rooms are nice and breakfast is good.

Room Tip: Get room 42 with a small view of the duomo
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,488 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,106
    322
    49
    9
    2
See reviews for
354
738
53
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Great hotel, superb furnishings, and really friendly staff. We stayed here for the Florence marathon - two couples and a baby - and we were very pleased with our stay. Nice breakfast. Close to the sights. And the bistro downstairs really impressed my wife. Grazie!

Room Tip: Room 116 has a great ceiling:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

When you visit somewhere like Florence one of the key elements to it's success is the hotel for your base. Without doubt my wife and I picked one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. The room we had was ideal for our needs, comfortable and quiet with a patio to sit out on in the evening. We were worried about city traffic, but in the event this was not a problem as our visit was in October and the traffic activity was surprisingly low. The walk back to the room up the winding staircase was also a delight with the range of paintings and artifacts to view on the way.

We had lunch at the hotel bistro which i would recommend also for an evening meal. Again the staff were very polite and attentive to our needs.

The front of house staff could not be bettered. We arranged in advance our tickets for the Uffizi Museum through the hotel. We wanted an early start to avoid the crowds on the Sunday morning. They also helped us with other organised trips to Pisa and Siena. Both of these day trips were excellent value for money.

Would we stay at the Il Guelfo again? Yes, we would without question! The hotel's location makes it an ideal base to visit the key places in Florence.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We were thrilled with our stay at Il Guelfo Bianco. The location is perfect (convenient and within a short walking distance of all major sites); our room was clean and pleasant. Breakfast was delicious and the staff were wonderfully accommodating throughout. We alerted the hotel to dietary restrictions beforehand (gluten) and staff were knowledgeable and made special efforts to make available fresh and delicious gluten-free bread and other options for breakfast and provided great recommendations for dinner in the area. The Hotel also has a charming cafe, where we had lunch, which was excellent. Il Guelfo is family-owned and operated and members are on the premises and very hands-on. A simply wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Our room was on the courtyard, which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

This hotel reminds me of a great bed and breakfast - it has charm, personality, and unique decor - besides that, the breakfast is delicious! Also, the front desk staff is friendly and helpful. Located a few blocks from the duomo - it's a great location as well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Lovely hotel in a nice location in a relatively quiet street, but still close to the major sites. Rooms are beautifully decorated, with modern art contrasting with antique furniture, rustic walls and high, carved wood ceilings. Comfy beds, plenty of extra bedding.

The staff were very welcoming and helpful, and the buffet breakfast selection excellent. We were really pleased with the choice. Great sleep quality!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We loved our 3 nights at Il Guelfo Bianco! Julia at the front desk was great and we got our room upgraded for free when we arrived. We had a separate sitting area and a small outside sitting area. The location is perfect, very close to the Duomo and all of the other sights are not a far walk away. We ate at the restaurant attached to the hotel twice and loved the food and service. The hotel was also very accommodating in booking our trip to the Uffizi and Accademia before we arrived. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Guelfo Bianco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Guelfo Bianco

Address: Via Cavour 29, 50129 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Florence
#8 Business Hotel in Florence
#11 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel is right in the city center, between Piazza Duomo and Piazza San Marco , few steps away from Accademia (the museum where you can see the famous DAVID by Michelangelo). It's house in two late 15th century building next each other. All rooms are different in size and position - executive rooms have a standard size - superior rooms are larger - de luxe and junior suite are very large with a sitting area. We have rooms overlooking the courtyard, gardens and several rooms overlooking Via Cavour which is the main street but 70% pedestrian and so it's not too noisy. All rooms have triple glasses and double windows. WI/FI available in all the rooms and the drawing rooms and it's free of charge if you have your own laptop or i-phone or i-pad. Bistrot restaurant next door "IL DESCO" open every day (11 till 8,30 pm) with good menu' all day long (many organic products directly by the owner's farm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Il Guelfo Bianco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Guelfo Bianco Florence
Il Guelfo Bianco Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Guelfo Bianco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.