We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was fine! ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sempione

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sempione to your Saves list
Hotel Sempione
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nazionale 15, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #143 of 461 Hotels in Florence
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Was fine! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First of all was it's a really clean hotel in a central place.. You can walk and go anywhere.our room was a small one but that was ok for us..the problem was some Asian people next to us talking all night probably on the phone and we couldn't sleep.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    62
    6
    3
    5
See reviews for
17
57
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

Last June I booked a reservation thru the hotel's website to stay one night in October. When plans changed, I e-mailed the hotel in July to say that my plans had changed and I needed to cancel the reservation. I received quick response from Sarah at Hotel Sempione that said "regarding your request to cancel your reservation, please see your confirmation e-mail". It was not made clear that I needed to go back to my initial reservation confirmation to cancel. Now the hotel has charged my credit card and will not remove the charge. Had Sarah made it clear when I first contacted the hotel to cancel, the procedure to cancel the reservation, there would have been no problem. And to make matters worse, the hotel website says that one of the advantages of booking directly with the hotel is the ease in modifying or canceling a reservation.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeit, Proprietario at Hotel Sempione, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Richard H,
we are very sad to read you review and both Sarah and I are really willing to explain our point of view.
When you book on our website's booking on line system you receive a confirmation e-mail that clearly explains how and when a guest can cancel the reservation, and furthermore, to make it even easier and stressless, on top of the confirmation e-mail there is a LINK that allows you to CANCEL YOUR RESERVATION WITH JUST 2 CLIKS. By resending you to the confirmation e-mail this is exactly what Sara was meaning for you to do, in the easiest way.
By the way, after requesting a cancellation you should always receive a confirmation of cancellation e-mail to make sure that your cancellation is finalized: let me tell you I am quite sure you didn't receive anything from hotel Sempione as your cancellation was not finalized.
Should you decide to visit Florence in the future we would be glad to have you at one of our hotels to prove you that your first impression is not correct.
Best regards,

Serena Forzieri
Manager
Hotel Sempione
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

To be honest the location is about 10 to 20 minutes from the center by walk but there are so many great restaurants around there and it is very close to the train station.
The breakfast is great, wifi is great, it s clean and comfortable.
And the reception is very nice

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastman, QC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Very close to train station and major Florence attractions, we could walk everywhere!
Rooms and bathrooms are very small, but clean, and beds are really comfortable. Service was very nice, all employees were very helpful. Very good breakfast, with a nice choice. Plenty of restaurants in the same street. This hotel is a very nice place to stay in Florence!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walt Disney World, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

This was by far the best hotel we stayed at in Italy for comfort and convenience in great location to all the sights, as well as the train station (2 blocks). The front desk personnel were very professional, friendly and helpful (special thanks to Sara). And the lady in the breakfast room was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were modern, well appointed and spotlessly cleaned each day. The beds, room temperature and amenities were very comfortable. Internet worked well. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Florence. PS. - the hotel lobby is a little eclectic since this is an old building but don't let that put you off. The rooms are updated. Also, if you speak a language other than Italian, ask for access to Sky TV - free to clients but they need to give you instruction for access.

Room Tip: If your room is on the first floor, ask for it to be away from the elevator/breakfast area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Weighton
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2014

Hotel Sempione is located on via Nazionale, only a few minutes walk (5 at the most) from the SMN train station in Florence. We stayed there for three nights in September, and I absolutely loved it. It's location is just fantastic and it's surrounded by local shops, restaurants and is only a ten minute walk from the centre of Florence. If you come out of the hotel and turn left, walk across the road and cut through via dell'Ariento you will go through the local markets and eventually pop out at the Basiica di San Lorenzo and you're not far from the Santa Maria del Fiore cathedral.

This hotel is great for location alone. The via Nazionale can be a bit noisy with the traffic (a constant stream of mopeds - like pretty much all of Italy) and the occasional sirens of an ambulance or police car, but for me that just added to the atmosphere, and on a night with the windows shutters closed it was pretty quiet (it's amazing just how much noise those wooden shutters can block out). The reception area is small but very well presented and welcoming. The staff were absolutely excellent and couldn't do enough to help us. There is a small sitting area with some comfy chairs and a sofa for relaxing on an evening and a PC with free internet access. The hotel also has free wifi which was excellent for uploading photos on an evening as well as being able to book tickets online for different tours and attractions. Whenever we got back to the hotel on an evening and sat down in the reception area we were offered free drinks (tea, coffee or cold drinks).

The rooms are over four floors and ours was on the third. There is a lift but it's quite small so we only used it when checking in and checking out, otherwise we used the stairs. The room was a decent size, not huge but also not too cramped. The air-con worked great so it was always nice and cool. The room had a good size wardrobe so we were able to completely unpack, hang up our clothes and store the case out of the way on top of the wardrobe. The bathroom is a good size and well decorated and clean. My only gripe about the bathroom is the shower. It was a corner shower but was very, very small and it was hard to turn around in it without catching the on/off control and shutting the water off. It was also difficult to get in and out of and the opening was only a few inches and so (for me anyway) it was a bit of a squeeze getting in and out. As the bathroom is a decent size I'm not sure why they decided to make the shower cubicle so ridiculously small. Apart from that, the bathroom was quite nice.

Breakfast is your typical continental affair and can be found on the first floor. The breakfast room is quite small but is fine for the size of the hotel. They had a good selection of meats, bread, croissants, fruit etc, as well as juice and a coffee machine.

Overall, this was an excellent hotel and if we ever go back to Florence (which I hope that we do as it's an amazing city) then this hotel will be at the top of my list. The staff really made us feel welcome and the hotel looks great and is in a great location.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

We stayed for 4 nights and it was wonderful. The hotel itself was very conveniently located, very close to train station and great eateries. I was shocked to read another contributor state that the staff were un helpful, I found the complete opposite, everyone went out of their way to help or give advice. The hotel also had a lovely little sitting area, with complimentary fruit, pastries and coffee, very nice touch. Breakfast was good, and housekeeping staff excellent. I would definitely recommend .

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sempione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sempione

Address: Via Nazionale 15, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#132 Family Hotel in Florence
#144 Romantic Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sempione 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Sempione, is located in the historical centre of Florence just 100 meters far from Santa Maria Novella train station, the Congress Palace, Fortezza da Basso (main exhibitions center) and just a few steps from the cathedral and the most important Florentine museums and churches. Our rooms, furnished in the classical style with parquet floor or Florentine “cotto” are all soundproofed and equipped with mini bar, safety deposit box, satellite television, free wireless, direct line telephone, individually controlled air-conditioning/heating, private bathroom with hairdryer, bath tube or shower, linen warmer. The Hotel has a lift and two rooms designed to suit the needs of handicapped guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sempione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sempione Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sempione, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.