We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very close to train station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Boccaccio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Boccaccio to your Saves list
Hotel Boccaccio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Della Scala 59, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #178 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Monsummano Terme, Italy
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Very close to train station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I had found this hotel on Booking.com just on the way from the Florence airport to central city of Florence by bus with latest bus at 23.30.

Nice hotel I will recomend it to all my customers that arrive in Florence

Ciao

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    168
    61
    12
    9
See reviews for
52
129
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

When I first caught sight of the hotel from the taxi we were stuck in traffic in on the busiest T junction right by the train and bus station, I must admit I was rather horrified to say the least, and hoped our room wouldn't be facing the road.

When we checked in the receptionist spoke great English and immediately gave us a map and marked where all the main tourist spots are and was very friendly and informative.
Once in our room it was obvious we were in fact facing the road. The double glazed doors did a fairly good job of keeping out the constant noise but it could still be heard. We had a small balcony which was ok but not really of much use as you couldn't be out there long due to the noise.
That aside our room and bathroom were very large, certainly by European standards as plenty of other cities we've stayed in the rooms are like a shoe box, and with very high ceilings which made the room feel even bigger.

The location is good and can easily walk everywhere. The breakfast consisted of cereal, toast, eggs and yoghurt which was fine with us, and was fresh and replenished often. The same female served us each morning and she remembered we both had tea, which was nice.

It has a small outdoor area which was out the back of the building, which was nice, we sat out there for a short while and shared a pot of tea. There are several tables and lots of sweet smelling flowers.

To be honest, as the time went on we quite liked it here, yes it is noisy, dark and slightly dated but I think for what we paid it was fine and to stay in probably only a slightly better standard of hotel the price would have been considerably more.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Because of the high ratings by TA we selected this Hotel.We requested a quiet room w 2 beds and booked this hotel 3 months in advance.We received a letter from the Hotel assuring us that we would have a room w 2 beds and if possible a quiet room. Upon arrival, we were given a room w one large bed overlooking a street under construction. Not only was it very loud during the day,at night loud music,people screaming and other various noises could be heard well passed midnight. Although the room and bathroom were very clean, it was very dark, making it very difficult to read.TV only had Italian stations. The Hotel advertised free use of a Computer. However using this very outdated Computer it was impossible to confirm our flight reservations. Instead of helping we were told by reception to use one of the many Internet services - for a cost - outside of the Hotel. It would have taken the person at the reception desk no more than 5 min to confirm our reservation on his computer. This was one example of what appeared to be an attitude problem for the four days that we remained in this hotel.The only time we felled as welcome visitors was during breakfast due to the good service and friendliness of the women working in the kitchen.

Room Tip: try another hotel, Best Western is nearby or another 4-star-hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its location. Its located just 5 minutes from the Firenze Santa Maria Novella train station (for those going to Pisa and other cities) and the Sita Bus station (for those going to The Mall outlet). It is very, very convenient especially after a day's tour in or out of the city and after a day of shopping at The Mall. You could easily get to your hotel and dump all of your stuff or take a nap before going out again.

From the hotel, you could literally walk to all of the tourist attractions, such as the Piazza Del Duomo, Basilica of Santa Croce, Uffizi Gallery, etc. The bus stop for the bus going to Piazzale Michelangelo was just in front of the train station.

But being in the "center" has its down sides. Being located near the bus and train station, you get a lot of vehicular and foot traffic just outside the hotel. If you are very sensitive with noise and smoke, you're better off staying at a high floor or staying at another hotel. We didn't mind the traffic and noise since we were away the whole day and got back to the hotel late at night. By then, there were no more noise and traffic.

The room size was huge, including the toilet. It was very spacious indeed. The staff were courteous, pleasant and helpful. They could speak english well and helped us find all of the tourist spots. They even gave each of us city maps. The breakfast was okay although the dining room could get crowded easily during rush hours. The lady serving the breakfast wasn't very happy, you could tell (haha) but she did her job well.

We wouldn't mind staying in this hotel on our next trip back to Florence.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Ejido, Spain
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

First, I can't praise the front desk staff enough. They made phone calls for me to other hotels and were always friendly and helpful. I was allowed to store my luggage there for several days (for a reasonable daily fee) while I traveled to another town. They gave a discount for a good restaurant only 3 or 4 blocks away. And, the location is great near the train station. However, my room was quite depressing. I had a single which meant very small bed and almost no space. I had a window with shutters that opened onto a noisy busy side street. It was cold and rainy and the heat had been turned off for the season. They couldn't turn the heat back on on my floor supposedly and couldn't move me to another floor. There was very dim lighting in the room and the TV had no English language stations. After I checked in and realized that I was stuck in this room for two days, I literally cried. Additionally, the breakfast was mediocre served in a small room that didn't hold all the people wanting to eat. My room did, however, have a spacious nice bathroom. Based on the reviews of others, it seems like the quality of your stay depends on where your room is located.

Room Tip: Read what the other reviewers have said. Then when booking ask for a similar room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Super easy stroll when arriving at the train station. The room was clean and the breakfast good. But I am not sure I would stay there again. The street felt really busy with city buses flying around the corner. The windows did a great job of sound reduction. Nice to have wifi but there were no English TV stations. We were told they are in the middle of an upgrade that will include more channels. I do like to be able to get news on the TV. Lots of places nearby to eat. Easy walk to all attractions.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minorca, Spain
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Location perfect, across the road from train station and bus that goes to Pisa airport, less than 10 minutes from centre. Triple room size fine, great windows overlooking interior patio, quieter than the front. Decoration very Italiany, dark and heavy colours, I prefer more basic, modern and plain, lighting very poor. Vote lost a star as mattress a bit stained and should have been either cleaned properly, thrown or at least a proper matress cover on it and also towels replaced with very damp ones. Hotel in itself very clean. Breakfast room lovely but the waitress seem to replace with only the bare minumum, so it was fine for a 3 star but not brilliant. Reception staff excellent, very helpful. Bar just across the road, do fantastic coffee, rolls and cakes, definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms at back quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Boccaccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boccaccio

Address: Via Della Scala 59, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boccaccio 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Boccaccio is in the heart of the historic city centre, a stone's throw from the railway station, from Piazza Duomo and from the Church of Santa Maria Novella. The extremely recent and diligent re-structuring, valorized by the original Carrara marble, has made the presence of more modern comforts possible harmoniously combined with the authentic Florentine style. Elevator, internet point, garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Boccaccio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boccaccio Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Boccaccio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.