We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A day in Florence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Boccaccio

Save Saved
You added Hotel Boccaccio to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Boccaccio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Della Scala 59, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #178 of 461 hotels in Florence
Ann Arbor, Michigan, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A day in Florence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

This was the second time we have stayed at Hotel Boccaccio when we have flown out of Florence. It is very close to the train and bus stations, as well as city tour busses and walking venues. We would certainly recommend it for longer stays as well. Accomodating staff and "niceties" in the room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Nozio

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    128
    177
    53
    13
    8
See reviews for
39
99
24
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I'm not terribly fussy when it comes to a hotel room. I just want somewhere that is conveniently located, quiet, and clean at a reasonable rate. Hotel Boccaccio does all that.

The location is great. It's just a 5 minute walk from the train station, and within easy walking distance to Florence's attractions.

This room was the largest we had on our Italian Adventure. The bathroom was enormous when compared to the places we stayed in Rome and Venice. I'm 6'2" and I could actually turn around in the shower without bashing my head or elbows! The bed was pretty firm, perhaps bordering on -too- firm, and the pillows were kind of flat, but it wasn't terrible. I just think we've been spoiled by the hotel standards here in the states. The big plus is that the room was spotless.

The breakfast buffet was pretty standard for Europe.

Overall, it's not a bad choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

By far my worst experience with a hotel in Italy so far. To start off, grossly over priced as I have paid 135 euros for a night with the view of a wall (I have uploaded a picture of my fantastic view of the wall) and a bathroom that was too small. My room smelt like food constantly even though I had not eaten in it once. The service was appalling as well, with a manager that said "I will teach you a lesson" when I asked to cancel my reservation. Yes, those were his exact words. Moreover, when I asked for an electrical adapter I was asked to come and get it rather than it being delivered to my room. The only two upsides to my stay in this hotel was its proximity to the train station and it's "relative" cleanliness, besides the smell.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was my first stay at the Hotel Boccaccio in Firenze, but will not be my last. Located near the Train Station, we seemed to be just a short walk, from everything. The Hotel also has a Trattoria they own nearby that they recommend. We all enjoyed a great lunch, immediately after checking in. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The rooms were clean and quiet. The included breakfast was good. Also the Hotel offers parking in a nearby lot. They have it all, and at a fair price.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The location is good, very near the station and you can easily find it.
The room is small but comfortable, all you need were prepared - air con, hot water, towel, hairdry, etc.
I also liked the breakfast they offered. very nice coffee !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Nozio

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have stayed at this lovely hotel for the past three years and I love it. The staff are amazingly hospitable, the location is prime, the rooms are clean and stylish and the breakfast is lovely. I stayed here with a friend in August 2013 and I enjoyed myself so much that I have decided to go back with my husband in October, next week. All the staff are great but every year I look forward to seeing Domenico. He always remembers me and lets me practice my Italian. I would highly recommend Hotel Boccaccio. Kimberly Ondrechak, Canada

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Nozio

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Washington, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Boccaccio for nearly a week in September, 2013. Overall I found it certainly good, but not great.

Positives:

Hotel Boccaccio is located just 5 minutes walk from Santa Maria Novella station, and the convenient location is its greatest asset. There is an elevator, and it was large enough to accommodate the two of us and our luggage with some room to spare. Our room itself was large, by Italian standards, and the bathroom was quite spacious. The air conditioning was sufficient to keep the room comfortable. Breakfast is available and was included in the room rate. The staff was very pleasant and helpful, and the complimentary in-room Wi-fi offered a decent speed. The room and public areas were very clean.

Drawbacks:

While the breakfast was included the selection wasn't all that great. While the room was spacious, it was also quite dark. The ceilings are rather high so additional light fixtures would be a very nice addition. I found the bed very uncomfortable - the mattress and the pillows were very, very firm. The TV is mounted very high on the wall, so in order to watch it you have to crane your neck a bit. The bathroom had a jacuzzi tub with shower, which was great, but you had to step up about 2 feet (60cm) to get into it. That could present a significant challenge for an older, less mobile or less stable person.

One other note - the stairs are situated just inside the front door of the hotel, well before you reach the reception desk. Late one night (between 11:30 and midnight) I was able to walk in the front door and directly up the stairs to my room. I was not able to see the reception desk from my vantage point; I'm not sure if reception saw me or not. While it does not appear that there have been security issues at the hotel, I think this situation should be addressed in some manner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Boccaccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boccaccio

Address: Via Della Scala 59, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 461 hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boccaccio 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Boccaccio is in the heart of the historic city centre, a stone's throw from the railway station, from Piazza Duomo and from the Church of Santa Maria Novella. The extremely recent and diligent re-structuring, valorized by the original Carrara marble, has made the presence of more modern comforts possible harmoniously combined with the authentic Florentine style. Elevator, internet point, garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Boccaccio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boccaccio Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Boccaccio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.