We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Boccaccio

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Boccaccio to your Saves list
Hotel Boccaccio
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Della Scala 59, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #178 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

l stayed here in august in a single room. the room was very small but comfortable and the toilet and shower were very clean.the staff were friendly and the buffet breakfast was very nice. the hotel is close to the railway station and close to just about everything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    168
    61
    12
    9
See reviews for
52
129
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Hotel Boccaccio is exactly what it presents itself to be, and what you would expect from a small boutique-style hotel in a city such as Florence (perhaps even a bit better for the reasonable prices). My room was spotless and the entire hotel is very well maintained and very clean (my first priority). The owner (Andrea, a male) is extremely accommodating and very pleasant, providing a great map of the city and lots of useful information for major sites to see in the city. And at only a few minute-walk from the train station, the location of this hotel couldn't be better if you are traveling by train.

Don't miss the outdoor terrace on the first floor. This is an excellent place to enjoy an afternoon glass of wine or relax and read for a few minutes in a quiet location amidst a busy city. Breakfast (included) provided usual options and fresh, quality food.

I look forward to returning to Hotel Boccaccio during my next visit to Florence! Andrea has been in the hotel business for a number of years and definitely works hard to make Hotel Boccaccio a great choice for your stay in Florence.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for two days/two night in mid-July. Great location...if you plan a lot of activities out of city, since it's right down from bus and train stations. That's also its downfall. While it's a safe walk along Via Della Scalla into the historic centre, I wouldn't recommend turning left out the front doors to see what was that way (including the recommended ristorante owned by hotel proprietor); the area seemed very dodgy, even in daytime. Also, not much worthy by way of cafes and gelaterias around hotel or along that walk into the centre till you pass Piazza Santa Maria Novella. The breakfast buffet was the bare minimum, the room was typically tiny, but the staff were efficient and attentive...except for not knowing anything about how to get to the MotoGP race, and I booked this hotel specifically through the MotoGP website.

Room Tip: Try to ask for an interior room; you're not losing much of a view but you're likely gaining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The hotel is within walking distance of all the main attractions and feels safe. The train station, bus hub, and taxi hub are conveniently one street away from the hotel. Dominico was extraordinarily helpful in pointing out great places we had missed in our previous trip to Florence; I'm grateful I listened to his suggestions. There's a cafe across the street for breakfast and a a deli (Alimentari) around the corner. Grab a sandwich and take advantage of the quintessential Italian patio that they have at the hotel. My friends and I really enjoyed the quiet and relaxed atmosphere of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Five of us, mum, dad, son(26), daughter(32), and son's girlfriend spent 2 nights in this hotel from 2nd - 4th July (we were in Tuscany for a family wedding). It was just a few mins from the train/bus station and perfect for visiting all the sights including the Duomo ( be sure and climb those 463 steps to top of Dome!), the Accedamia, Uffici, Ponte Vecchio and all those beautiful piazzas etc Thanks to email from hotel with directions from train station we got there within 5 mins.
The staff were very welcoming and professional. The breakfast was as expected, with plenty cereal, ham,cheese, yoghurt, pastries etc good coffee but no fresh fruit. It was great to have the air conditioning already on in our bedrooms when we arrived about 6pm very hot and sticky after flight and bus trip from Pisa! Rooms were not very big but perfectly adequate (and spotless) for our short stay and we got a good internet rate by booking directly with hotel website.
A big 'thank you' to the gentleman who rang the Accademia for me when I discovered I had lost my 'sticky note' with my reservation no. on it! Also the other gentleman who checked us in gave me a map without I having to ask for it and circled all the interesting sights with directions on how to get to them, again I didnt have to ask him, so well done on welcome and efficiency.
We would definitely return to Hotel Boccaccio

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This hotel was chosen due to its proximity to the train and bus stations. Yet, the major sites are within easy walking distance. Despite being on a busy street, the interior of the hotel is pleasantly quiet. The staff were professional, friendly and helpful. We would return to the Hotel Boccaccio.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Boccaccio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boccaccio

Address: Via Della Scala 59, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Boccaccio 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Boccaccio is in the heart of the historic city centre, a stone's throw from the railway station, from Piazza Duomo and from the Church of Santa Maria Novella. The extremely recent and diligent re-structuring, valorized by the original Carrara marble, has made the presence of more modern comforts possible harmoniously combined with the authentic Florentine style. Elevator, internet point, garage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Boccaccio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boccaccio Hotel Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Boccaccio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.