We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Porta Rossa

Save Saved
You added NH Porta Rossa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
NH Porta Rossa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Porta Rossa 19, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 461 hotels in Florence
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel - great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a great hotel in a wonderful location. The staff are very nice and speak many languages. The hotel is very clean and comfortable. The hotel is a very short walk to many key attractions. Despite being close to many attractions the street itself is very quiet. We stayed for a weekend and wish it could have been longer. We were also surprised by a room upgrade for free. They also serve a free breakfast buffet which is very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

820 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    549
    213
    42
    9
    7
See reviews for
108
489
22
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Due to a medical emergency with my daughter that happened the day before we were to depart the U.S., we had to cancel our 2-week vacation to Europe. We had reservations in 6 hotels and 5 of them generously understood our situation and cancelled our reservations without charge, or with a charge of just $25 per night. Not the NH Porta Rossa, in Florence! They insisted on charging the full USD 2,100. I offered to provide the hospital and doctor contact information and they still refused. Not even a prior stay at the same hotel and numerous stays at other NH hotels was enough loyalty to get any concession. Nor was the low season and low occupancy! I will never stay in a NH hotel again and all should beware that they'll screw you even in the event of a real medical emergency. BTW, the discount I rec'd for prepaying the room was $15 per night. They are a scam!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Have stayed there for 3 nights. Excellent location! 10 mins walk from Firenze SMN station and so close to major attractions, shops and resturants. In arrival we've been told that we have got a free upgrade from superior room to junior suite which is really a suprise for us! Nice staff that speak good english.

it's like an art/design hotel and there's good decoration in lobby, corridor and of course in the room. We've a room on the 1st floor but luckily it's facing the back so we don't have the noise problem. The room is spacious with big comfortable bads. Breakfast is definately of high standard using Italy standard with egg/becon, lots of juice, fruit, bread/cake, coffee, etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The hotel is located right in the center - minutes away from Ponte Vecchio and Piazza della Signoria.
If you need to park your car, there's a parking garage (not owned by the hotel) right behind the hotel (you can use the backside entrance) on Via delle Terme. It's a little bit expensive (25 eur/night) but this is the right price for parking in the historical center area.
Please note that you are in ZTL (limited traffic zone), so, unless you drive following the indications of the parking guys, on specific streets, you will pay around 90 EUR every time you smile at the camera!
It's not very complicated, so I encourage anyone to take a car since Florence can be seen in no more than 2-3 days, then Tuscany has much more to offer!

Regarding the hotel - if you look for old Italian style experience - you're at the right place. It belongs to the special NH collection; service and value for money are excellent!
However, if you need more luxury, I recommend to purchase a superior room.
Our room was standard and quite small. I liked it, but if you need more space purchase a bigger one.
Hotel decorations and some well preserved old items created a special, distinguished atmosphere.
Breakfast was decent for 4 stars and restaurant was not too crowded (as in other NH hotels I've been to). They serve excellent Italian espresso or cappuccino!
The only problem was that every morning, around 7, a little street-washing truck was passing by our window and it was making a terrible noise.
Unfortunately it happens all around Florence and, since the buildings are old, I believe they aren't allowed to use noise-proof windows which would damage the architectural design.
A big thank you to the restaurant and reception staff! They were very kind and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

we arrived early and the staff were so helpful, especially the young manager who, whilst we left our bags to start our visit, upgraded us to a suite on the third floor. Unfortunately though, the suite windows were on the same side as the hotels AC outlets. We tried closing the shutters and the heavy curtains but could not block out the noise enough to stay. We were moved to the first floor room 118. Nice enough room and certainly quieter. There was oen thing though - the smell. The maintenance manager was looking into it but Fabreze was used daily (we stayed for three nights) to mask the 'Firenze problem'.
Breakfast choice and standard was superb. There was a lot of choice so you'd have to eat a lot every morning to complain that you'd get bored eating the same.
Espresso or any variation of was quickly got by the amazingly swift waiting staff
Good location made the stay

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, Usa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This was a beautiful, historic and wonderful hotel. The room was exceptional as it had a fresco painted cathedral ceiling! The location was central in beautiful Florence. The staff helpful and professional. It made our "second honeymoon" a memorable time! We will never forget it. Grazie, Porta Rossa!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Fantastic place to stay in the centre of Florence. Beware taking child - 11 year old is expected to share your double bed despite being told there were roll away beds (not the hotel's fault but Travel Republic who booking was made with)


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH Porta Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Porta Rossa

Address: Via Porta Rossa 19, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#23 Family Hotel in Florence
#28 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#30 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Porta Rossa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Porta Rossa hotel in Florence is a historical landmark, offering modern adaptations of classical beauty. Built in the 12th century, the NH Porta Rossa hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Venere, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your NH Porta Rossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Porta Rossa Hotel Florence
Hotel Porta Rossa
Porta Rossa Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Porta Rossa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.