We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COMPLETION OF HOLIDAY AT HOTEL” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa to your Saves list
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Porta Rossa,19 | Porta Rossa, City Centre, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly NH Porta Rossa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #26 of 458 Hotels in Florence
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
“COMPLETION OF HOLIDAY AT HOTEL”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Very helpful staff and comfortable rooms with very modern bathroom attached. Very substantial breakfast served to cater to different tastes. Hotel situated in Central location affording access to all the important sites in the City.
J.M.S.DE ABREW ABEYESINHE

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    251
    53
    10
    9
See reviews for
137
598
30
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carson City, Nevada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

The good and the not so good. As for the staff they were wonderful. The property is gorgeous in a wonderful historic building. The location is outstanding. A short walk to all the major locations. Some have felt the rooms were plain, but they are in fact well decorated in a very modern style.
Here are my issues with the property. First and foremost some have said this is a business hotel. It is not. The internet is slow and not usable to access even small files. The connection drops, the documentation says it is only 128K but in fact my test showed much slower. The other issue is the sound. Because of the street noise and historic windows it can get very noisy at night. A minor issue was the uncomfortable chairs in the room. The last issue is because it is an older building and in the old part of town irons are not allowed in the rooms (or so we were told). So figure you're going to be wrinkled unless you use their laundry service. Being on vacation not a problem so much, but if I weren't, big problem.
Having spent an average of 100 plus nights a year in a hotel for the last 7 years I know 4 and 5 star and this is more of a 3.5. Again great location, great staff, wonderful building, but there are issues.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed here part of our Honeymoon adventure. Booked through expedia as a special. The location of the hotel is superb, can hardly get better really. Its bam in the centre of everything. We had a room (303) facing the street and although we did hear people and music on Friday and Saturday night (we were facing the street) it wasnt that bad that we couldnt sleep. The rooms are quite small and so was the bed, but everything was clean and the room was cleaned daily and we received fresh towels daily which was great. The people at the reception were extremely friendly and really helped you with everything. In the bathroom they didnt have lampshades to cover the extremely bright lamp bulbs and also the thing you put your soap on in the shower was hanging. I went downstairs to tell the man at reception and he was just so curtious and got it fixed straight away. Ive stayed at so many city hotels where the people at the reception dont care about anything, here they really gave you service. The breakfast was very good too. Dont spend too much time in the room though, Florence is an amazing city which really deserves and needs exploring

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at NH Porta Rossa during my honeymoon. The hotel is in an old building however the facilites are very modern. The hotel staffs are very friendly and helpful especially Ms Valentine. The other staff that assisted us on the check in recommended a few good restaurants nearby which I find it very impressive. Room are spacious enough and the night are quiet and the sleep are quality. It's a romantic experience in Firenze staying with NH Porta Rossa. I will recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

This was the first time in Florence for my Husband and myself, and we really lucked out with this Hotel. We arrived late, but the Front desk staff were excellent. We were upgraded to a superior room on the Mezzinine level overlooking the street, and really didn't find it noisy at all. The room was spacious enough for the two of us, and we were really impressed with the modern amenities in the bathroom. The breakfast buffet was excellent with enough choices to accommodate everyone. The location is excellent and we walked everywhere we wanted to go, it was so central but without being in the middle of town. Thanks to all the staff for their care and attention, and we'll definitely be back at the Porta Rossa on our next visit.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I enjoyed my stay in this older hotel that has been re-vamped entirely. Outside it looks older than it is. All modern furnishings inside so you get all the comforts. I would stay here again for sure even though I paid a little more. NH is a good chain to look for in other european cities as well.

Room Tip: like any old hotel, it can be a bit of a maze inside, but everything is updated. If you are worried...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Had a fabulous time here, right in the heart of things but in a fairly quiet street.
bedroom and bathroom very clean and bath was delightful, great toiletries. the only thing lacking was the facility to make a cup of tea in the morning, but that's us brits isn't it!.
buffet breakfast was great, make sure you ask for a cappucino they are FOC and better than the filter coffee.
staff very friendly and helpful made restaurant reservations for us even for the busy busy ones
If I go back to Florence I would stay here for sure, walking distance to everything including the train station

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa

Address: Via Porta Rossa,19 | Porta Rossa, City Centre, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly NH Porta Rossa)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#18 Family Hotel in Florence
#23 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#24 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel in Florence is a historical landmark, offering modern adaptations of classical beauty. Built in the 12th century, the NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, NHHotels, Orbitz, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Porta Rossa Hotel Florence
Hotel Porta Rossa
Porta Rossa Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.