We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa to your Saves list
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Porta Rossa,19 | Porta Rossa, City Centre, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly NH Porta Rossa) (Uffizi)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LOOKING FOR BETTER DEAL?
Ranked #26 of 418 Hotels in Florence
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is very conveniently located to all the main tourist attractions. We caught a cab from the station and it only cost about €8. You can walk to the hotel within about 15 minutes or so.

We had a bit of a delay in getting checked in but the staff were friendly enough and offered a coffee whilst we waited.

I had booked the standard room which was nice enough for our stay. The room was about the right size and the beds are comfortable. The bathroom is stocked and replenished with toiletries. You also have a TV, mini-bar and safe. On our first night, I was woken up by quite a lot of noise (there is a club nearby) so it may be advisable to request a room away from the main street (Via Porta Rossa) although it was not so bad for the 2nd or 3rd night.

The breakfast has a nice selection and I found the staff friendly and happy to help. The coffee was really nice. Note: there is a charge for poached, fried eggs or omelettes. Reception are very helpful and helped me get the timetables for local trains etc without any trouble.

Wi-fi is offered complimentary but you have to get a new user name and password every 24 hours from reception. I did find if you don't use the wi-fi on your device for some time (few hours) and then try again, you do have to keep logging in.

It is hard to decribe but I did find the hotel a little sterile. This might be to do with the colours used throughout the hotel and this of course has no impact on your actual stay but it is something which I noticed.

The restaurant a few doors down - 'La Bussola' had some great food.

Room Tip: Try and get a room away from Via Porta Rossa (the road) as it can get a little loud during the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KishK_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

A very welcoming hotel and service minded staff. The reception staff were helpful and able to answer all questions. The room was clean, tidy and fresh. Plenty of space for our luggage and a safety box for our valuables. The breakfast was one of the best we have seen in Italy. Good selection of both hot and cold and sweet. Plenty of fresh fruit and a good strong coffee. The street outside was quiet despite the night club further down the road. The only disturbance was the early street cleaning machine in the morning. The hotel was easy to find from the railway station and close walking distance to the sights

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank clansman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

What a wonderful experience! We have just returned from a 4 day break after celebrating my wife's 50th birthday. The staff at the hotel are a pleasure and extremely helpful. Laurent and Valentina ensured our stay was exceptional and arranged for a champagne surprise on our arrival. We were also upgraded and loved the clean, spacious room. The hotel is an excellent combination of original historic features and modern rooms which have been tastefully designed. The breakfast is generous and well presented. We had a wonderful time and would recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to stay in quality surroundings at a great location. Many thanks to Laurent in particular for arranging our trips and making us so comfortable. No1 place in Florence in our book.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MickNutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Central Florence - within walking distance of all places to visit. Beautiful old building beautifully renovated. We decided to push the boat out and book a junior suite. It was opulant - huge room with windows which had stone steps up to them. Four poster bed in the middle of a minimally furnished room. It felt like a film set - and we have stayed in some luxury hotels ! Breakfast excellent in cool, light and airy rooms. Staff very efficient and friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: All the rooms were good but our junior suite was fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Solotrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The original structure was built hundreds of years ago and it once served as a palace. It has recently be renovated into a hotel and they did a teriffic job. As European hotel rooms go, this place offer enormous spaces. The rooms are probably 25X30 and the ceilings are 16 feet high which gives a wonderful feeling of open space. The beds are very comfortable and the baths are huge, including large walk in showers. The breakfast was absolutely wonderful. The staff, while maybe a bit on the youthful/informal side, they were pleasant and helpful when needed. The Porta Rossa is located win a great part of the city and witin walking distance to everything. It had a 4.7 rating and honestly, I don't know what could be improved.

Room Tip: If you don't want street noise ask for a room in the rear; we had 114 and it was very quiet. My...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank d z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

We had the good fortune of finding a great rate at this hotel while staying in Florence.
The decor, furnishings and general feel of the hotel are exquisite- lovely to look at, but also extremely comfortable. The entire staff (especially Laurent and Marta!!) was so incredibly helpful and hospitable we never wanted to leave! The location is excellent- right in the heart of things but not on a busy (or noisy) street. We will stay here again and would definitely encourage to do the same!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amy boccella s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayd there during February. I loved it from every aspect. Perfect location, beautiful building, old but fashionable, clean and airy.Perfect huge rooms and central heating. Berakfast was good, could have mpre variations and fresh orange juice. ALL IN ALL I WOULD NOT STAY ANYWHERE ELSE IF WAS IN FLORENCE AGAIN. LAST TIP! TRY CAPPUCCINO IN THE HOTEL. BY FAR THE BEST I HAVE TASTED IN FLORENCE!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M-ASIA-TRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Florence hotels
San Lorenzo
Firenze Number Nine Hotel & Spa
Duomo
Hotel Brunelleschi
Hotel Brunelleschi
#16 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 2,046 reviews
Hotel David
#1 of 418 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 2,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Degli Orafi
#21 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 1,210 reviews
Santa Maria Novella
NH Firenze
NH Firenze
#86 of 418 in Florence
4.5 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Duomo
Hotel Spadai
Hotel Spadai
#4 of 418 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa

Address: Via Porta Rossa,19 | Porta Rossa, City Centre, 50123, Florence, Italy (Formerly NH Porta Rossa)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence > Uffizi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Florence
#21 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#23 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#24 Family Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel in Florence is a historical landmark, offering modern adaptations of classical beauty. Built in the 12th century, the NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, NHHotels, Otel, Venere and Cheap Tickets so you can book your NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Porta Rossa Hotel Florence
Hotel Porta Rossa
Porta Rossa Florence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing