We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, nice big room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa

Save Saved
You added NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Porta Rossa,19 | Porta Rossa, City Centre, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly NH Porta Rossa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #28 of 460 Hotels in Florence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Excellent location, nice big room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

Location couldn't be better right in the center of the high end shopping and close to almost all the attractions. The hotel was nice and the service was friendly. Our room was very large with a nice big bathroom. Breakfast was acceptable, good enough for us to eat there every morning. My only criticism is the it was very loud at night outside on the square. We stayed for 4 nights and it was loud for all of them. You get used to it but perhaps a room facing away from the square might have provided a more restful sleep.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    220
    47
    9
    7
See reviews for
121
527
23
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for three nights in December. The hotel itself is gorgeous! Beautiful rooms (we did not upgrade and had a large room) massive bathrooms (!!) and elegant decor, e.g., stenciling in the common areas, stained glass, sweeping staircases. The hotel staff were helpful when asked, but it's the sort of place where you are anonymous unless you need help. The breakfast was elaborate - more so than any other hotel on our trip. We saw a lot of business travelers at breakfast, and just a few couples. It could have been the time of year or cost? Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: All the streets around the hotel are small. I don't think you'd deal with street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We are staying at this hotel now as a couple and fully enjoying our time. The location couldn't be better - we are in the middle of everything yet the hotel is quiet and relaxing. The decor is stylish, front desk employees are welcoming and friendly every time you see them. The breakfast isn't lavish (as it's everywhere in Italy) but you will not stay hungry after it for sure.Oh, and we were upgraded to Superior room for free. If you are getting to the hotel by car, the best thing would be to park and walk to the hotel as the whole area is banned for traffic.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Nice hotel very classic.we believe this was one a city palace ??
Nice rooms good location.friendly staff.good breakfast. Nice terrase on the top off the hotel.
Good place to stay not cheap but ok.upstair rooms near elevater and bad smell proberly due to sewage problems we think

Room Tip: Check out the rooms for the bad smell proberly more in the summer we think
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed in a Superior Room for 4 nights. The hotel is a renovated property in an old building. Our room was on the top floor of the building next to the entrance of the "Monalda suite". It was roomy with a large bathroom with a terrific rain shower. Decor is modern classic. The hotel is located in the best part of Florence, tucked away in a quiet area but within walking distance to everything. Great breakfast selection complete with hot foods. Highly recommend this hotel when exploring Florence.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We really liked this hotel. The staff were lovely and incredibly helpful. The hotel was amazing value for a central location, clean stylish décor and hassle free stay. The breakfast was nice and simple although it's always advisable to try and come down for it before 10 whilst it's freshest.
The girl who seemed to be working at reception the whole time we stayed couldn't have been more helpful and had perfect english. We received a free upgrade when we arrived. The only negative point I would make is that our double bed was two single bed's pushed together on wheels. They were made up separately and moved very easily. In hindsight we should have asked could we change which I'm sure they would have accommodated.

Room Tip: If you are booking a double room over the internet, call the hotel to ask for a double bed rather t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for two weeks in December. The location is extremely central and it's good to reach the fashion streets of Florence but also museums and monuments. The rooms are modern and quite small, my room was quite as it was located internally. The bed was extremely comfortable and the breakfast was rich and there was a good choice of salty, sweets, gluten free and bio food. One bad note is the lack of room service, that really disappointed me.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa

Address: Via Porta Rossa,19 | Porta Rossa, City Centre, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly NH Porta Rossa)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#24 Family Hotel in Florence
#26 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#35 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel in Florence is a historical landmark, offering modern adaptations of classical beauty. Built in the 12th century, the NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, NHHotels, Orbitz, Splendia, Venere, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Porta Rossa Hotel Florence
Hotel Porta Rossa
Porta Rossa Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.