We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is hard to beat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Porta Rossa

Save Saved
You added NH Porta Rossa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH Porta Rossa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Porta Rossa,19 | Porta Rossa, City Centre, 50123 Florence, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #29 of 461 hotels in Florence
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Location is hard to beat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

A beautifully presented hotel with a location this is hard to beat. Only a brief 10 minute walk to all the main attractions with the historical center of Florence, amazing restaurants, and lots of shopping.

We travelled in a group of six, and all rooms were large and nicely appointed with modern fixtures and fittings. Rooms were serviced daily and bathroom fully replenished each time.

The included breakfast was lovely, and included fruit, cereal, breads, cheese, cold meats and a variety of freshly squeezed juice.

The only negative for me was the limited technology. Free Wifi was available in the hotel lobby only, with a small lounge area and computer available for use.

The service though was a highlight! After experiencing some issues with a hotel in Paris the front desk staff were only to happy to assist with faxes, emails and even made a few calls on our behalf. They were gracious and ever helpful.

Highly recommended, would absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    567
    216
    45
    9
    7
See reviews for
115
511
22
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I miss Florence. Love this city like no other. NHPR is a great springboard for staying here. The location is in the hear of everything.

Took a cab from the train station. Upon arrival we were given an upgrade for our five night stay. Our room overlooked Piazza Davanzati. One night there was a lot of partying going on outside around 4am - oh well, that's Florence. Drink more wine and this is not a problem.

The room was large, clean and comfortable. The breakfast was more than adequate. But it didnt change much over the 5 days.

The last night of our stay, the Christmas lights were up on Via Porta Rosa. An old man played accordion a few nights below the window.

There is a tabacchi directly across from the hotel entrance. Literally like ten feet. Cafe, bottles of wine, cig, bottled water, etc.

The pizza place on the corner of Piazza Davanzati is amazing - great food and atmosphere.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Booked a 4 night stay. Very happy with the room and the location. Room was a bit on the small side but nothing was wrong with that. Very clean and a great view of the Duomo from my window!

Breakfast was included and was very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

The hotel is set in a stunning heritage building and the interior design is exquisite. The location is brilliant - 5 to 10 minutes walk to most attractions.

Our room was large with a comfortable bed.

The service was very helpful.

Breakfast was great including a selection of healthy antioxidant juices as well as the usual bacon, eggs, fruit, pastries, salamis and cheeses. The breakfast room was striking as was the bar, the lounge on each floor and the business centre.

My partner was highly annoyed by the free wifi as it dropped out about once a minute so it was impossible to get anything done on the internet. When he asked at reception they said there were problems last week but they had been fixed. They were clearly not fixed! It was a shame because we had a number of issues to deal with at home and the internet connection made this a frustrating experience.

We also tried to watch a movie by connecting a device by HDMI cable to the TV in our room as there were no English channels. There was a HDMI input but the menu was programmed to block this. The hotel has tech assistance but only Mon-Fri and we stayed on a weekend.

If you want a relaxing stay in a beautiful building I recommend this hotel. But if you have business or personal matters to attend to that require technology this hotel is not currently set up for it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

If you care about location, design, service, and an overall boutique, one of a kind experience, then the NH Porta Rossa is the right choice. The room was immaculately clean. The staff was so helpful in arranging reservations for museums, restaurants, and giving some good overall insight about making the most of the city. Breakfast was phenomenal and a great way to start a busy day. We had a standard room and found the size to be fine, and very much in line with our expectations for Europe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralville, Iowa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We got there an were upgraded to a king suite, without even asking. The rooms are very minimally decorated leaving us to appreciate the very nice wooden furniture. Bathroom and shower are large, clean, and modern. 2nd bathroom nice too. The bed is firm but comfortable (seems to be a European theme so far), but the pillows were soft which was a pleasant surprise.
Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. They helped us find restaurants, booked us opera tickets. Wifi is free!

The hotel is located on a small street just off a quiet piazza as well as palazza Vecchio/Uffizi. We were soooo close to everything and didn't have noise issues when trying to sleep.

We had an issue when booking, for some reason the credit card wouldn't process so we booked through Expedia for a slightly higher rate, but still very nice (compared to others in Florence).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel and upgraded from a standard to a junior room for a fair fee. The room was very nice with a huge bed and a sizeable modern bathroom. The building is beautiful and has a lot of athmosphere. It could have been warmer in our room and also the breakfast was not great, for that reason only 4 out of 5 stars. Otherwise i would certainly recommend this hotel, the location is perfect also.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Porta Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Porta Rossa

Address: Via Porta Rossa,19 | Porta Rossa, City Centre, 50123 Florence, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#25 Family Hotel in Florence
#28 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#35 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Porta Rossa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Porta Rossa hotel in Florence is a historical landmark, offering modern adaptations of classical beauty. Built in the 12th century, the NH Porta Rossa hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Splendia, Tingo, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your NH Porta Rossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Porta Rossa Hotel Florence
Hotel Porta Rossa
Porta Rossa Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Porta Rossa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.