We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grazie Mille to the staff- wonderful stay in a beautiful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa

Save Saved
You added NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Porta Rossa,19 | Porta Rossa, City Centre, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly NH Porta Rossa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #28 of 460 Hotels in Florence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Grazie Mille to the staff- wonderful stay in a beautiful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights at the Porta Rossa Hotel. We chose it for the location and the beautiful pictures online. The location is perfect- you walk out the door and you are 2 minutes from the river, Piazza della Repubblica, Mercato Nuovo (home of the bronze boar). We booked a junior suite, and got room 505, which faces the street and had a beautiful view of the rooftops and Duomo. We didn't have a problem with street noise, perhaps the high floor helped, and there are also wooden shutters you can close inside over the windows to block noise and light. The bed was so comfortable, and the room is very dark with the shutters closed, we slept thru the night without a problem. The hotel itself is beautiful, and the modern decor is a nice touch - similar as one other reviewer noted to a 'W hotel' in the states. There are some excellent places to eat literally out the front door - La Bussola for wood oven Pizza, Colle Bereto for a drink/wine/snack. Our favorite dinner places were Angiolino's (loved the Bistecca alla Fiorentine) and 4Leoni (pear ravioli) and the Caffe Pitti (truffle and gorgonzola risotto). All of them were across the river, only about a 10 minute walk. WiFi is free in your room with a code provided by the front desk, and this is a nice bonus. We had an amazing stay, made more special by the wonderful and friendly front desk staff - Marta, Elena and Francesco, who gave us wonderful recommendations for dinners, tours, shopping and helped make our holiday extra special.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor if you are concerned about street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    587
    220
    47
    9
    7
See reviews for
121
528
23
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Porta Rossa is an all-round great hotel. It's a converted historical building that retains much of the ambience and period detail of the original. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Small elevator but it does the job. Outstanding breakfast with an amazing array of choices. Walking distance to all main attractions (Uffizzi, duomo, palazzo vecchio). Good restaurants in the small street at the back of the hotel. There was a mix-up over our sons' rooms when we were checking in and the two attendants at the front desk spent about fifteen minutes rearranging their reservations in order to accommodate the type of room we had reserved and gave them an upgrade to a suite. Superior service indeed. You won't go wrong here. (I agree that you need a taxi from the train station.)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband & I spent a week at this wonderful hotel last month. The Porta Rossa was very clean & convenient to all locations. The staff was very helpful with everything. The breakfast was great - a huge selections of breakfast food including fresh fruits and yogurts. The best part of our stay was the amazing shower! It was quite large and after a day of touring it felt so wonderful! The location of the hotel is so quaint. The bed was also very comfortable - we would stay here again the next time we visit beautiful Firenze!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed here on a trip in April and I didn't care for the hotel, there wasn't anything horrible about the hotel that would cause me to tell someone not to stay here, it just wasn't for me.

The hotel was in a great location, we walked to everything but did take a taxi from the train station, it was a bit far to walk with luggage. There are a ton of restaurants, shops, ect . . .right outside the hotel. The hotel was noisy at night, one side faces a street that has a lot of car traffic and the other side faces a back alley with a lot of foot traffic. The rooms are very modern and large, it reminded me a bit of the W's you see in the states. Some people may like it because it was so large and modern. I thought it was sterile and boring. Because of the street noise and how bright the room was with everything white I didn't sleep at all in the 3 nights I was there.

Breakfast was fantastic and included.

All in all if you are looking for a modern American hotel with a bit of a trendy nightclub feel (think South Beach Miami) this may be for you. For me it wasn't quite what I was looking for in Italy.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We ended up staying at the Porta Rossa after the place we originally had booked had a problem with water being cut to our room. The Porta Rossa was very clean and the architectural style was a lovely blend of preserving the original building's old world character with modern updating, including a large, lovely, updated restroom with a large tub (a big plus for me!). There was a great selection of food choices for breakfast - allowing us to fill up, grab a gelato during the day for a snack, and enjoy a nice meal out. My only complaint is that the room felt sterile. It was all white, with no art or personality whatsoever. Maybe they hadn't gotten around to that yet? Otherwise, this hotel comes highly recommended from me!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Porta Rossi is a well known hotel in centrally located Florence.

The hotel itself is in a small alley 2 minutes walk from the Ponte Vecchio Bridge, 5-10 minute walk from the Firenze Train station, Uffizi Gallery, Duomo and Leather Market. The designer shops are round the corner, 2 minute walk on Via de' Tornabuoni.

Our room was on 2nd floor, the rooms are clean and spacious with beautiful sacious bed and old style furniture.

The breakfast served was plentiful with fruits, eggs, cold meats, bacon, pastries, breads - anything you wanted!

Wifi is fast and reliable, just had to grab a wifi card from reception which lasts for 24 hours each. The receptionists are very helpful in giving local information, directions, opening times and helping with travel.

Florence is such a beautiful city - I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our hotel experiences in Italy were not the best...that is until we checked into the NH Porta Rossa. The entire staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and professional. They went out of their way to make our stay comfortable. The hotel has all of the modern amenities you need to keep connected (e.g., wifi and wired in the room). The breakfast buffet was fresh and well serviced by the staff. The room was beautiful, modern and had plenty of room to unwind. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa

Address: Via Porta Rossa,19 | Porta Rossa, City Centre, 50123 Florence, Italy (Formerly NH Porta Rossa)
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Florence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Florence
#21 Family Hotel in Florence
#26 Romantic Hotel in Florence
#34 Business Hotel in Florence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel in Florence is a historical landmark, offering modern adaptations of classical beauty. Built in the 12th century, the NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa hotel is one of the oldest hotels in Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, NHHotels, Orbitz, Splendia, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Porta Rossa Hotel Florence
Hotel Porta Rossa
Porta Rossa Florence

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Collection Firenze Porta Rossa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.